We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover that Shangri La has much more to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Discovery Shores has quite a bit going for it looking at it from a distance or from a walk down the beach, but once you compare this hotel to the Shangri La there is NO comparison. The Shang makes the Discovery look like a run down motel compared to the beautiful Shangri La, where even the pricing is comparable.

We were picked up quickly at the hotel and after taking a 10 min van ride, 5 min boat ride, we were whisked away to Discovery. Five star hotels (which this used to be, but should be given a 3.5 now) is all about the details. The reception offers you wet towels and a cold drink upon arrival and then quickly leaves leaving you with your hands full and wondering "where do I put this?" Sounds frivolous but that's a tip of the iceberg. Rooms are quite nice and spacious. This is the redeeming factor of this property.

Beach area is well kept, but the property itself seems to had better days, suffering from poor construction and inadequate drainage. Our last day there we experienced water everywhere.

Food was less than desirable. You can get much better meals at Aria where D Mall is. The breakfast buffet was a five on a scale of 1-10.

The pool was nice, but nothing special.

Again for the money, go visit Shangri La. Much better value for your money. This property is listed as a Small Leading Hotel, which I have no doubt used to be, but should be reviewed by the association once again. Not in my book. .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank pposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

everything is just perfect from food,accomodation,service,the view!i will definetely stay here for my next honeymoon!:) the kids enjoyed their stay here..to add up security here is very strict so you will be happy to know your very safe here especially if you have kids travelling with you.
I would like to say thank you to all the staff for being so warm and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival @ Caticlan airport the world class service started. The hotel staff gave us something small cloth just to freshen up .Our travel from airport to hotel was very smooth.Upon arrival they gave us "pandan water" which we love very much.The hotel staff, amenities and location were great. Very quiet and relaxing place.

Quite expensive but worthy to stay. Definitely we will come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had the unfortunate experience of staying at this hotel. Although the hotel itself had great service and the amenities were very comfortable, nearly 4 weeks after my stay I received a strange email from the hotel management notifying me that they were charging my credit card a cancellation fee because booking.com was forcing the hotel to do so. Realizing that this was an obvious mistake, as I had never cancelled my room at the hotel and in fact had stayed an additional night, I notified the hotel that this must have been a mistake and they should not in fact be charging a cancellation fee. The hotel acknowledged this fact, but just a few days later the HOTEL (not booking.com) charged my visa card a cancellation fee. I found this odd for two reasons, 1) I had never used my visa card at the hotel only amex and 2) the hotel had confirmed only days earlier that they would not be charging me the erroneous cancellation fee. I believe that there must be some type of credit card fraud or scam going on this hotel, so please be careful while using your credit card. The hotel has not returned my money and I had to contact visa fraud bureau. All emails I received from the hotel were official accounts from the hotel domain and not false accounts. Be careful staying here!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
12  Thank ozera83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I spent the weekend with some friends at Discovery Shores. We got a great deal at booking.com so it made the trip all the more fun. From the time you go down from your plane (even before you get your luggage) until you board it again, the good people of Discovery Shores are always there to assist with almost everything.

The three (3) of us stayed in (1) one room (with extra charge for 1 person). Its very nice and clean. In all of the three (3) nights we stayed there, there's always the thoughtful snack waiting for us in the afternoon.

I mostly stayed in the room but my friends enjoyed the happy hours with sumptuous treats for the guests that almost made them full for dinner.

The daily breakfast is good enough for brunch.

Although the hotel is a bit old, it is very well-maintained.

But the real gem of this hotel are the staff that will really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable in your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It's been a year since I stayed in Discovery Shores. It was my cousin who convinced me to stay here since I go to Boracay a lot. I told her, it's way too expensive for my budget. And then she said, just try for a couple of nights then you tell me.

I was smiling the whole time I was there, the sheets were soft, the room was very spacious and I can even dance zumba in our living room! Usually, I go out clubbing on night time to see what's poppin' but with the service they offer to their guests and the Jacuzzi right outside your terrace, you just can't go out anymore. It sure is a paradise. Food was good but not the best. I can say breakfast was the best I had there and it's also included in your accomodation. Try to have the fish and chips and their chorizo and potato with egg on their platitos menu. That order was really good.

Room Tip: Request for the one with the Jacuzzi, add a few more bucks and you'll have your own. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissButterLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

From start to finish, staff was very accommodating. Rooms were amazing even though ours was the Junior Suite (2 adults, 1 child). Stayed there during the habagat (south-west monsoon winds) which made waves on the beach (lucky for me and my son, we liked that) having experienced a more calm white sand beach in the province. The hotel shuttle service was quite the experience seeing that they will take you to the other side of the island (with the water sports were) in a heartbeat. Overall it was a relaxing place, just didn't like the famous D'Mall it being so crowded. I would recommend staying over the weekdays so that the hotel is not so busy vs the weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allstar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 151 in Boracay
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#5 of 151 in Boracay
756 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 151 in Boracay
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#5 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $288 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing