We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful quiet place”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #33 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in Strand for a two weeks. This is beautiful place, huge amazing garden, big pool, excellent room-very comfortable, cleaning every day. Great views. Staff was bad, very bad. Location 2min walk to Station 1 White Sand Beach. Beach was poor, dirty, ugly. We went to Puka Shell Beach, it was paradise beach! Nothing interested around the Strand. Bar near the pool was closed all the time, nothing interested to eat on restaurant. Very good breakfast! Great place, recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pikim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 208 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for six nights with another family and had a wonderful stay. Each family had two grandparents, two parents, one 5-year-old and one 1-year-old. The suites are very spacious and all of us fit without difficulty in two suites. The renovations that previous reviewers mentioned must be done because we did not see or hear any. We found the property very nice. The main pool is large enough for laps and the kiddie pool is a good size for 5-year-olds (and 1-year-olds).

The location is good. Although not on the beach, it is only a two-minute walk (no exaggeration) to the beach, and our location was fairly secluded and quiet. Although you can hear chickens and roosters soon after dawn and sometimes during the day, we did not find it disruptive. Given that we are typically urban dwellers, sounds of nature are nice and to be expected if you want to be a little bit away from "the main action" (which we did). We preferred the chickens to motorcycles, cars, and loud party-goers.

A few words of advice. First, you should try to order breakfast the night before and let them know what time you expect to eat. As we discovered throughout our trip, the Boracays are on "island time." Everything moves slower than in a big city or at a 5-star international hotel. Thus, when at the hotel or at restaurants, recognize that the food will take a little bit of time. When we pre-ordered, we had no problems. Second, the staff is accommodating about changes to the standard menu. We had one traveler who wanted fried rice for breakfast. It was not on the menu, but the kitchen staff made a very nice fried rice with vegetables and eggs that we ended up ordering for the next 2-3 days. One small complaint. Kids do not eat for free, even if they are only five. They could not even get cereal for free, which seemed unduly strict.

Finally, the location turned out to be very fortunate for another reason. Our 5-year-old got hit in the head by a wooden swing near the beach (not at the hotel) during our stay there, and got a deep cut. My wife brought her back to the hotel (I was off getting lunch at that time) and the hotel staff were great. They told her that there was a small hospital clinic perhaps 75 meters up the road. They walked with her and my daughter to the clinic, while holding an umbrella to shield my daughter's head wound from the sun's glare. The clinic turned out to be an International SOS clinic and had a wonderful young doctor who spoke perfect English. My daughter ended up needing a few stitches, and we were grateful for having such professional service nearby. We hope no travelers using TripAdvisor have a similar experience, but knowing of the clinic's existence and knowing that the staff is responsive to emergencies is very reassuring.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Boracay is amazing. The beach is incredible and water is even better. The stale and however is very meh. It is situated down some rundown street that some might consider the slums. There is a cut through on the property to shantytown shacks that border the "resort". Roosters are everywhere making noise all day and the locals use the property to make pavers while blasting some local tubes out of a boom box.
It is owned by people that only visit a few times a year and it shows. The staff really doesn't care about doing more than the bare minimum.
We ended up spending most of our time down the beach at Fridays during the day. We tried to move but Fridays was full and three times the price.
Our stay at The Strand was tolerable and we did end up staying eight days or so but there is so much room for improvement and we felt like we were putting the staff out at every turn.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are good and spacious. There is something that kinda looks like a kitchen, but that can only be used to e.g. boil water for coffee. The room has satellite tv and WiFi, though the latter did not work when we were there. The staff is polite and friendly. The garden was nice but kind of messy. They were renovating the area surrounding the two pools (they have a kiddie pool and a normal pool) so it was quite noisy and messy. Then again, the renovation was badly needed, because you could literally get screwed by the screws sticking out of the wooden floor boards. The resort is very near the end of the white beach, though not too close to be spoilt by the tackiness and the many, many tourists. Personally, I like Puerto Galera, Bohol, or Palawan better than Boracay. Boracay is too small for that many tourists and the prices are downright crazy (but note that we went there during Christmas). Puka beach and Bulabog beach (spell check!) are more interesting than white beach IMHO, at least when you're with a family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I did tons of research here on TA before deciding on a hotel in Boracay. By and large everybody seemed to say that every hotel was great. I suppose it depends what you are looking for. For me, The Strand was perfect, a classy oasis away from the tackiness of the strip. Personally I have a low tolerance for being hassled to buy souvenirs every 10 feet and hearing different music blasted from 5 sources at once. Then there's the din of the trikes all day long. The Strand eliminates all those hassles, yet it's just a few minutes away from the "action".

It's a lovely compound of gardens with a great, attentive staff. The rooms (total of 12 I think) are arranged in one building staggered on a slope so that each veranda is pretty private. The beach is only a 3 minute walk, D Mall only a 10 minute trike ride which is only 100 Pesos (about 2 dollars). Every time I returned there I was glad I chose it, quiet, relaxed and private.

The food is excellent and all meals including the free breakfast can be conveniently delivered to your room/veranda or you can choose to sit by the pool or outdoor dining area.The cook Sael did a fantastic job. One day I ordered a cheeseburger expecting the typical Asian version i.e. hockey puck on a stale bun and instead received one of the best burgers I've ever had. Big juicy tender beef on an excellent bun with home made pickles and great cheese. I was blown away.

Ms.Dane organized all the tour activities with really great vendors and handled all the details ensuring punctual pickups, including the airport transfers which for us was Kalibo using Southwest airport service. Everything went like clockwork.

The rooms were very clean, large and the living area was spacious with tall ceilings. Plenty of hot water and the aircon (one in each room) worked great and was very quiet. Beds were very comfortable. Like most hotels there in Boracay they have a generator for the occasional blackouts. And speaking of electricity there are plenty of outlets all over the rooms and lots of lighting options and switches in the rooms and on the veranda for all types of moods. Oh yes and ceiling fans in both the bedroom and living room.

The bathroom has a separate toilet room and a shower room with a floor to ceiling window (private) which gives the feeling of an outdoor shower. A rain type showerhead, very tall and with plenty of water pressure. the sink area is between the shower and toilet in the room. Excellent arrangement.

The pool is wonderful, using saltwater instead of chlorine. Most times we were the only guests using it. Surrounded by beautiful stonework and flowers....and quiet.

I really can't think of anything negative to say about this property. It was perfect and I hated to leave.

Finally I would like to thank everyone at the Strand and Trip Advisor for all the help in finding and choosing this great resort.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms provide the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cincytraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet holiday in Boracay, The Strand Boracay is good option. It does not have a beachfront which is a negative, but makes with very quiet atmosphere. It has a good pool for the kids, the beach is about 50 mts walk, through a village street. It has only about 20 odd cottages, well furnished and maintained. Basic food service, but very friendly staff. Great to laze about, read a book or relax. We were there with family (2 young kids).
Next time we might book a beach front but away from Station 1 where all the action is.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

each time we came back to the strand from the outside world of boracay, it really felt like home. :)

the place is so peaceful and cool because of the trees surrounding it. the receptionist was a joy to talk to, she let us check in early and that really meant a lot!

our room was clean and well equipped with free bottled waters, consistent hot and cold shower. although the TV was really small and outdated though about 15"? :p we enjoyed their unique pool so much especially because it was only us and it's really a relaxing treat after a hot day at the beach. i had beef tapa for breakfast and it was excellent!

the only downside to the hotel is that i wish they would provide a free shuttle service to d'mall w/ their golf buggy. im really not the kind to complain about walking long distances but the location is at the far end of station 1 and it took us 25min to walk each way to station 2.
in one day we spent 400+php on overpriced tricycles.

other than that, i can't emphasize enough that the strand has made our anniversary really memorable and happy. i will go back!

Room Tip: ask the receptionist for a romantic room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanna u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 148 in Boracay
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.6 mi away
One Crescent Place
One Crescent Place
#40 of 148 in Boracay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 148 in Boracay
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sur Beach Resort
Sur Beach Resort
#29 of 148 in Boracay
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Wind Boracay Island
Sea Wind Boracay Island
#35 of 148 in Boracay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $46 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing