We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Good Beachfront, Close to Action”
Review of Boracay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boracay Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Beachfront, Close to Action”
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Room: We were originally given room 209. It smelled of mold and mildew. We asked to change rooms, and were told the problem could be fixed with housekeeping spraying Lysol. Stating spraying Lysol will do little to fix the issue, reception finally gave in, and moved us. We were given a king room, and then moved two nights later to a deluxe family room.
Both rooms are very similar, only difference being the number of beds in the room. The rooms are simple, spacious, and clean. There is a stocked mini-fridge, and a kettle set, an in room safe. The bathroom features a walk in shower. The TV has 70 or so channels. And of course air conditioning in the room. Free wifi is provided throughout the hotel and it’s beachfront property.

Rating: (3/5)



Staff: It started out fantastic with two people at the airport waiting to greet us and then navigate us to the hotel. It was great that they offered this service as it could have been difficult to make our way from the airport to the pier, and then onto the right boat, and then to the hotel.
The low point came when we complained about the state of the room, and had to fight to be placed in another room. The receptionist seemed apathetic and disinterested in really finding a solution.
However, this situation was not the norm, as everyone we encountered was extremely friendly, and always smiling. Even the security guard at the front would greet us.

Rating: (4/5)



Food: Breakfast was good, much better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed at. They also had a decent selection. We had dinner one night, part of the package, and it was decent.

(3.5/5)

Location: Whilst not beachfront it hardly matters, as the beach is a mere one minute walk across the road. We quite liked the location as we were close enough to walk to things, without having to deal with all the crowds. It is a tad quieter than places near D’Mall. Staying at a property beachfront could be quite loud as it features one bar, disco, or restaurant after another, and they blare the music.
Rating: (5/5)
Beachfront: As stated earlier, it is a mere one minute walk, It also features a restaurant, Ariel’s House. The water was beautiful, and the sand was always kept clean. As well there seemed to be less foot traffic, hence less vendors hawking goods.

A few suggestions I would make, that could further enhance the beach experience. The hotel allows far too many non guests to park themselves on the beach chairs and sun beds. They have a limited amount, and so if you are not there early enough you don’t have a spot, which is rather annoying.
They have a workout area, which features a few weights, bench press and chin up bars. It was annoying when eating or chilling out and having to put up with people working out around you. Unfortunately, there was one crew, not from the hotel, that would make their way just to work out during our stay.

Lastly, competing with the two restaurants next door, Ariel’s House blasts their music. Nothing worse than eating breakfast and listening to 80’s tunes. Or winding down at night to watch the waves and putting up with blaring techno music.


(3.5/5)


Side note: We stayed for 7 nights, thus took advantage of their package deal. It was well worth it. It included a sailing trip, a banana boat ride, trip to Mt. Lubo and Puka beach, 12 drink coupons, one free dinner, round-trip service to and from the airport, and an in room massage.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizarazu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoracayBeachClub, Owner at Boracay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Boracay Beach Club! As a family-run hotel, we are committed to making continual improvements to our accommodations and services to ensure that each of our hotel guests has an enjoyable holiday in Boracay. For this reason, we take your comments seriously since we view our guests as long-term partners rather than short-term customers in our small hotel operation.



Room: We investigated the matter immediately, since the health and well-being of our guests is a priority. We spoke with our front desk about the deficient room, and it turns out that there was a small crack in room 209 that was causing water seepage due to the heavy rains we had been experiencing in Boracay over the past few weeks. Because the water seepage had just begun (we contacted the prior guests to find out if they had the same problem, which it turns out they did not), there was no mold or mildew in the room. Rather, there was a spoiled fruit basket in the room emanating an unpleasant odor that could be mistaken for something toxic. (We were initially skeptical about this being the cause of the mildew-like smell until we smelled the spoiled fruit basket ourselves). The water seepage problem was quickly resolved by our maintenance team by repairing the crack, and we met with our housekeeping staff to discuss the importance of changing the complimentary fruit on a more frequent basis. Nevertheless, we apologize for our failure to properly communicate an effective solution to this problem and the major mistake of leaving a spoiled fruit basket in a room and offering a deficient room to a hotel guest. We are working with our staff to ensure that any major issues raised by our guests are resolved in a more timely and pleasant manner in the future.



Staff: Thank you for letting us know that you had an overall delightful experience with our staff. We are proud to say that we have some of the most outstanding and personable staff members on the island. Many of our employees have been with us since we opened in 2007-2008, and rather than simply hiring trained managers from outside Boracay (which is becoming a growing trend), we seek to hire individuals from the local community who have a positive attitude and a shared commitment to improving our guests’ experiences. Nevertheless, we apologize for any cold experiences you might have had in your conversations with specific members of our staff. On occasion, non-work related problems are inexcusably reflected in their interactions with our guests. We will be spending additional time this season meeting with our staff members on an individual basis so that we can better address certain non-work related issues before they are brought into the workplace.


Food: Thank you for complimenting our breakfast. In response to guests’ comments from 2010, we have made significant changes to our restaurant over the last few months. We have adjusted our menu to better reflect our guests’ tastes, and we have brought in a close family friend, Koy, to help manage our kitchen operations. At the current time, our menu is relatively limited—we would rather provide 30 excellent items than 100 average items—but we plan to grow our menu over the coming year with a healthy combination of regional Filipino dishes as well as intercontinental offerings. At the same time, we are dedicating more resources to training our kitchen staff in order to ensure that the items we feature on our menu are served in a consistent and prompt manner.



Additional suggestions: Thank you! We are currently planning to reposition our beachfront bar and restaurant to better cater to the needs of our guests. In the meantime, we have made some temporary fixes to resolve some of the concerns you have listed. In addition to upgrading our furniture to better accommodate our guests during periods of high occupancy, for example, we are also considering relocating our simple workout area (or keeping it in storage on certain days) so that we do not displace our in-house guests. We have also adjusted our daytime music selection and are now collaborating with our neighbors on playing shared music in the afternoons for each establishment's benefit. We look forward to making more substantial and exciting changes to our beachfront area later this year.



Again, thank you for your thorough feedback. Not only have you helped us identify and resolve some major issues, but you have also given us important data points that we can use as we refine our accommodations and services over the coming year in order to improve the holiday experience for both our return guests and future guests. While your stay with us might have surpassed your expectations, we do hope that you will return to the Philippines during the course of your future travels!



Warm regards,


Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    218
    37
    10
    10
See reviews for
212
338
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We were surprised when everything that BBC promised us happened and then some...we were met off the plane in Caticlan by a staff member who conducted us to the highspeed ferry, and had a airconditioned van waiting for us at the wharf when we arrived on Boracay, the food everyday was great, the free drinks were fantastic, the service very willing and helpful, the staff themselves were always excelent and Mimi and Ariel were great hosts, I could easily spend my holidays there every year (if I could afford the travel).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stainlesxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed for 5 great nights at the BBC. The staff were very friendly & helpful, including the owners (who take time to speak with you). Rooms were very clean & the bathroom had a nice strong shower (stongest I had in the Philippines). They provided a free juice on arrival (after they collected us from the airport) which is a nice touch.

The deal we had included 12 or so free drinks that could be used at the beach bar that (obviously) looks right over the beach (cocktails were very nice), with nice breakfast included. The hotel has a pool, 24hr security and many late night clubs right nearby. Gym equiptment is provided by the beach.

There were daily activities included in the deal, including sailing (was very relaxing), a banana boat ride, & a massage. The highlight for me was definitely the trip to Ariel's point, a secluded, amazing cliff looking out to the horizon at a reasonable price. The water is crystal clear, and you can jump from the cliffs (so its perfect for adventure seekers). Buffet lunch & unlimited drinks included.

So I thoroughly recommend going here, as the hotel, location, service & activities are great. The only negative I have is maybe look around before agreeing to the hotel's prices on watersport activities - other vendors maybe cheaper. Check out http://www.arielspoint.com/ fyi (the photos here will show what I mean)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seau55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoracayBeachClub, Owner at Boracay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for providing us with excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Boracay Beach Club and visit to Ariel’s Point! We realize our guests spend a significant amount of time in planning their holidays to the Philippines, so detailed reviews like yours play an important role in helping Philippines travelers’ find the most suitable accommodations given their interests, timing, and budget.


Regarding the watersport activities, the Boracay Beach Club, like many hotels on Boracay, offers set prices that guests can take advantage of during the course of their stay. These prices are pre-negotiated with watersport activity providers (e.g. jet-ski companies, parasailing outfits, dive shops) on an annual basis. The advantage of booking watersport activities directly through our hotel is that we keep the activity providers more accountable for the services that they provide to our guests. In other words, because the watersport providers do not want to lose their arrangements with any particular resort, they work hard to ensure they deliver on their promised services. A secondary advantage of booking watersport activities through our hotel is that it can be less time-consuming than dealing directly with several watersport activity providers.


Nevertheless, an advantage of booking watersport activities directly with the service providers is that depending on the time of year (high season vs. low season) and the amount of providers looking for business, you can occasionally find better rates for certain watersport activities, especially if you are a determined negotiator.


Thank you for telling us about your memorable experiences at the Boracay Beach Club, and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future!


Warm regards,


Ariel Abriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I am a frequent traveller to Boracay but this time the hotel accomodation made it even perfect. Hats off to the staff of Boracay Beach Club from our first day (pick up from Caticlan Airport), welcoming staff -greeting you at the reception until the last day of our vacation, they were so accomodating and friendly.

What more can you ask: real nice room, amenities (new & well-maintained), great-tasting food and friendly staff. I thought it would be spoiled on our last night there as the AC bugged down but the reception desk is fast in sending off the maintenance man who in turn fixed the problem outright.

The breakfast is superb! Great tasting food and the serving is to indulge with. Breakfast served right at beach front or at the restaurant wherever you prefer.

I also commend the hotel staff who went an extra mile to ensure we'll be able to checkin for Cebupac flight goin back to Manila. We were running late going to Caticlan airport due to rains. They contacted airport personnel to meet us by the time we reach the gates of Caticlan airport. They made sure that we'll be accommodated in our airport checkin. Great service! Definitely a hotel you'll go back to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The BBC van promptly picked us up at the Caticlan Airport, got us to the jetty port for the short boat trip to Boracay; another van picked us up and soon had us at the hotel. The room was lovely, had free Wi-Fi and satellite TV and a welcoming bowl of fresh fruit. White Beach was just across the street, with tables and chairs right outside their club on the beach, "Ariel's House." The hotel restaurant had very good food, but a somewhat limited menu, but there were dozens of other eateries just minutes away.

Our package included a trip to "Ariel's Point," where you can see Boracay as it was fifty years ago. The craggy promontory has walkways carved into it from which you can access cliff-diving points, pristine diving and swimming lagoons, and areas where you can just relax in the sun or shade. Our trip featured a fantastic picnic lunch, including tuna caught by the hotel crew the night before, Filipino dishes, beer and soda. Ariel Abriam, owner of the BBC Hotel, was readily available to chat with and told us how he worked to preserve this area in its undeveloped, beautiful state. It was the highlight of our entire stay.

Other amenities with our package included sunset sailing on a native outrigger, complimentary breakfasts, drinks at the club, poolside massages and more.

We later learned that Ariel was an Annapolis graduate and served as a naval commander with the US Sixth Fleet. He turned down a position at the Pentagon, choosing to return to his native Philippines and build the Boracay Beach Club. He is also very active in the island's affairs, joining with others to develop Boracay in a sensible, sustainable and environmentally-friendly manner, seeking to avoid the stain of overdevelopment and sprawl so evident in other once pristine areas of the world.

As we were checking out and heading for the BBC van to get us back to the port and on to Caticlan for our return flight to Manila, one of the staff stopped us and took our photo. Just as we were boarding the van, Ariel presented us with a copy of the photo, mounted in a beautiful native-crafted capiz shell frame. It's one of our most treasured keepsakes from a very memorable vacation.

Thanx Ariel and Staff !!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amazondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

My wife and i did the 4 day 3 night package and it was really worth it, $399.00. Comes with coupons for daily breakfast with very good portions,8 drinks, beach activities, massage, all transfers from airport to hotel and back, and an excellent staff, the owener Ariel and wife always welcomed their guests, wonderful hosts, they even invited all the guests for a filipino dinner on our last night of stay, i don't think you can find anything like that elsewhere. Koi was very nice to us as he made us feel right at home,the rooms was very clean, the bed very comfortable, the massage very good , also a coupon for one dinner per stay, which was very good, and the location just a short walk from a beautiful white sand and crystall clear water beach, one beach that i would say is hard to beat any where, including Hawaii where we came from. also given to us at check out was a picture taken near the pool of the both of us in a beautiful picture frame. Can't wait to return.Again, thank you to all the staff. Ronald and Eufrosina Rezentes

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronaldrezentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We chose Boracay Beach Club as the hotel of choice for our honeymoon and it turned out to be great. We opted for the 7D6N promo that came with landtour, sunset cruise on a sail boat, an hour of massage, 12 drink coupons and 500pesos worth of dinner voucher each. Good value considering most hotels located around boat station 1 were priced at a minimum of SGD200 per night.

We got clean room, prompt service, good meals (breakfast was so-so) and wonderful drinks, which was exactly what's needed for a holiday. It's right in between boat station 1, which made it a good location for long walks towards boracay west cove and close enough to boat station 2 where the party scene is.

Hotel is located one tiny road away from the beach front. Takes you 2 minutes to reach the beach. They also have a beach front restaurant where you can dine, get your drinks and lay in the sun!

Made use of our 500 pesos dinner voucher on the last day, and the kitchen whipped up a fantastic meal for us. We had the steam lapu lapu, fried vegetables (they initially didn't have what we wanted and they customised something for us), and the fried pata (it was very good!) Kudos to you Koy! (no he's not the chef, he's the owner who also oversees the kitchen)

Mimi and Koy, thanks for making our stay so wonderful and memorable!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicmarrymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 146 in Boracay
1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 146 in Boracay
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 146 in Boracay
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Beach Club

Property: Boracay Beach Club
Address: Station 1, Boracay Island | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boracay Beach Club is a family-owned and operated 27-room resort located just footsteps away from Boracay's famous White Beach in Station 1. Listed in Travel + Leisure magazine's "Top 25 Secret Seaside Getaways," the Boracay Beach Club features a beachfront lounge (across from the main property), a family-friendly swimming pool with cabanas, and a full-service restaurant. Additionally, all 27 rooms have laptop-compatible digital closet safes, in-room refrigerators, flat-screen cable television, and thick European-style duvet comforters. The Boracay Beach Club is your home away from home in the Philippines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Boracay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Beach Club Hotel Boracay
Boracay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing