We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was pretty much last minute for us to secure accommodation during this peak season as most of our choices (nicer beach front hotels) are fully booked or with very high price. Then, we found The Strand and we didn't regret our decision. If you want a peaceful night of sleep, stay at The Strand. It was nice coming back to peaceful and quiet hotel after a long day at the beach or out partying at night. The distance to the beach is literally like 2 mins walk but the beach is not the nicest part of White Beach. The best part of the beach is at Station 1 and 2. You can either take a tricycle or walk along the beach to Station 1 and 2. Nothing much surrounding The Strand but it was easy to travel to D'Mall at White Beach by the tricycle and it shouldn't cost you more than 100 pesos per trip. The cemetery next to the hotel is not a big problem as some of our friends didn't even notice it when we first passed by to get to the hotel.

The suite room is of good size. We could chill at the verandah outside the room or watch tv while eating cup noodle at the living room. Good selection of tv channels. However, the kitchenette could have been better equipped with basic utensils such as pot, knife, fork, spoon etc. It only has kettle and beer opener which defeats the purpose of having such kitchenette. The bathroom amenities are somewhat lacking as only soaps and some packet washing gels are provided, so remember to brings yours. The swimming pool is a salt water pool and it has different depth to suit kids and adults. The water could get warm at night. So no problem if you want to take a dip in the pool at night.

One of the issues that we had while staying at The Strand is the power blackout that happened a few times in a day/night. Apparently power shortage has happened more frequently after the typhoon last year. I guess just have to bear with it and hopefully the government will solve this issue soon.

Other than that, I must say that the staff at The Strand made our stay a really pleasant one. The staff are friendly, helpful and always ready to serve with a smile. The reception staff helped us to arrange for our airport transfer, tour to Ariel's Point and island hopping and it was all good. The breakfast was somewhat basic but delicious. They were more than willing to customize the food for the guest and the staff actually remember guest's preference for their breakfast! You may even choose to have your breakfast at your verandah.

All in all, it was a quiet and comfortable stay at The Strand. Enjoy Boracay, guys!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vividplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    64
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
75
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

the staff couldn't do enough for us absolutely great service, the hotels breakfast and grounds are beautiful , i really enjoyed my stay here, my only draw back is the location its a little far out from the action

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azmat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful spacious hotel in great quiet location just off the beach. Really nice to be away from the crowds of white beach. Staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly, and the food was top notch! Would recommend this to anyone coming to Boracay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in Strand for a two weeks. This is beautiful place, huge amazing garden, big pool, excellent room-very comfortable, cleaning every day. Great views. Staff was bad, very bad. Location 2min walk to Station 1 White Sand Beach. Beach was poor, dirty, ugly. We went to Puka Shell Beach, it was paradise beach! Nothing interested around the Strand. Bar near the pool was closed all the time, nothing interested to eat on restaurant. Very good breakfast! Great place, recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pikim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for six nights with another family and had a wonderful stay. Each family had two grandparents, two parents, one 5-year-old and one 1-year-old. The suites are very spacious and all of us fit without difficulty in two suites. The renovations that previous reviewers mentioned must be done because we did not see or hear any. We found the property very nice. The main pool is large enough for laps and the kiddie pool is a good size for 5-year-olds (and 1-year-olds).

The location is good. Although not on the beach, it is only a two-minute walk (no exaggeration) to the beach, and our location was fairly secluded and quiet. Although you can hear chickens and roosters soon after dawn and sometimes during the day, we did not find it disruptive. Given that we are typically urban dwellers, sounds of nature are nice and to be expected if you want to be a little bit away from "the main action" (which we did). We preferred the chickens to motorcycles, cars, and loud party-goers.

A few words of advice. First, you should try to order breakfast the night before and let them know what time you expect to eat. As we discovered throughout our trip, the Boracays are on "island time." Everything moves slower than in a big city or at a 5-star international hotel. Thus, when at the hotel or at restaurants, recognize that the food will take a little bit of time. When we pre-ordered, we had no problems. Second, the staff is accommodating about changes to the standard menu. We had one traveler who wanted fried rice for breakfast. It was not on the menu, but the kitchen staff made a very nice fried rice with vegetables and eggs that we ended up ordering for the next 2-3 days. One small complaint. Kids do not eat for free, even if they are only five. They could not even get cereal for free, which seemed unduly strict.

Finally, the location turned out to be very fortunate for another reason. Our 5-year-old got hit in the head by a wooden swing near the beach (not at the hotel) during our stay there, and got a deep cut. My wife brought her back to the hotel (I was off getting lunch at that time) and the hotel staff were great. They told her that there was a small hospital clinic perhaps 75 meters up the road. They walked with her and my daughter to the clinic, while holding an umbrella to shield my daughter's head wound from the sun's glare. The clinic turned out to be an International SOS clinic and had a wonderful young doctor who spoke perfect English. My daughter ended up needing a few stitches, and we were grateful for having such professional service nearby. We hope no travelers using TripAdvisor have a similar experience, but knowing of the clinic's existence and knowing that the staff is responsive to emergencies is very reassuring.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Boracay is amazing. The beach is incredible and water is even better. The stale and however is very meh. It is situated down some rundown street that some might consider the slums. There is a cut through on the property to shantytown shacks that border the "resort". Roosters are everywhere making noise all day and the locals use the property to make pavers while blasting some local tubes out of a boom box.
It is owned by people that only visit a few times a year and it shows. The staff really doesn't care about doing more than the bare minimum.
We ended up spending most of our time down the beach at Fridays during the day. We tried to move but Fridays was full and three times the price.
Our stay at The Strand was tolerable and we did end up staying eight days or so but there is so much room for improvement and we felt like we were putting the staff out at every turn.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are good and spacious. There is something that kinda looks like a kitchen, but that can only be used to e.g. boil water for coffee. The room has satellite tv and WiFi, though the latter did not work when we were there. The staff is polite and friendly. The garden was nice but kind of messy. They were renovating the area surrounding the two pools (they have a kiddie pool and a normal pool) so it was quite noisy and messy. Then again, the renovation was badly needed, because you could literally get screwed by the screws sticking out of the wooden floor boards. The resort is very near the end of the white beach, though not too close to be spoilt by the tackiness and the many, many tourists. Personally, I like Puerto Galera, Bohol, or Palawan better than Boracay. Boracay is too small for that many tourists and the prices are downright crazy (but note that we went there during Christmas). Puka beach and Bulabog beach (spell check!) are more interesting than white beach IMHO, at least when you're with a family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.7 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 147 in Boracay
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soffia Boracay
Hotel Soffia Boracay
#41 of 147 in Boracay
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 147 in Boracay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#37 of 147 in Boracay
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencia Boracay
Residencia Boracay
#57 of 147 in Boracay
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sur Beach Resort
Sur Beach Resort
#27 of 147 in Boracay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: Brgy. Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing