We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Strand”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We recently spent a week at The Strand on the beautiful island of Boracay. The hotel collected us from caticlan airport (Seair) are the only airline still flying direct into Caticlan after the recent problems with the airport, can thoroughly recommend this airline, was quite nervous as i am not a great flyer and I have heard some dreadful things about Philippine Airlines but I wouldnt hesitate in flying them again, airline is more like a small private jet than a commercial airline, very nice. So on arrival you get collected from the airport and taken to the jetty, then ferry to Boracay and then tuk tuk type van to the resort, The starnd although not on the beach is less than one minutes walk and is set in beautiful tropical gardens, very peacful and very beautiful, the resort has a lovely pool set in these gardens.
After a day or two we realised we were the only guests staying here which was slightly odd but I think the resort is undergoing some minor refurbishment before the high season kicks in, the plus side was we had the entire place to ourselves and it was more like staying in a private villa. The resort only has 13 rooms so very intimate, the staff are just lovely and will do anything for you. Each day they take your breakfast order and you can have it wherever you like, by the pool, on your terrace etc, a nice touch. Rooms are very spacious, we had a one bedroomed suite which i would recommend paying the extra and going for, very large with lovely bathrooms, lots of storage space, large lounges and kitchenette, great terraces with dayebeds, chairs and coffee table, nice for lounging and reading.
If you want the beach you can use the facilites at any of the resorts that are 2 minutes away, we used Fridays, as long as you buy drinks etc they are more than happy for you to use, 100 pesos for towels and we also used the Two seasons, again very nice, no charge for towels but again you buy there drinks and we ate here, slightly noisier as they play loud house music in the day so if you have a hangover defo go for Fridays, the resort is by far at the best end of white beach, you have the top end resorts and it is much quieter but it is only 10-15 minutes walk to boat station two where you have all the action.
Good recommendation when walking down the beach is KasBah, a Moroccan var, restaurant, very authentic and great food, also the bamboo lounge at boat station two, again great Asian food and fantastic entertainment sat right on the beach
Overall i would thoroughly recommend The Strand, one thing they could improve on is the choice of drinks in the mini bar, you get beer, wine and coke, sprite and water, if there had been more in there we would of drank more!!! Great hotel, great location, lovely staff and would defo go back if in Boracay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsiaSteve72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 208 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 18, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 14, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 13, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 4, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 4, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Our first visit to the Strand resort was for a seven nights over Christmas 2007. We are an American family of five (kids 15, 13, 11) living in Shanghai and wanted to visit a world-class beach and stay in a nice place that wasn't the center of the party scene. After a lot of research we chose the Strand. And we were extremely pleased.

The Strand is a 2 minute walk from the big end of White Beach, where the finest and whitest sand is located (from Willy's rock on "up" is the best sand). The beach is also the biggest there and the ocean is as good as it gets - drops off slowly and no coral. We would spend all day on the beach and in the water.

We had such a good time in '07 and enjoyed the Strand so much that we went back for another seven nights over Christmas '08. The Strand even put us in the same room! We loved it.

The Strand is as described: a quiet, well groomed, landscaped/gardened resort that works well for families as well as couple and individuals. Their pool is fantastic as it self-chlorinates using a salt process and the water is very soft and comfortable. Our kids spent a lot of time in the pool, usually towards the end of each day.

The rooms are nice and are relatively decent sized with a veranda. The resort itself is well-built. The owners did not skimp during the construction of the buildings or the landscaping.

The staff is very kind and attentive - they even helped change our airline departure times and get us new tickets so we could stay an extra day! The food is very good. An evening having dinner there is enjoyable, sitting in the comfortable Mahogany Lounge savoring the well prepared food. The owners, Mats and Pinky, are wonderful, down-to-earth people who treat their guests and staff well. As someone wrote, the Strand almost has a sort-of B&B feel.

The location is off the beach and that is probably the biggest drawback. But we didn't want something that would be too busy or rowdy. And Mats & Pinky built a wonderful resort that is so beautiful that it is actually a nice retreat from the beach. And it’s just a short walk away.

We love Boracay, we love the Strand. We hope to return again. We highly recommend the resort - unless you are the party-hardy type then please go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.4 mi away
Lime Hotel Boracay
Lime Hotel Boracay
#33 of 151 in Boracay
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boracay Summer Palace
Boracay Summer Palace
#31 of 151 in Boracay
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 151 in Boracay
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel Boracay Newcoast
0.3 mi away
Sur Beach Resort
Sur Beach Resort
#28 of 151 in Boracay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $57 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing