We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best lunch place in Boracay”

The Sunny Side Cafe
Ranked #5 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best lunch place in Boracay”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

During our stay at Boracay we went there 4-5 times and it didn't let us down once. Even though they got some strange food combinations (ex. grilled cheese w. bacon and mango jam) it taste lovely. If you're in the mood for pancakes this is also the place to go! They serve really good and really big pancakes with all kind of toppings. The pancakes aren't ones you can handle alone so I recommend to share an order.
All in all one of our favourite places in Boracay.

Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowpot, Owner at The Sunny Side Cafe, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello! Thank you for visiting The Sunny Side Cafe five times during your stay in Boracay!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our food. We're glad that you took a chance in trying our Bacon & Mango Grilled Cheese Sandwich and liked it! We're quite proud of that sandwich and it is now one of the most popular items on our menu.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon on the sunny side!

Nowie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    293
    76
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Very clean food, tasty.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Between station 2 and 3, it's brightly lit, open late, well air-conditioned and serves very fresh, very clean and tasty food using fresh ingredients. The kitchen is open to the restaurant encouraging cleanliness. Soups were excellent!

Their unusual herb garden resides at the front door (see photo)

We ate there several times during our 10 day stay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TobySimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowpot, Owner at The Sunny Side Cafe, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello! Thank you for visiting The Sunny Side Cafe several times while you were in Boracay!

We are glad to read your review and are happy to see that you enjoyed our soups. We are also pleased to see that you noticed our herb garden outside.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon on the sunny side next time you come to the island!

Nowie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was relatively near our hotel so we tried it for dinner. We ordered the waiter’s recommendations but the meals were ordinary for our taste. The soup just tasted like an ordinary tomato soup in a can. Even the cake that we ordered was ordinary. Nonetheless, the watermelon juice was very refreshing. The waiter was very friendly and accommodating. The meals were a bit pricey though because I am thinking of meals here in Metro Manila where you can get a great tasting one at a lower price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGAG5378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deserves it's #1 ranking!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Went for breakfast and the only thing to complain about was trying to decide what to order off the menu! Everything on the menu sounded delicious. I ordered the blueberry pancakes and it was the best pancakes I've ever eaten. Nice and fluffy and the blueberry compote and cream were to die for (pancakes are very large it's enough for 2 people!) Staff were friendly and food came out quickly. Prices are very decent for what you get and only 12% VAT added (no service charge) Definitely will come back here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge pancakes ”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Went there for lunch, had the churio burger which is a local specialty and it was tasty.

We shared a blueberry pancake as all the reviews mentioned them and we were not disappointed. 2 huge pancakes with blueberry sauce and fruits, big serving of cream cheese. We couldn't finish it.

Would recommend the place for an afternoon coffee.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunny Side Cafe also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to The Sunny Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing