We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place and service in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and service in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thank you to Discovery Shores Boracay for one of the most amazing stays. From the pick up at Caticlan (friendly drivers introduce themselves, offer mints) to check-out, it was brilliant. The rooms (I had 301, a one bedroom premier) are clean, newly renovated or exceptionally maintained. A welcome platter awaits on arrival as does an icy cold jug of pandan water. The rooms are bright and airy and have good views over the best part of white beach. Service is impeccable throughout as staff greet you with a smile and 'happy summer'!. The best part of white beach is on your doorstep - but only a stroll to the busier Station 2 for the action. Beach beds are huge and plentiful and the beach service amazing. (Thank you to Gen and Ninio especially). The moment you grab a beach bed, a fresh towel arrives with a jug of ice and cold water. Cocktails and nibbles served to your bed. When you come back from a swim the staff have folded your clothes and are standing ready to clean your sunglasses and offer a fresh towel. Amazing. I spent my first week in Boracay on my own - and have never felt better looked after or safer. The food was some of the best on the island - from the diverse and yummy breakfast spread (with views!) to dinner to nibbles on the beach. Discovery Shores was the perfect combination of warm and unobtrusive service, beautiful and large rooms and the best stretch of beach in Boracay. Thank you to everyone for a wonderful and memorable stay. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: A one bedroom premier close to the beach front has the best views and most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Marta H,

Thank you for posting this in Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are a joy to read. I will definitely share this with the staff. This will serve as an inspiration for them to perform at their best at all times. We look forward to welcoming back at Discovery Shores Boracay.

Leeds
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    191
    54
    21
    18
See reviews for
424
337
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hands down the nicest place to stay in Boracay.

Location: It's on the best beach on the island, close enough to Station 2 that it's easily accessible but far enough away so it's quiet.

Rooms: Bright, spacious, modern, well kept, amazing bed and pillows.

Staff: So friendly and attentive. They've obviously gone through rigorous training to get their positions and it's clear they take pride in their work.

Facilities: Great spa, nice pool but the hotel is set on one of the nicest beaches ever so what more do you need?

Extras: Definite attention to detail everywhere you turn; from the personalized welcome pack in your room to the sweet snack left at the 5pm turn down which is different everyday.

Kids: Very kid friendly and my hat goes off to the rocket scientist that came up with the idea of starting both the kids activities and happy hour at the same time (4pm daily).

Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermodified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear supermodified,

Thank you very much for posting this in Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you took the time in pointing out what you loved about Discovery Shores Boracay. It is always nice when people notice and appreciate the big and little things that we do for our guests. Our staff will be delighted to learn that all their hard work will always be rewarded.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Leeds
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa City, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent Service... Cozy and awesome suite room...
We've been to Boracay many times and have stayed in several new and good resorts at station 1, our last visit was this April with my husband and 8 more friends who are also couples. We are fascinated by the service of Discovery Shores, the moment we arrived in Boracay . Just like the other first class resorts in the island , Discover Shores has their own private shuttle and boat to transport their guests via private port . Cold towels , drinks and snacks are served when you board the boat. Upon arrival at the resort, we are greeted again with a welcome drinks. Each suite has a personalized welcome greetings , sweets, ( which is replenished daily) pandan water, that is really refreshing and a basket of fruits. They also give a complimentary sunblock ,shampoo ( of good brand ) and a bag which me and my friends find very useful. An invigorating foot scrub is also done upon checking in to our room, free of charge. What so amazing is that they clean the rooms at least 3 times a day without the need to request , every time you get back to the room it's always tidy and fresh . Just Relaxing at the beach area will satisfy your stay, with the attentive staff giving beach towel and setting up the beds for you, serving cold water , and will even give fresh cucumber and orange to refresh your face while chilaxing at the beach. A staff will even clean your shades and sunglasses for you. They also serve complimentary pica pica at the beach area. The room includes free buffet breakfast which offers many food varieties from appetizers down to desserts. All the staff of the resort are warm , attentive and helpful. Though a bit pricey ,I can say that you really get your money's worth in this resort. If budget is not a factor , this resort will be a great choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but those on the 2nd or 3rd floor have more privacy since the resort is modern an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheng_Reforma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sheng_Reforma,

Thank you very much for your post. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your Boracay experience was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Yours sincerely,

Leeds
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Comfortable. pleasant. clean. We had the best time in Discovery. I would definitely go back to Discovery next time i visit Boracay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yangning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I took days researching where to stay in Boracay, looking at many locations and price ranges. Finally I made the call on the Discovery Shores largely because it was my girlfriend's birthday so decided to splash out a little (SGD$530 / GBP265 per night after taxes). I can honestly say it was the smartest move I made!

Upon arrival at Caticlan Airport we we're met by the hotel staff, fast-tracked out into a waiting private mini-van and taken to the private jetty to get the private boat (with drinks and cold towels). Within 40 mins from touchdown we were at the hotel.

At the hotel we were personally greeted and taken through the hotel complex to the beach-front restaurant area to wait for our room. Despite check-in time being 2pm our room was ready for us at 12.30pm. Once in the room there was a 'happy birthday' sign and cake for my girlfriend and a foot wash for us both - very nice touches.

The hotel layout is a little confusing at first - stairs, walkway, lift but finally you get to the pool and beach area which is stunning.

The room itself (Junior Suite) was located at the top end of the hotel and had a partial sea-view from the balcony. The room is huge with one of the biggest and most comfortable beds I have ever seen and slept in. The place was spotlessly clean with a great bathroom.

Breakfast was pretty good and the one lunch we had was very nice. Also there's happy hour drinks on the luxury beach front area from 5pm every day.

The location on Station 1 is excellent - it seems to be the best bit of the beach, sand is great and it's away from the noise of Station 2 but only 10-15 mins walk along the beach to D'Mall and the centre of everything. Oh, and the sunsets are magnificent.

Anyway, enough rambling. The gf was delighted with the hotel and was an absolute pleasure staying there (even if it was only for 2 nights before we had to downgrade to a cheaper hotel). I can't speak for the Shangri-La (which was just out of my price range) but if you are also undecided and want something a little cheaper and more central, then Discovery Shores could be the place for you!

TIP: Go right along the beach and walk the path to Diniwid Beach (10 min walk). It's a very quiet and beautiful little cove with shallow waters. On the far side are 2 hotels - The Nami and West Cove - the latter is great place to have a beer and watch the stunning sunset!

Room Tip: I requested a balcony and views and was given exactly that - was put at the top end of the hotel on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Room_204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My review is long overdue but I cannot miss to review this amazing hotel in Boracay. Excellent service starts from Caticlan airport where we were provided an airport coach transfer going to Station 1. In the hotel a relaxing foot wash/massage with welcome drinks and cakes was provided and the atmosphere and impression made me look forward for our 2N 3D honeymoon stay. The room is very spacious with a very elegant interior, very comfortable bed, lovely pillows, nice bathroom. The food was loovvelllyyy! I haven't been in the Philippines in a while so having a traditional Filipino breakfast is something i look forward to. The fruits especially mangoes were to die for. We also had our buffet dinner there, a friend of ours from London came with us and He loves the food to the very bits! Every single penny paid to this hotel is all worth it! Will definitely come back and highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennylynEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A beautiful, comfortable hotel with impeccable service and excellent facilities. We stayed there for a family wedding which all went to plan and I believe exceeded my brother in law's expectations. Our children loved the pool :o) My only criticism was that our smoked glass bathroom door had quite a violent self closer. I managed to crush my thumb in the middle of the night, and it was painful. The food was fairly priced although the room prices were pricey. Apart from that I really can't criticise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonsai011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Property: Discovery Shores Boracay
Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#2 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing