We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous beach, not so fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #5 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The beach is absolutely stunning. The waters are clear for a stretch of at least 50m into the ocean. The sand is fine and white, just as other reviews have mentioned.

BAD NOTE: On to the hotel - on our arrival after an 8 hour long journey intermixed with transfers and cancellations, we were looking to just rest and order some room service.
First, they got the room wrong, they gave us 2 single beds when we reserved a king bed. Then they gave us the wrong bill, and being so tired, I did not really look through and signed it only to realise my mistake later. They took another nearly an hour or so to rectify everything and offered nothing else except an apology. I WAS ON MY HONEYMOON FOR GOODNESS SAKE.

The breakfast offers differing selections for the 3 nights we spent there. A pretty good spread and it's by the beachside, so it was a pretty awesome experience.

They provide free shuttle to anywhere you want on the island, and they provide the shuttle back as well. Top class service in this aspect I must say.

A note on the flights into Boracay: we went in late Nov, and there was a pletora of flights to choose when flying from Manila to Catlican. However, if the flight isn't full, they'll just cancel the flight and schedule you on another earlier one. So we had to leave earlier than expected which was rather unpleasant. Don't be fooled by the many options in flight timings. Unfortunately you can't do much about it. Or maybe go during the super peak season?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liangfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We love everything about it! No ifs. No buts. Rooms are cozy, you would even consider not going out anymore, and just relax all day long inside.

When we had our dinner, we ordered ala carte. My youngest wanted to get some desserts at the buffet table, but I told her that we can just order for her because she cannot get from the buffet. When we were about to order, I checked on the menu, but the one dessert (kakanin) she wanted was not available for ala carte. I asked the waiter if we can request for a special order of the kakanin (Ube Palitaw) that my daughter wanted even if it's not in the menu. The waiter then replied he'll have to ask their supervisor. When he went back to us, he apologized as it is not possible because it was just for the buffet. And so I said ok & thanks anyway. I told my daughter to just order a different one. Before she even decided what to get, the waiter went back to our table & gave us a plate of the different sweets only available for buffet. He then said it was on-the-house, courtesy of the manager.

It was indeed a sweet dinner ending for us, most specially my daughter.

Love coming bsck over and over.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhristineMetroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Discovery Shores in early November...clearly off-season since the property was not fully booked. Our room was near the beach and we were right across from the pool. The room was extremely new, modern, and spacious. Bathroom was a bit on the small side (only shower, no tub) but still great.

The breakfast buffet was just ok due to limited selection.

What I like most was the staff. Everyone was extremely nice and attentive. Wiping our sunglasses, refilling water, bringing extra towels, etc. We were definitely pampered.

I would give this hotel a 5 star except for the shuttle service. We had dinner in a different part of the island (station 2) and the hotel shuttle service was supposed to pick us up in 7-10min according to the front desk. We ended up waiting for 40min to be picked up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki_eatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I got married at this resort on July 7, 2012, and I say to anyone who wants to have a Boracay wedding, to have it in Discovery Shores as they have the most detail oriented and creative staff who makes sure you have the most beautifully arranged wedding. The location of the resort which is on the quieter side of White Beach has also the widest beach front area making it perfect for a ceremony. The scenery is just amazing, especially with the sunset as your backdrop.

Not to mention its impeccable customer service throughout our stay. We came back to a room that was always tidied up from stepping out for just an hour. Everyone always greeted with a smile. They were very attentive to our requests and needs and were very prompt at tending to us. It was such a homey environment. They certainly made it very easy for us as a couple who were running amok, preparing for the wedding. It was the best decision we had made for our wedding venue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehlisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to Boracay with the team from work. The resort was walking distance from the clubs in the island. They provided several options for outdoor activities, including para-sailing, jet skies, snorkeling, etc.

The food was very good and varied. A true luxurious experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friends and I just got back from Discovery, and we had a great experience. The hotel is located near the end of Station 1 so its very private and feels more exclusive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Upon check in, we were treated to a complimentary foot massage inside the room, with drinks and pastries. A streamer inside our room welcomed us "home". And everyday, after a fun day outside, we came home to newly cleaned rooms, and with a new stock of pastries and fruits waiting on the table. What I liked most about the hotel is the design. The rooms, which look more like suites or apartments, are very spacious and are ideal for families or big groups. The hotel also has free shuttle service to any point in the island. Discovery also has its exclusive ferry and shuttle services in going to and from the airport, and has an exclusive waiting lounge at the departure area of the airport, which make the travel more convenient.

You may find the cost to be very steep though, especially if you are someone who will spend most of your time enjoying the outdoors - Boracay after all has a very beautiful beach and is known for its night life! I also think that the food at the front lobby restaurant (Sands) needs improvement. And if you get a room on top of the property, be prepared to walk down the stairs going to the beach, pool and resto/bar.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, get a room on top of the property. But If you want to be in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BraulloBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went there on Dec 2011 & stayed for 2 nights, we hope we have been stayed longer.
It is a relax resort with perfect services. Once you checked in, they will provide you a foot massage in your room & nice iced-drinks, cakes & cookies, etc...
The staffs are friendly, good house keeping ( your room always clean when you back), a nice swimming pool & you could enjoy water, cookies, sometimes pizza when you lying on the beach bench, the staffs will taking care of your stuffs like sun glasses, towels, snappers & will put everything in a nice position, also will provide you with water, cookies, pizza etc...They also helped us took many nice pictures.
The beach part in front of the resort is great, that's the most beautiful part in boaracy beach! The sand is whie in colour & so soft & smooth. We had a happy stay. :)
But heard from my friend that if you go there in peak season like February, the beach will be a bit crowd.

Room Tip: The room with Balcony is a must & better choose the upper floor one which have more priavacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseW133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 148 in Boracay
689 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 148 in Boracay
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
1.1 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 148 in Boracay
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $262 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing