We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Shall return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Ranked #20 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shall return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there for 3d/2n and it was a wonderful experience. They have the best spot along boracay beach minus the noise. The staff is wonderful! All guests are treated equally and with enthusiasm. The playground for toddlers is a big plus to this hotel! Keep up the good work, affordability and quality of service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Benilda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post a generous review!
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience on your recent stay with us, and we truly look forward to your "return" in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    222
    62
    12
    10
See reviews for
175
154
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our family of 8 adults and 2 kids (aged 2 and 3 years) stayed in 2 double-rooms and 1 suite room for a 4days/3nights vacation in Boracay. I have scoured the internet and tripadvisor to compare the hotels and find which one best suited our requirements. I chose this hotel because of a couple of reasons and it has definitely met my expectations.

Airport-Hotel Transfer:
The transfer was smooth. With a big group and small kids like ours, we were worried at first with lugging all our travel bags, suitcases and the kiddos. From the time we went out the airport Mr. Dante was quick on his feet to assist us. He was holding a sign and recognized us immediately. We were transported in a van to Caticlan jetty port and there we had to wait for not more than 5minutes while he gets the tickets for the boat then quickly showed us to the boat. Upon arrival at Boracay island the hotel shuttle was already there waiting to pick us up. We were welcomed at the hotel with shell necklaces and a cold fragrant face towel to freshen us up. A little later an ice cold tea arrived. These are details that definitely makes first good impression.

Rooms:
This is one of the reasons why we chose this hotel. It has 2 queen size beds which comfortably accomodates 4persons in it's double room. Unlike in most hotels which only has 1 double bed and the extra person should sleep on a mattress on the floor or on the couch, their double rooms definitely has an advantage. We had a room facing the garden on the 2nd floor and unlike the other reviewers here we didnt have any problem with a noisy aircon or roosters. We had a very good sleep in the comfy bed and the bathroom has all the amenities we need. I didnt hear my hubby and kids complaining even a bit so that was good. The suite room has a small dining area and kitchenette with microwave, fridge and a sink so it was convenient when we dont want to go out for dinner and just dine in the room. Twice we had our dinner cooked at D' Talipapa (oh how i miss the lobster, prawn and mussels) and we brought it in the suite room for dinner. My brother and his wife stayed in the suite room and aside from the dining area it has a bath tub instead of just shower, which i think they appreciated very much.

Location, Facility, Service:
The hotel has a quiet location at Diniwid beach compare to the busy and crowded Station 2. The shuttle is always on time to bring you and pick you up to D' Mall. The beach is smaller though and you cannot walk on the beach to go to the other resorts once it's dark and the tide is high. It wasn't a problem for us though because once it starts getting dark we get to enjoy the mango margaritas and free freshly cooked peanuts at the bar right in front of the beach. It's happy hour from 4-7pm which means you get your second drink for free and it's just right about the time to watch the magnificent sunset of Boracay. The lady didnt mention though that we could only have the same drink as our free second drink. So we ended up with two more cocktails than we could drink and someone got tipsy. But hey we're on vacation anyway!
Another main reason why we chose this hotel is their amenities for young kids. They have a small playground with swings and a slide, plus they have a pool and sand toys for the kids to play with. My tots were happy and satisfied just to play with the sand and water, sit on the side of the pool and play ball. A mother cannot ask for more than see her kids having fun and enjoying.
We are all satisfied by the service of the staff. I went to swim in the beach one time and when i was done and was walking back to the hotel the guard was alert to hand me over a clean warm beach towel to dry myself. One time we took the shuttle to go to D'Mall but on the way there we found out that we forgot my son's comfort pillow while he was playing in the lounge at the hotel. It would be a nightmare if we would loose it so we told the driver and he quickly alerted the staff back at the hotel. When we returned at the end of the day it was there at the reception waiting for us so we couldn't thank them enough.

Food:
The food at the restaurant is definitely good but pricey compare to restaurants in Station 2. My hubby had beef shoarma for lunch and he said it was one of the best meals he had during our vacation in the Philippines. I think the breakfast can be improved though. It was enough for us but not for our Filipino family. They missed the buffet breakfast you can have in other hotels.

We definitely recommend the hotel and might consider staying here again next time we're in Boracay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna_TobyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous and enthusiastic review!
We are truly happy to hear that you and your family, and friends enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon here in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was there on december 2009 for the new year, Borocay is a fantastic party island, and the Microtel Hotel is a really nice spot because is not in the center of all the noise! it's like 15 mins walking down the beach from the main party area and they also have a ride to take you there. The rooms are really nice, always clean nice bathrooms, nice everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santiagoariza1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and generous review.
We are most grateful for your excellent ratings and we look forward to welcoming you again here in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for 4 nights for a big family reunion, during Chinese New Year.
At the last minute one of family members didn't made it (the poor guy flew all the way from Denver to HongKong just to re-route his fight and go back home) so in total we were 6 adults and 4 kids (ages 5-6 months).

The place is beautifully located on a nice corner of the Diniwid beach, with great views and very convenient, inviting pool.
Its quiet and we loved that we are not in the middle of things. They have small playground for the kids, and sand-toys, and are really friendly to the little ones.
The food at the restaurant was very tasty for lunch and dinner although it took awhile until our dishes came out. The breakfast was just okay and we paid extra for the kids (230Pesos each) which we were a bit annoyed about (they were free in other hotels on this trip). A buffet breakfast would have probably been better.

The rooms were comfortable, with renovated showers and loud air-condition. We stayed at room 134 which faces the road so no view or veranda, and with roosters who woke us up at 0630am. The bed was way-too-soft: the type you fall in the middle and if you’re a couple than it’s not fun.

Next door, there is a construction site of a new hotel so during the days it was a bit noisy. We mainly noticed it when taking a massage, right on the beach (350pesos/1 hours).

The shuttle to town was easy to get, so we didn't care being far.

I think the main thing which got us a bit disappointed was the receptionist who was simply nasty. Since we had a No-Show of one of our family, we requested the reception to try and sell the room to any walk-in / last minute. In comparison to another hotel we stayed at during our vacation who replied to the same request with: ‘we can’t guarantee anything but we will try our best’, this receptionist was truly mean in her reaction. One of the mornings there was a confusion at the breakfast with our coupons, which made us think there is a chance she sold the room and that there is duplicity with the coupons; we asked her about that and she refused to reply. After that, any small thing we requested was badly answered by her.
Besides that lady, all the other staff were really nice and attentive.

I would recommend this place for families although their cost (more than 200US$ a night per room) is a bit too expensive, but maybe that was due to the Chinese New Year. We booked directly with the hotel website.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are great. if you are on the first floor, at least ask for the rooms with the ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaidush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share you recent experience with us.
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate encounters with our staff, and rest assure that your concerns will be addressed, and corrective actions taken.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Microtel for 3 nights and then moved to a hotel in Station 2. (We came in for another night before our departure). If we knew what kind of a hotel it is, we would stay there throughout our week-long holiday. So my advice is don't just look at the photos posted here, because those photos can't capture the coziness. I don't know why but the insides of this hotel don't look very beautiful in photos. Believe me, it's better than it looks in photos.

[Amenities]
Most of the stuff was new.
The housekeeping looked very good.
The room I booked was spacious and had two queen size beds. Only when I checked out their official website to book another night did I find that their beds are something they love to brag about.
The resting area was cozy, for you to read stuff and surf the web.

[Location]
We had some worry about the hotel's location when planning our holiday. That's why we booked only 3 nights. But the free shuttle transport service was available almost around the clock (from hotel to D'Mall). Plus, Diniwid Beach is a tucked away corner for you to relax, doing nothing and wasting time. We found some good restaurants nearby, even better than the ones in Station 2 (the hotel's own restaurant, and Nami's).

[Some Disappointments]
Breakfast: The breakfast they served was not much to expect. Just a set menu. This might be one of the few things that disappointed me during my stay.
Sleeping: When everything quieted down, we could hear some weak but noticeable buzzing sound coming from the electrical box (one in each room). For the first two nights, we pulled the keycard out of the slot to cut off the power and kill the noise. The roosters were so vigorous that they kept calling even at night. We got used to it anyway.

Room Tip: Better to book a suite; I don't know why but the A/C on the second floor is newer than that on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar Qiujie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are always eager to know what our guests liked about our hotel's facilities, amenities and services, as well as which areas we can improve upon to ensure that our guests would have the best hotel experience possible.
We look forward to welcoming you again in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

the best bar in Diniwid, Very friendly staff, best mango margaritas and good food! hilly recommended. we staid in the barocay beach house , so I can tell nothing about the hotel. bit far from the Dmall but if you are near by you com get best value for money . especialy in happy hours- from 4 to 7. pay for 1 and get 2 drinks !)))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_zayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the food and drinks at Mama's Fish House.
We look forward to welcoming you soon in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in Microtel for 5 nights in December 2012. Superb customer service both at the hotel and at the restaurant. The servers were very flexible with my kids' request during breakfast . A couple of times, they let me borrow their utensils when my kids want to eat inside our room.

They have a shuttle that goes to/from Talipapa, about a 10 minute ride. Or you can take a tricycle for 100 pesos,that's for the whole trip, not per person. The tricycle cost adds up so you might want to plan your trips to Talipapa. We also tried to walk along the beach where you have to walk along a narrow footpath on a rocky cliff to get to the other side but it was a challenge with small kids in tow.


Our room was spacious. We didn't pay for the view so I'm not going to rate them on that aspect. Love the free water right next to our door. We requested pillows, additional shampoos and they were delivered within a reasonable time. Minor thing, they dont' have complimentary toothpaste.

Overall, a pleasant and stay and will go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mytrips P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for writing your recent review. We really appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon here in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.4 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#40 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 145 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
1.2 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#5 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#6 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Address: Diniwid Beach | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Boracay is a beachfront Mediterranean-inspired resort. It sports a tropical island look and brings to its doorstep the white sand beaches, water sport activities, tropical beach night life and other island adventures. Microtel Boracay lends unmatched comfort to Boracay beach holidays, complementing the tropical vibe that Boracay Island is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Boracay Hotel Boracay
Microtel Inn And Suites Boracay
Microtel Hotel Boracay
Microtel Boracay
Boracay Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing