We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was our first time to go to Boracay, we shld have stayed at Station 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We searched the internet for good hotels around station 1 and 2, but since it was summer season, most of the hotels we wanted were fully booked or can not accomodate such a big group of 10. We saw the website of Microtel, and their service was great. Manila Booking office was very helpful in helping us get a great deal since my family and my sister's family totals 10. We were fetched on time and staff were friendly. We were able to get around because Microtel provides free shuttle service from the hotel to D'Mall area in station 2. This is were the action, fun, shops and restaurants are located. The problem was that the location is quite far from the main white beach. We were 10 jampacked into their van and summer is quite humid and hot. It takes around 20 minutes to reach D'Mall and the van is not airconditioned. We can smell the fumes of the tricycles too. So for first timers, I would suggest that you get hotel accomodation that is located in either station 1 or 2. Eventhough you have to pay more for it, it would be worth the travel time.

Regarding the beach front that is advertised by Microtel, I don't know why their beach front is that way. It is steep and inorder to prevent the sand from eroding, they have placed sandbags on it. It definitely does not look nice. Eventhough it was far, we can walk from the beach front of Microtel to Station 1 and station 2. Some parts are cemented walkways to enable the tourists to travel from beach to beach. Although it is tiring, you are able to see all the nice hotels and resorts along the way, like Fridays and Discovery Shores. Microtel is located at Diniwid Beach, and beside it, is Nami Resort. It is an experience to go up their elevator. The food is great at Nami Resort. We also went to Spider Cove, you have to pass thru a cave. Go there for the experience, but not the food. Its terrible. There is a way to just walk over to the other resorts, because they are interconnected along the shore line. Microtel food is just ordinary. We tried Boracay Steak House at Station 2, and it is truly delicious. Food at Andok's is reasonably priced and delicious too.
Microtel has no ref in most standard rooms, but drinking water and ice , you can get at the ground floor. They also provide 24 hours free coffee and tea.

Microtel chiropractic beds are really comfortable. But are the rooms clean ? It might look clean on the surface, but I killed a big cockcroach in our bathroom on our 2nd day. I would suggest that Microtel personnel be trained to really do the proper way of cleaning and sanitizing the rooms and toilets. My sister saw the bath towels being used to dry the toilet floors. Don't they have rugs for that purpose ? The supervisor replied that the girl was an "OJT" on the job trainee. And she also was folding the new towels on the sink, before placing them on the towel rack !! Are these industry practices ? We must remember to always bring our own towels next time we travel.

Anyway, we had a great vacation. Its not only the hotel, but the fun company that your are with, coupled with a sense of adventure that makes a perfect vacation. We definitely will go back to Boracay, with its oh so powdery white sand beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NomadgirlManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 599 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2008

Microtel was great! I with my family stayed in there for 6 days.. I have two daughters (teenagers) and they really enjoyed the location for it was in the beach front. But one of my daughters compliments about the location sometimes for it was too far from the bars and I would not let them( my 2 daughters) go to have a gimmick at night for the bars are far and the road is not lit up.. we also enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and my spouse really enjoyed the free shuttle (basically because she doesn't want taking long walks). For me, Microtel is great if you want a relaxing getaway (like me!), but if all you want to do is to drink from the bars, maybe.. don't expect it from the Microtel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mamats_laklimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

The hotel is average. It is a 10 minute walk down to White beach (not miles from anywhere) though after dark you have to catch the free hotel shuttle to get to any nightlife. It is clean but there are few facilities.

Annoyingly the free breakfast is awful. It is annoying because the cafe next door serves nice breakfasts and is owned by same person who owns the hotel but you have to pay US$6 each at the cafe for what should be the same breakfast as the hotel.

Microtel doesn't actually have a beach, just sand bags leading down to the water, and supporting the property which is quite close to the water.

The security guards are a bit overzealous too.

This hotel is adequate to stay in if booking late and if you're willing to accept a clean but basic hotel. If I had the choice and had booked earlier, I'd have gone to Fridays. (or even Nami next to Microtel which is also nicer)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LSBHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

Not really impressed...the hotel is located miles from anywhere with nothing else around the hotel apart from run down houses,there is a hotel shuttle bus but it takes at least 15mins to get into town, the journey being down a painfully potholed unlit dirt track...the pool is small but ok and the hotel has a nice beach frontage..the food and rooms are average,but there isnt much to do in the evenings at all..this hotel is ok but if you can find a similarly priced hotel in the centre of Boracay you would be better choosing this option...steve from manchester

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Melbsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Microtel is a fantastic place!
I stayed at Microtel with my families and we all loved it...The staff are friendly & excellent! It's a nice place to relax as it's very quite.
Microtel offers a free shuttle service. This is a great service & basically goes when you want to go or get picked up to return to the hotel.
If you are looking for an affordable priced stay within high quality and service, I would highly recommend Microtel on Boracay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChouChingMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Went there for a family vacation this Christmas season and not knowing what to expect of Boracay's other beaches aside from the famous Long beach, I was pleasantly surprised that Diniwid Beach offered something none of the more expensive hotels along that more popular stretch could offer - Privacy (and with that, I should add security too). Staying at Microtel turned-out to be a great decision. The beach was ok. It had a steeper slope but if your kids know how to swim then it wouldn't be any problem. We had 3 young kids who actually liked the pool more because it was kid friendly. What the hotel offered was security for the guests, making it possible for us to leave our stuff on the beach while we went exploring, knowing some beach security guy would keep an eye on them for us. Long Beach's southern tip was just 100 meters away, which is accesible by walking around a scenic cemented path carved out of the rocks. The food is nothing to rave about but it wasn't bad either. The breakfast buffet was better than Ponderosa but you shouldn't expect an extensive spread. The menu is limited but hey, Boracay offers lots of great restaurants so go out and explore! The service is excellent! If you are looking for the best hotel in Bora for a family with young kids, look no further. If you want people -watching and and easy access to Bora's night life, stay at The Tides.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank u-tak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

when I was searching the internet for a place to stay on Boracay I was looking for three things:

1) A small hotel out of the main area
2) A pool
3) beach front

& I found it at the Microtel. The hotel is small about 50 rooms, right on the beach & has a small pool. The rooms are not huge but have two queen beds & plenty of room. The bathrooms again aren't large but big enough for what you need.

The hotel is not on the main beach (white beach) but in a little cove around a small headland from station 1 & for me this was the winner. The beach (diniwid) has only 4 small hotels on it, the waters are calm & crystal clear & the beach is not crowded but perfectly relaxing! There are plenty of sunbeds on the beach for Microtel guests & plenty of shade if you need it under the coconut trees. The pool is also shaded of an afternoon which is a great relief to get out of the afternoon sun on the beach

The one thing that was a little disappointing is the food. The breakfasts are a little mundane, basically eggs, toast & jam with some asian dishes. The snack menu through-out the day is limited but the food is nice. I didn't eat dinner at the hotel as there are far too many nicer restaurants in station 2.
The hotel next door also does breakfast & lunch & I ate there a few times as the menu has more variety, like pancakes for breakfast & toasted sandwiched etc for lunch. the food was really nice & the place has a rustic charm to it.

Microtel offers a free shuttle service from 10am to 12am every day from the hotel to D'mall. This is a great service & basically goes when you want to go or get picked up to return to the hotel.
The drive takes around 10 minutes. There are also taxi-bikes available from outside the hotel, the charge is 100pesos from the hotel to D'mall & vice versa. There safe & there are always plenty available. At night walking to & from D'mall (station 2) via the road isn't an option, it is not lite up well especially the last few 100 metres from the hotel as it is practically on a dirt road. Also walking back along the beach at night isn't also recommended as the walk around the headland isn't lite up enough.
During the day however the walk from the hotel to Station two (D'mall, bars, cafes etc) by the beach is around 15-20 minutes.

Probably the best thing about the hotel is the staff! They are friendly & always attentive of your needs, they really make you feel safe.

For the price & location I don't think you could go past this hotel. It's not for everyone as if you want to be in the heart of the action this place isn't for you but if you want a relaxing place not far from the action then don't go past this place.

also just a few places to recommend. Lemon Cafe is fantastic for breakfast & lunch - it's in D'mall.
Paridiso grill, on the beach at station 2 is fantastic for seafood & the staff are great.
Bar wise, The bamboo Bar is great for pre-dinner drinks, very relaxing & at night it looks fantastic. A great place to party is Summerland, at the end of station 2 towards station 3.

In regards to the review below I felt perfectly safe staying at this hotel & in fact left cameras & wallets in the room during the day when the room was being made up & nothing went missing. There are also safes available which I used for passports etc. All hotel/resorts have security on Boracay so it's not just something that Microtel does.

Where ever you choose to stay Boracay is a fantastic place!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grantatmaroubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#23 of 151 in Boracay
1,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 151 in Boracay
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#29 of 151 in Boracay
367 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#53 of 151 in Boracay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Address: | Diniwid Beach, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $74 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel by Wyndham Boracay is a beachfront Mediterranean-inspired resort. It sports a tropical island look and brings to its doorstep the white sand beaches, water sport activities, tropical beach night life and other island adventures. Microtel by Wyndham Boracay lends unmatched comfort to Boracay beach holidays, complementing the tropical vibe that Boracay Island is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Boracay
Microtel Inn & Suites Boracay Hotel Boracay
Microtel Hotel Boracay
Microtel Boracay
Boracay Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing