We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“discovery shores hotel - best ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #2 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“discovery shores hotel - best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you want a "feel rich" vacation in Boracay, discover DISCOVERY SHORES. On arrival, the staff greets you with a warm smile and puts a green friendship bracelet on your wrist. They take care of your luggages and escort you all the way to the waiting shuttle bus to the pier and the airconditioned boat and another shuttle to the hotel. I've been to Boracay several times but this is the first time there was no hassle and no sweat arriving at the hotel. I still feel fresh. The room is spotlessly clean, beddings are neat and tidy. They are generous with amenities. Everything you need is provided for. The well trained staff pamper you throughout your stay. Everytime you meet any of them, they would put their right hand on their heart which means "service with a heart". Before I got to know why they do that, I thought it to mean "we care".
Truly Discovery Shores is a different experience. As my 5 year old grandson would say "BEST EVER".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BongVallejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    158
    46
    18
    15
See reviews for
315
253
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

As I was planning my trip to Boracay, had been checking with friends to find a good hotel and Discovery was a common recommendation. My friends and colleagues knew me very well and said I go with Discovery without doubt considering my expectations... So I did and it is with no second thoughts that I accept this as one of the best trips of my life. Great weather, fantastic property and OUTSTANDING service. Having had the privilege of traveling to different locations across APAC, US and Europe, I think your standards of service is what differentiates you from the rest.

I will definitely come back and will hope to see you all again. Pls continue the same standard of service and delight customers from around the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nithin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batangas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Discovery Shores Boracay has a number of major selling points. Its location at the quiet end of
Station 1, which offers an expansive beach front area; excellent facilities and amenities and of
course service that is true to their mantra of being "all heart". From the airport pick-up through check in and the day-to-day interactions and services, they indeed stayed true to this. Discovery Shores also provides the small touches others may consider to be fairly minor but do complete one's stay; a dedicated, enclosed and air conditioned boat to bring you from Caticlan to Boracay as well as shuttle service to D'Mall and other areas along the different boat stations. The latter can even be availed for pick-up from D'mall and other areas just by calling the hotel. The beach butler service was also unique to DSB.

The room we stayed at was both large and comfortable. There were both a king bed and single sized daybed. There was a balcony that overlooked the pool area. The room was so inviting so much so that my wife preferred to just laze around rather than to go out and enjoy the sights and sounds of Boracay.

If there was one thing that I noted could be improved was the food. We had breakfast twice and I ordered room service for supper and generally the food was quite bland and could use some more seasoning. The breakfast spread was certainly adequate with the usual Western and Filipino dishes.

Indeed the two days that my wife and I stayed at DSB were too short to truly enjoy the facilities and have that truly relaxing vacation. I look forward to the next opportunity to stay at Discovery Shores once more

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

One of the best beach front hotel i've stayed in. Staffs are great, they are very accomodating. I remember we checked out at the hotel to spend one more day at other station because we want to party all day. Yes we hate walking, but literally its not a long walk! The Discovery hotel staff drove us to our new hotel (not so nice hotel but worth just for a day) and they told us that they will pick us up after 2 days for our airport transfers.

If you want to relax this is a place for you. The location is far enough to the happening part of the island so you don't get noise. The beach is not so crowded compared to the other stations and its utterly perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Limu M,

Thank you for posting!

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Discovery Shores Boracay. On your next visit, we hope that you will make us your home away from home in Boracay.

Best regards,

Leeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

It was great to have stayed at Discovery Shores after visiting Boracay for a number of years now. I would usually stay in quaint and all boutique hotels and inns and keep things simple, since I would spend most of my days out on the beach, a so-so room would do it for me. But after staying at Discovery, you just can't stay anywhere else BUT here! It's perfect relaxing and I didn't have to venture far. I was attached to the room with the most inviting bed, a relaxing atmosphere and great service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesscdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

first class service all the way - from our arrival at the airport, the air-conditioned speed boat ride, the welcome drink, the friendly and attentive staff, the breakfast buffet ... i could go on and on, but words could never describe the wonderful experience we had at this resort. truly relaxing as we never had to worry about anything, cold drinks were provided, sunglasses were wiped clean, towels were perfectly laid out on the chaise each time we went back from the pool or the beach.

Room Tip: if you're looking for peace and quiet, avoid the rooms facing the pool area. it can get quite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dIuvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Without question one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From location to room to service it was pretty unbelievable. There are only 2 hotels in Borocay that you can chose if you are looking at high end which is Shangri-La and Discovery. I would say that Discovery should be your first choice.

First the location is amazing. It is close enough to the happening part of the island yet far enough so you don't get the noise. The beach is utterly perfect. In terms of the hotel it is a really nice across the board. The only exception was that during my time there they were doing something with the front bar which was an eyesore. Apparently this was due to a roof issue so should be fixed.

Finally the service was fantastic across the board. Everyone was friendly. A special thank you has to go to Mabeth who was the front office manager. She was very understanding of our issue in terms of booking online as well as the need to move to another hotel on the last day (no fault of Discovery but we had pre-booked months ahead and there was no rooms free. We would of gladly stayed an extra day but had pre-paid.) She was super nice and accommodating for our situation and capped off a perfect stay.

Overall best hotel I have ever stayed in. If you had to chose one hotel in Boracay this is your only choice.

Oh and it is great with kids as well.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on first floor so you can be right at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#5 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#7 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Property: Discovery Shores Boracay
Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing