We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile, excellent value for money and just a great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strand
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Service with a smile, excellent value for money and just a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here and had such a great time. The rooms are lovely, the staff are accommodating, friendly and happy to help with any request - even jumping on a bike to go and hail a taxi from the main road. The beach is only two minutes walk and is the nice quiet part although getting to the busier parts is easy. The pool is lovely and well kept. Overall, considering value for money this place is an excellent choice for single travellers through to families. I would highly recommend and will be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    63
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
74
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I must admit I was a bit suspicious when my husband mentioned this 'new' hotel in Boracay (I say 'new' because we used to stay somewhere else in our frequent trips there). The suspicion stayed on upon arrival: very early, nobody around...mmmm! But immediately it changed. We were upgraded from a normal room to a suite, which after all, composes most of the 14 rooms! As I counted it, there's the Family suite, the Penthouse, and I saw only 3 'normal' rooms, with the rest being the suites like ours! The bathroom is spacious and well designed. As for the room, it is huge, with a big bedroom and living room, plus a nice veranda. Breakfast is simple but tasty, and although we had lunch only once, what we chose was great. Prices are normal, and it is very easy to get a tricycle (they call on the phone or have some of the young boys to cycle to the main road to get one!) to take you to D'Mall. The swimming pool is so cool, amidst greenery so natural! Also the beach is, as usual, great, and the 2 or 3 minutes walking down the street are a nice treat: you get to see the local people, and feel the sounds and sights of a lively people! I would so go back, and soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This is my type of place, if you like off the main road and emersed in a local neighborhood then this is for you. I stayed here 4 nights in the penthouse with family. The staff was nice and helpful. The restaurant had tastey food. I ate here more than any other place.

Yes it's a 5 min walk to the beach but its worth it. In my opinion the section of beach that you're close to is the best part. Not as many vendors harassing you constantly. If the beach isn't your thing then the pool is refreshing here.

Only complaint I have is with the roosters in the area waking me up at the crack of dawn, but it got me a jumpstart on my day to look at it positively. Doubt I'll visit Boracay again because the beach is so dirty with trash washing ashore constantly but if I do I'll be staying at the Strand.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Choosing the right location in Boracay is not always easy. Choose for the low key and laid-back Boracay-style Station 3, the very busy station 2, or the more upscale and quiet Station 1 ? Any choice you make, with The Strand, you can't go wrong.
It puts a smile on my face, when I read reviews of people "complaining" that the only down of The Strand is that it is 2 minutes walk to the beach....Or a merely 20 mins walk to the action and noisy, busy beach on Station 2. Get a life : where in the world do you have such a diversity of actions on such a small area ? Enjoy !! The main thing is that The Strand offers what we deserve : a real filipino hospitality with great staff, always smiling and helpful. Great and very comfortable units, ideal for families, nice swimming pool surrounded by a tropical environment full of lush trees. No hassle from people who wanna sell all kind of activities, sunglasses or massages.. Why go on vacation ? To relax, right ? Well, we had the most relaxing experience while staying 2 nights at The Strand, with the nicest staff ever. Keep up the good work, Ms Dane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panawan_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 days at the Boracay Strand back in July 2012. We booked the Family Suite while my sister booked the Penthouse suite. This place is a boutique hotel about 2 minutes from White Beach. It is surrounded by trees of all kinds, including breadfruit and mahogany. The floors, stairs and other structures were made of mahogany. It has a rustic feel to it, as if you were in the middle of a rainforest. We knew in advance that it was humid and that there were mosquitos, so we came prepared. We brought Deet sprays with us and they worked fine.

The one outstanding thing about this place is the wonderful staff. No request was too much for them. They helped my daugther contact a good friend who happened to be in Boracay that same day. The staff was gracious enough to let her use the phone at the office. If they had not done that, my daughter would not have been able to meet up with her friend. The staff was also helpful with suggestions on where to go, how and where to catch tricycle rides and where to eat, although the meals that the staff prepared were also quite good. The staff also arranged snorkeling tours and diving tours for us, which were quite enjoyable. One time we decided at the last minute to go on a boat ride - at 5:00 p.m. We asked one of the staff who was busy sweeping the grounds if this was possible at this late hour. She promptly dropped what she was doing (she didn't have to do that) and said she would contact someone who could arrange for this boat ride. She not only arranged for the boat ride but even had an employee's relative accompany us to the boat place, ride with us and escort us back to the hotel. We felt more secure and quite pampered!

Our rooms came with free breakfast. The mango pancakes were to die for! However, since we had previously stayed at the Peninsula in Manila and in the Radisson Blu in Cebu, the breakfast portions at the Strand seemed small compared to the "all-you-can-eat" buffets at other hotels - but we didn't mind this because we had been eating too much anyway. When we told them not to bother giving us the "Tang" orange-flavored drink for breakfast, they obliged and substituted calamansi juice, which was quite good. We didn't even ask for it.

The wonderful staff made us disregard the cons of this place - there was no box of tissues in the rooms and the air conditioner stopped working on one of the rooms in the Family Suite on our last night; but this was easy to overlook because since we had to leave the place early - at 6:00 a.m. the next day to catch our flight, some of the staff woke up early to make sandwiches for us so we wouldn't go without breakfast.

All in all, I would return to this place even though it doesn't have an ocean view; and don't expect bathrobes or slippers as was provided at both the Manila Peninsula and the Radisson Blu in Cebu. The wonderful staff made all the difference for us. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CITravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We lived here for 15 days, and after a lot of research through Tripadvisor before booking, this was the perfect match. Away from the busy main strip and very high standards. Clean, good food, serviceminded and smiling staff, safe and secure, fantastic pool area and close to everything. Romantic and family friendly. Recommended most out of all the resorts in Boracay, for you who like high standards all over!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elgsaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Strand is actually a good place to stay in. It has that secluded and private vibe to it. The rooms are pretty large and tastefully designed. The staff are great, very friendly and accomodating. Plus there's the swimming pool.

My only nitpick is that it's a bit far from the beachfront (about two-five minute walk away) but for a nicely priced but comfortable accomodation in Bora, and for the price, it's okay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JofTLCShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Soffia Boracay
Hotel Soffia Boracay
#40 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#43 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#38 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencia Boracay
Residencia Boracay
#57 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: Brgy. Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of your own home at The Strand Boracay Resort with 13 well-appointed, Scandinavian-inspired suites and rooms amidst lush garden and towering mahogany trees. With a touch of genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality, this walled-paradise provides fun and relaxation at its best! Experience home at The Strand. Boracay's hidden oasis. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Strand Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing