We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always will be my favorite”

The Sunny Side Cafe
Ranked #6 of 355 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 13, 2019

I love everything about this place! I've been here twice now and it never disappoints! Service is excellent and food is perfect for brunch.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ryansweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Tis my 3rd visit to this place and they've just celebrated their 5th anniversary! Kudos to you, SSC team!
As always, their staff are ever accommodating and in smiles. And at 5 PM, that is quite a respite after a long day of walking through tiangges with friends who, for the second day, have been looking for that one item that will capture all their experiences of this particular visit.
As this is my friends' first visit to the cafe, we just had to order one of their iconic pancakes. And the black sesame and banana cream pie. Aaaand the citrus flan. When our orders were laid down on the table, out came the cameras, along with the oooohhs and aaahhs as they were surprised by the generous serving and thoughtful presentation. The fluffy pancakes were dreamy, perfect with either coffee or an ice-cold drink. The banana cream pie was served with smears of jam and edible flowers, which provided contrast in color, visual texture, and tang to an otherwise sweet dessert. And as all flans go, comfort was had in every bite.
There were only four of us so we couldn't have possibly finished everything. Good thing that we'll be on the island for two more days. Two more days to finish off the heft that we ordered!
Indeed, at 5 PM and after 5 years, the cafe's future looks brighter and sunnier!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank donguico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

If you will go to Boracay, don't forget to check out Sunny Side Cafe and order their Bacon Slab. The place is always packed but it's not surprising at all since it's the best! And their Chori Burger? Super yum and big! Will definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank sosassysnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Heard and seen great reviews of this place. Was disappointed each time for different reasons. The first time we went the menu looked great. Asked for a flat white. Coffee machine broke. Asked for waffles “none left”. Asked for avocado toast, “no avocado” ended with eggs Benedict which was just average really. Second time we went hopeful there would be more available, again no pancakes and only one available waffle. Third time we arrived early. Could not get a seat. Waited outside for a seat inside. Waitress took my name writing “Lorie” despite me saying and spelling out “Rory” three times. After the third she said it did not matter. Upon seeing seats become available we were told that a group of 4 were going to sit there instead, despite arriving 10 minutes after us. We had to sit in the corner beside ugly plants in the heat. Very disappointed. Only good thing was the free cold water refills. Tropical waffle also came out as hard as a rock. Could not cut through it. Looked like it was made the day before and reheated. Won’t be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 69rorym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Can’t recommend this place enough , really all round excellent food that would just as busy in any city in the world

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank richardbR4751AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunny Side Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Sunny Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing