We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is a perfect place to base your self when staying in Boracay. It's at the quiet end of the beach so you can walk out with being hassled by people selling stuff. Its a short walk along the beach to restaurants and all the nightlife attractions of Boracay. The rooms are quite large and the amenities are great. The beds are huge and so comfy! The breakfast buffet was great, huge selection of freshly cooked omelets, pancakes, and waffles. If i returned to Boracay i would stay at this hotel again.
Try the Mochacolada at the beach bar! So delicious!

Room Tip: Get a pool side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewith87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    228
    59
    23
    20
See reviews for
533
379
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is our second stay at Discoverys and its right after Yolanda (typhoon).

Nothing has changed as infrastructure goes. They haven’t done anything new in the last two years since being here.

We previously stayed in a junior suite right next to the pool and we thought that location was excellent. This time we stayed in a 2 bedroom premier room and it was magnificent! There were tons of room, plenty for 5 adults and 1 child. There were two bedrooms 3 bathrooms. The two en-suites have baths in them and the third bathroom only has a shower.

But then reality kicked in when we had to walk down to the beach. There are stairs, and lots of them. There is an elevator but unfortunately it was not working and even if it was working it was only going to eliminate a quarter of the stairs.

Last time I stayed here I could not fault the service, but this time it has changed dramatically. It could have been because of the typhoon and that’s why I put up with it. The complimentary foot wash that we were all looking forward too took forever to get there. I ended up calling them to see when they were coming to give us the wash as we wanted to go and get lunch and enjoy the few minutes of sun left. Finally it arrived after about 15 minutes of the phone call.

While we were there I noticed that they were lacking in pool and beach towels. I stood around for a while dripping wet waiting for someone to hand me a towel or anyone that I could ask one for, but there was on none. This happened a few times.

There was an incident that we were not too happy about. My uncle, who is a Filipino, was with us and my husband had noticed that although the staff would bow and greet us they would not do the same to my uncle. My husband on the second or third day had to have a talk to management about this and it was rectified. Although it mended it had put a damper to our stay and had made me rethink about my opinion of Discoverys.

We did not like the food here at all. It was pricey and not at all very versatile. There are plenty of Filipino foods which I liked but was very pricey and other dishes were not very nice at all. I think they may need to rethink their menu. I liked the fact that you could order the exact same things in your room that you could sitting on the beach, pool or restaurant.

The breakfast has changed for the better though. The last time we were here there wasn’t much variety to the food but this time the menu changed daily but still kept the staples eg, breads, eggs, noodles and cereals.

In total I love Boracay, but I’m not sure if maybe next time I should try another resort. I guess time will tell.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aprad140303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel makes me proud to be Filipino. The staff was amazingly humble, generous and classy. My beautiful girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a magical experience. The beach was the best among the entire White Sand stretch. The beach side pampering was amazing. Rex was the best beach side host. Bee Jay was the kindest breakfast waiter. We absolutely loved our stay. I so much miss the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 lovely unforgettable nights at the Discovey Shore. The best part of this resort is that it has only few rooms compared to humongo resorts so the facilities are well maintained and restaurants and the pool/beach aren't crowded. Staff is friendly, always smiling and hard working. We stayed at a room with a fabulous view of the ocean. Once we arrived, there were snacks and beverages prepared in the room and a nice lady came to give us relaxing foot baths. One thing I remember is that when I was lying beside the beach the hotel staff came to clean my sunglasses ! Also if you order food while at the beach they prepare a romantic table for you on the sand right beside the water. Dinner buffet on the last night is complimentary. The theme of the buffet changes everynight, I had Australian which was quite tasty. Breakfast is also high quality but not much variety. Again, I hate crowded hotel breakfasts but you can have a quiet relaxing breakfast here. The structure of the resort is unique; entire resort is on 2 levels of ground, the beach and restaurants on the lower level and some rooms on the upper level surrounded by lovely garden and fountain. The hotel`s complimentary van takes you and picks you up whenever and wherever you want to go on the island. The massages at the resort spa is expensive and ok quality. Also their private boat picks you up and takes you to the mainland which is very convenient. Overall I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing luxurius vacation at Boracay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 나랑 홍
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Would highly reccommend...we had a fantastic stay in a beautiful location. Service was excellent. Loved it and would go back. Rooms were beautiful and setvice great. What a nice place to visit. We loved the really nice older gentleman at the front desk, he went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mllj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Let me start by saying that I should have listened to my wife on this one. Secondly, I am about as country as anyone can be so it is not hard to me impress me! My wife insisted that we book Shangri-La and me being on the frugal side when I booked decided to go with Discovery Shores. Discovery Shores is just okay, but it is nothing like Shangri-La!!! It is like comparing prime cut steak to spam...just no comparison. My buddy listened to his wife and booked Shangri-La... needless to say we spent all of our time at Shangri-La and only used Discovery Shores for sleeping. For what you get between the two...the price difference should be more significant. Discovery Shores is overpriced in my opinion. The main differences: Shangri-La has elevators to your room...Discovery has stairs(not good after a few drinks). Shangri-la has too many pools to count....Discovery has 1...When you enter Shangri-La...you are completely WOWED by the experience...(the layout of Shangi-la absolutely Breathtaking) the staff and the measure of securtity....ABSOLUTELY NO WOW FACTOR AT DISCOVERY SHORES....The room was not at all warm or inviting..it was not cozy and we felt like the blinds offered very little privacy and let in too much light.(easy for peekers to see in). Oh yeah my buddy had a tub and shower and we had a shower only.Breakfast buffett was below average! Only 1 reason in my opinion when you would choose Discovery Shores over Shangri-la: and that is that your only concern is that you want to be close to all the action and not have to use the shuttle to get where u need to go. So if you are just partying..then go to Discovery Shores...Don't make the same mistake I did!

Room Tip: no tips to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay in Discovery. Compared to Shangrila, Discovery's location makes it a notch better. With the white beach just a few steps away really makes a lot of difference. Ice cone and pastry available all morning side pool is a big come-on and high up there in likeability for children. Rooms are cleaned twice a day. Sweets and cookies are replenished everyday in your room. Shuttle is available any hour. Call for pick up wherever you are. We went to Regency to see the tunnel aquarium not at par with Hk or Sing or Us ocean parks bt its in Bora so that will do. We were there and picked up by Discovery van. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franchesca112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 146 in Boracay
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 146 in Boracay
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 146 in Boracay
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Property: Discovery Shores Boracay
Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing