We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay ever!”
Review of Boracay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boracay Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Ariel’s house (a.k.a. Boracay Beach Club) is a warm, family owned accommodation just 10 steps away from White Beach. We loved every moment of our 4D3N stay at BBC. The staff did a tremendous job of spoiling and taking care of our every request and need! The place is new, and probably not more than 2 years old.

Pre-trip: We booked a 4D3N package directly thrgh the hotel’s website and received a 10% discount off the total price. They replied within 48 hrs, and only required a non-refundable deposit for about half the amount of our package (most places require full payment that is non refundable).

Further more, when I was trying to book our connecting flights at MNL to get to Boracay, the staff kindly called up the airlines for me to find out the min. connection time recommended, and whether Cebu Pacific operates only in one terminal (makes the transfer easier – if you’re not taking Cebu Pacific you need a short cab ride which is hard to get at 4am in the morning!).

Already, I felt that our every need would be taken care off…

Arrival/Departure: We arrived on time and were met by our cheerful guide/driver, who assisted us with all the necessary transfers (short trike ride, followed by a boat transfer to go from Caticlan to Boracay). Thereafter, he drove us to Ariel’s house. On our departure out, he also drove us back and escorted us all the way to the airport (part of the package deal); even stopping to get us mangoes to bring home!

We arrived at 930am, and having caught about 2-3 hrs of sleep while waiting at MNL airport from 4-7am for our connection, we were utterly exhausted. The BBC staff had a room ready for us to rest and freshen up, and we were super thankful for the chance to do so!

We took a nap, and showered up to check into our own room after it was ready (conveniently located on the first floor, so no dragging suitcases up and down the stairs since they have no elevator) by noon. At that time, we were given our itinerary for the package, which included
- 10 free drink coupons (abt 1000 php worth, super good deal cos we used them while relaxing on the beachfront area along White Beach while we had breakfast and worked on our tans =P)
- dinner coupons worth 800 php (we used it to order room service for the 1st night as were still exhausted), 1 hr massage in the room (these masseurs were the BEST! We had massages every day elsewhere and these two hired by BBC were the BEST!)
- sunset cruise (beautiful cruise with your loved ones – mind you, it’s more like a wind powered catamaran so don’t have visions of a motor powered boat that can take 20 passengers and give you ice, drinks and a deck to stand on), and
- banana boat ride (super fun, we loved it!). Definitely go for the package if you have a chance – we did some sums and it was well worth the incremental price that we paid!

During the stay: We made a few requests, including late check out (till 230pm on the day we left, cos of our late aft departure), transport to NAMI resort for spa and dinner (Mimi, the wife of Ariel, is a good friend of the owners of NAMI), plenty of beach towels, change in massage timings and extra linens to drape our bed while we were getting in room massages (not from BBC for that time round – as an aside if u get an outside masseur to give u in room massage they have to pay 50 php to enter the premises so rem to pay your outside masseurs a lil extra). Each request was promptly met with a smile and quickly attended to!

Security: There’s a guy who’s stationed there 24 hrs, so you feel safe and secure. Always greets you with a warm smile and opens the gate for you (we avoided going thrgh the restaurant with our sandy shoes!)

Lounge/restaurant: We ate at the beachfront part of the restaurant every morning, and it was perfect, watching the waves just 20 steps away and enjoying a gorgeous blue sky morning with your loved ones. We did wait in the lounge area beside the bar/restaurant at the main building for one of our activities, and they have a neat fooz ball table there. Just ask the counter staff for the ball! Also, one of the nights, after returning from our NAMI spa and dinner, we came back to see that the restaurant tables had been cleared and a salsa party was ongoing! We jumped in and danced a couple of salsa tunes before heading back to our room. It was fantastic, spontaneous fun and absolutely great!

Location: Simply perfect. 10 steps from the beach, so you’re shielded from the noise and activity that goes on till 2-3am in the mornings, and can get some peace and quiet. They also have a small pool that’s perfect for chilling out and relaxing near your hotel room. We didn’t use it but saw plenty of guests who did. Also, Station 1 is a good location ‘cos it’s quieter compared to Station 2. Ariel’s house is only a 10 min walk away from the action at D’Mall and Station 2, and you have less touts at Station 1. Perfect location (and just beside Jonah’s milkshake, reputably the best fruit/milk shake place in town!

Other tips/great memories:
Food: Eat at Aria’s at D’Mall, Station 2. We had our best meals there and went back twice despite the numerous food/restaurant opportunities. For the best nachos stop by Manana restaurant located along the beach – the best nachos in the world! For dessert, go to Zuccini (greek restaurant) near Station 1 for their molten chocolate lava cake (takes 20 mins to prepare).

Spa: romantic dinner experience: Head to NAMI and tell them before hand so they can put you in the exclusive cabana (we were told it used to be part of an outdoor spa, which unfortunately was blown away in a typhoon some years back!). Try to get there in time for sunset – the view is 180 degrees and to die for. We missed it ‘cos we arrived for our massage late =(

Travel: Go thrgh Cebu Pacific. Their planes are new (better than SE Air, which we took for Caticlan-Manila leg). Also, you can just stay within Terminal 3 as all Cebu Pacific’s domestic and international operations are in the same terminal. This will help you to avoid a cab ride (albeit short) and lugging your stuff in and out of airport terminals. Also, you can probably do all the necessary boat/trike transfers, but if it’s your first time in Boracay just ask the hotel and they can arrange it for you.

We have decided that we will return to Boracay in future, if only for a longer period of time (at least a week!). We can’t think of a better place to return to, and are already looking fwd to coming back to Ariel’s house (we want to visit Ariel’s point this time!) and the warm hospitality of BBC. Thanks to Leahlyn, Hazel and all the staff at BBC for our absolutely unforgettable stay!

//Kelvin

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weezre23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
There are newer reviews for Boracay Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 816 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

I stayed at the BBC with my husband, our 7 months old daughter and my mother, for 6 nights. We all agree that our overall experience there was phenomenal. My mother, who had been to Boracay Island before and stayed at another renowned resort up the street, was very impressed with everything at BBC, the staff, the location, the cleanliness, the food - so much so that she would definitely stay at BBC again. And so would we!

From the initial contact made via email, the staff at BBC was friendly, efficient and professional. Upon arrival we were kindly greeted at the airport by our driver and one of the hotel's managers. He quickly escorted us to a van which took us to the ferry terminal. Our bags were carried for us the whole way. On the island of Boracay, a private BBC car was waiting for us and drove us without delay to the hotel. As soon as we walked through the doors, we were welcomed with refreshing face cloths and a cool glass of mango juice! The whole check-in process was done in the comfort of our own rooms. At that time, we were also given the itineraries of events (part of our package deal) for our 1 week stay. It was a good thing that all the outings and activities were planned for us, so we didn't have to do any thinking! Of course, if we needed to modify anything, there was no problem at all. Everyone was very accommodating! We have done a lot of traveling and this was by far one of the warmest and most personalized welcomes we have ever received at a small hotel.

We enjoyed every day at the BBC. Our rooms were always cleaned promptly upon request. One time the hotel forgot to send along a lunch with us when we went on an island hopping tour. However, as soon as we got back to our rooms, within minutes, large platters of delicious sandwiches, fries, and drinks were delivered to us! I think one of the advantages of staying in a smaller resort is that the staff gets to know you personally and thus attend to your needs, wants and interests much more efficiently.

As for the rooms - they were spacious enough, very clean and well appointed. The bathrooms were clean and tastefully designed. The sitting area on the second floor is comfortable. The rooftop patio has an awesome few - definitely an under-used space up there. The swimming pool is small but clean. The restaurant has a good chef who is well-traveled, the food is great and the service very friendly! The beach sitting area and beachfront bar were enjoyed every day.

One thing I was hesitant about at first was the fact that BBC was not on the beach but across the road. This turned out to be a very good thing as it is quieter there. And besides, when we wanted to go to the beach, it was literally only a dozen footsteps away. The road is only as wide as a car! So, the beachfront restaurant/ bar and sitting area were so close, it really only took 10 seconds to get there.

If you are traveling with infants/toddlers/small children - we can tell you that they will be very well treated too!! Without expecting it, a nice crib was offered to us and set up in our room. It was a pleasant surprise! Also, whenever we were eating, the wonderful staff in the restaurant were happy to hold and entertain our baby so that we could enjoy our meal. Everyone at BBC was very attentive and loving to our child.

Thank you to the whole team at Boracay Beach Club for a very pleasant, enjoyable and memorable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanadianPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoracayBeachClub, Owner at Boracay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2009

On behalf of the Boracay Beach Club, we would like to thank you for your complimentary review. The real satisfaction of working at a hotel comes from knowing that our valued guests had an enjoyable stay, so we will be sure to share your positive feedback with the other members of our dedicated staff.
The Boracay Beach Club is always seeking to identify areas for improvement that will enhance the vacation experience of our guests, both young and old. Your review mentions a number of amenities and services currently provided by our hotel. Interestingly, many of these features (e.g. instituting a van service, developing a beachfront lounge, and maintaining an inventory of cribs) were implemented just in the last few months based on the feedback and recommendations of our earlier guests. As we are early in our second season of operation, we hope to take even more steps toward becoming “your home away from home in the Philippines.”
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We wish you and your family all the best in your endeavors, and we hope to see you on the island again soon!
Best regards,
Ariel and Mimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Ariel & Mimmi the owners are over all when it comes to Service! We had five great days on BBC. Its only one thing i would put a finger on, and its the food, it was not realy that good... But its lots of lots of restaurants everywhere so its no prob... I will recommend this place anytime for everyone! :)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorwegianMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Thanks to everybody at the Boracay Beach Club. From security to staff and the owners. The service is great. My family felt safe. The atmosphere very relaxed. The staff is always there to assist you and give you tips. Very professional. They do not pamper you, yet you know that they are always there when you need them.
Great selection of food. Good lounge music. Indoor pool is a very good idea, my daughter liked it. After the beach a dip in the pool is very relaxing. Beach cabana perfect - with boracay puca white sand.
Very private place, just a few step from the beach front.
Very clean room and awesome hot showers - the family really liked this one.
We had a good time. Thanks again.
Lito, Peachy, Jomar, Emil and Jasmin (Vancouver, BC)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PinoyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

First I just want to thank Boracay Beach Club and all it's staff for being able to acomodate us on such short notice. For all of you looking for the best hotel on the island, that offers great location, superb service, and nice size clean rooms, please stop looking. This hotel was highly recommended by our friends that have visited Boracay but we just had to find out for ourselves. Upon arrival we were greeted at the airport (by the way, make sure to get the pickup drop off service from hotel - things can get confusing otherwise), it was a short van ride, than a boat ride. When we arrived, we were greeted with a welcome drink and they showed us to our room. This hotel is right at the beach walking distance from all the restaurants/nightlife. Hotel included a free breakfast too which I thought was a nice surprise. Also we bought sea food at the market and the hotel was nice enought to prepare it for us and serve on their top floor overlooking the beach. It was amazing. One night they through a party right on the beach with music and food. I have never seen another hotel do that. It was a pleasant surprise. Also be sure to do all kinds of sports activities, there are people on the beach that offer all sorts. Just make sure you bargain with them. Prices almost drop dramatically after you bargain.
Again thanks so much for your hospitality and we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank svniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

After a slight hastle at check in re. excess prices and taxes and add-ons we were happy to be settled in a comfortable room with a slight view of the beach. There are just a few problems with this resort. The main problem is that our room was located on the third floor with no elevator, this became tireing after a long night or a long walk walking three flights of stairs. The rooms are too small to handle 4 guests at once as well, the rooms however are designed for two so i guess we cant complain too much. The breakfasts were adiquite but not fantastic, transfers to the resort from caticlan are poor. one problem arised when the manager had to be called to resolve an issue, she is not inhouse but in manilly which ment numerious calls to get to the bottom of our issue.

With all this in mind it would be very fair to say that the pro's made up for these issues. The staff are extreemily good, very well manered and well presented, dinner cooked outside (BBQ) was a fantastic experience, whilst the setting was great on the beach.cheers to the chef for his fantasic creations. The rooms are quite nice and modern with spacious modern bathrooms. The bed was quite hard personally. The security was well kept with sales people keeping well away even when on the beach in front.

Prices are cheeper online through an agency for this hotel which is something i have never heard of, generally we would book a few nights and stay on if we liked it, booking extra nights through the reception (no comission needs to be paid to agence hence cheeper price). each to their own i guess.

All up on our second trip to boracay we would not stay here again, we have found better accomidation (in our oppinion) for a little more but this may just be the place for you.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank litaltomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoracayBeachClub, Owner at Boracay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2009

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Boracay Beach Club. Our
staff genuinely appreciates the comments of our former guests, since it better
enables to identify areas where we can create more value for our current and
future guests.

Regarding our pricing, we seek to provide our customers with as many options as
possible in order to cater to their different needs. While some of our guests
prefer to purchase pre-planned vacation packages, others prefer to simply book a
room and then add different activities or services later. We apologize if you
were surprised by any additional charges for add-ons. While other hotels
automatically build-in the cost of transportation from/to the airport in their
prices, we like to give our guests the option, since a number of our return
guests have grown accustomed to traveling to/from the hotel from the airport
independently.

Regarding our rooms, we also currently offer several classes. Many previous
groups of four have found our Deluxe Family rooms to be spacious enough for
their vacation needs. Nevertheless, we should point out that our suites
(despite their larger size) are not primarily geared toward groups larger than
two (1 King size bed vs. 2 Queen size beds). There were 5 in this case in 1 Deluxe Family room with 2 Queen size beds. We again apologize that we were not able to better
accommodate your needs in this area. If future guests have additional questions
regarding our room classes, feel free to contact our hotel. Unfortunately, our
hotel does not have an elevator. Given the high energy consumption of
elevators, we hope that the lack of an elevator in our small hotel helps support
greater energy conservation efforts on the island. For larger hotels, we can
see the greater necessity for an elevator, which would be used more regularly
rather than sitting idle while consuming energy.

Regarding our staffing, our managers are all full-time employees who live on
Boracay Island and grew up in this province (which is actually important for us,
since a lot of the newer hotels bring in hotel managers from Manila or overseas.
We take great pride in hiring locally to help support the local population).
There may have been some confusion, however, since my wife and I occasionally
travel to Manila. In some cases (e.g. if a guest has an unconventional
request), our full-time managers will contact us. It is possible that this
occurred during your stay.

Regarding the transfers, we have some great news! The Boracay Beach Club now
has two air-conditioned vans that are used to transport our passengers from the
jetty port to the hotel, making this portion of the journey more comfortable.

Regarding the agencies, we actually seek to provide our guests with the best
room rates through our internet website. However, because we offer occasional
package deals (also through our website), we have noticed that outside agencies
have been promoting our packages (under a different name) with additional ad-ons
(e.g. airfare) in order to offer guests a better deal. While external agencies'
decision to promote our packages is not within our tight control, we are
flattered that they also recognize the value of our offerings.

We hope this information has provided additional clarity to any guests who plan
on staying or returning to the Boracay Beach Club. As one of the smaller hotels
on the island, we appreciate your staying with us, and we look forward to seeing
you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

First time stayed in Boracay and did not know what to expect. BBC is a family owned hotel, and the staff are very courteous and rendered excellent service. The owners, Mimi and Ariel showed us the "filipino heart warming hospitality". They went WAY OUT of their way to serve us and took us (8 hotel guests) to Kalibo to experience the Ati atihan Festival and had lunch in one of the residence that Mimi knew which shows how hospitable filipinos are. They also cooked special filipino dishes per our request and dined in Ariele's Restaurant. The hotel is across the street, a few steps away from the white beach, a perfect location since the beach gets very loud at night with all the noise from the clubs that operates till the wee hours of the night.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MyrnaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#23 of 146 in Boracay
1,524 reviews
0.4 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 146 in Boracay
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 146 in Boracay
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Beach Club

Address: Station 1, Boracay Island | Malay, Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $70 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boracay Beach Club is a family-owned and operated 27-room resort located just footsteps away from Boracay's famous White Beach in Station 1. Listed in Travel + Leisure magazine's "Top 25 Secret Seaside Getaways," the Boracay Beach Club features a beachfront lounge (across from the main property), a family-friendly swimming pool with cabanas, and a full-service restaurant. Additionally, all 27 rooms have laptop-compatible digital closet safes, in-room refrigerators, flat-screen cable television, and thick European-style duvet comforters. The Boracay Beach Club is your home away from home in the Philippines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Boracay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Beach Club Hotel Boracay
Boracay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing