We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Discovery Shores for 2 nights (almost 3 full days) in the beginning of March for our first trip to Boracay from the States. We had planned 5 nights in Boracay and spent the first 3 of them at 7 Stones on the other side of the island (see separate review). Discovery Shores was a bit pricey for us which is why we did only 2 nights, and we felt it was well worth the splurge and loved our time there. It was a beautiful resort, location was great, the staff were amazing, and we loved our room. Everything about the resort is top notch as others have mentioned - the lounge chairs, the service by the ocean (we never went in the pool, can't comment on that), and walking through the resort everyone is so friendly. I was happy to see that they also did happy hour buy 1 get 1 drink every night which we took advantage of watching the sunset. The only thing I will say is that you could literally stay at that resort for everything and not really get a sense of the true "boracay" as it could be a beautiful resort anywhere, and since we were there during high season it was pretty crowded however we only really noticed it the days we came down late for breakfast (which was also very tasty!). I'd suggest going down the beach for some meals, which we did for dinner, to explore d'mall and the more "touristy" section and then coming back and loving the peace and quiet!

All in all, we would definitely return to the Discovery Shores again and were sad to leave

Room Tip: We did the cheapest room and it was plenty big - I don't think you could go wrong with any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethie331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Bethie331,

Greetings from Discovery Shores Boracay. Thank you very much for that wonderful review of our property. We hope that you will return to our island very soon and get to see more of the community. Drop us a line and we can arrange a tour for you.

Until then

Yours truly,
Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    202
    55
    21
    18
See reviews for
453
344
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have stayed at the discovery shores boracay more than once, and I must say, they always find ways to still impress me, very comfortable, and always a good fun family time, thanks for the great memories!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maheshmirpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Maheshmirpuri,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Discovery Shores Boracay. The greatest joy for us is when a first-time guest returns. It means that we are doing something right. We are happy to be of service to you and hope that you will return very soon.

Yours truly,
Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at Discovery Shores. Seng the Manager does a wonderful job preserving and enchancing this wonderful hotel. The genuine warmth and care effuse from everyone who works here.
Location is just a dream and its true the sand never get hot !
If your looking for a hotel with great location, fantastic staff, service, food and bedrooms and want to be treated like a VIP then this is the hotel for you.
Can not wait to return !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckies66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Chuckies66,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of Discovery Shores Boracay in Tripadvisor. We are so glad that we helped make your stay in Boracay very memorable. We trust that you will return and stay with us once again.

Very truly yours,

Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My first visit to Philippines and Boracay Island. I chose to stay at Discovery Shores in Station 1 on Boracay Island. I have travelled the world and choose to stay in 4 - 5 star accommodation. Most times out of 10 I can pick some kind of fault at where I choose to stay whether it's the accommodation it's self ranging from the beds to to the apartment or meals.

Discovery Shores on Boracay Island in the Philippines I could not fault anything. The location, meals and especially the service was exceptional. I thoroughly recommend choosing this accommodation and what a great destination.

Room Tip: Naturally rooms closest to the beach would be my pick but any room would be good in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mark,

Greetings from Discovery Shores Boracay! Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our resort in Tripadvisor. Please know that we truly appreciate your kind words about our accommodations, food & beverage and service. Our mantra is to provide very memorable experiences for our guests so it is very encouraging for me and the rest of the staff to read posts like yours. We hope to see you again in our resort very, very soon.

Sincerely,

Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The best hotel in boracay, you're treated as a VIP whenever you run into a staff member, free snacks daily, a staff would walk around the beach lounge area and would mist you with Evian water, they would clean your sunglasses, fold your shirt while you're out swimming, all worth it. Too much to tell, you just gotta be here to experience it first hand

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adolfo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear adolfo o,

Thank you for your very enthusiastic review. We are elated to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to please and it is nice to know that the hard work of our staff is appreciated. Please allow me to post your review in our bulletin board. This will surely inspire the Discovery family to render "Service That's All Heart "to the fullest.

Sincerely,

Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I love this hotel!! The service, location and the staff are excellent!! Me and my partner would love to go back over and over again!! It is expensive but remember.. You get what you pay for and on this resort! It is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Get the suite room! facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asian_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear asian_chic,

Greetings from Discovery Shores Boracay! We appreciate your kind words about our resort. We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us very memorable. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed at Discovery Shores Boracay for 4 nights and then at Shangri-La for 5 nights (we wanted to experience both). Our children, aged 4 and 6, and us thoroughly enjoyed both and reccomend trying them both out if you go to Boracay.
Discovery Shores offers unparalleled service: it felt like they cleaned the room 3-4 times a day, left us fruit, cupcakes, pastries in the room every day morning and afternoon. Most of the staff around pool and restaurant knew our kids by name and even what they liked to eat. The kids club room was small but they had something cool going on every afternoon giving parents opportunity to enjoy happy hour. Any time we sat down by pool or beach we had cool water and a towel provided almost instantly. No request was declined by staff, the restaurant always brought out free appetizers and small gifts for the kids at dinnertime and was more than happy to arrange a table on the beach for us to enjoy the incredible sunsets while kids played on the sand from a big trunk of sand toys or board games with us... all provided courtesy of Discovery Shores.
We liked the size of the hotel as our kids quickly figured out how to go up to the room for a dry shirt or shoes and if felt like the staff was always looking out for them. Location is near the end of White Beach which kept it away from most of the foot traffic but still within walking distance to market area, jetski rental, etc.
Only areas for improvement were breakfast time when some items like fresh fruit or juice would run out although, we have to say, if you asked them for something they made it happen. Another potential issue is the fact that there were weddings on premises 2 out of the 4 nights we were there which did occupy a good portion of the beachfront. However this did bring live music to the place along with entertainers (dancers) and firworks at the end of the evening which were always fun.
If we went back to Boracay we would spend 7 nights here and just 2 nights at Shangri-La which also has its pleasantries but at a much higher cost.
Thank you Discovery Shores for an unforgettable holiday!

Room Tip: we got the basic (deluxe?) room it had 2 queen size beds and a daybed couch, more than enough for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Marcos F,

Greetings from Discovery Shores! I would like to thank you for your very thorough review about our property. We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Please allow me to share this post with our staff. I am sure it will make them very happy to know that all their hard work is noticed and appreciated by many. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to the island.

Sincerely,

Seng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 147 in Boracay
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 147 in Boracay
671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Property: Discovery Shores Boracay
Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing