We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dante, Boracay's Ambassador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Ranked #29 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Arriving at Caticlan Airport we were greeted by DANTE, the best guide anyone could ask for. He is so warm and trusting that I even allowed him to take charge of my priceless computer bag filled with my computer, work documents etc... (yes work and play). Visitors, please take note that the transfer fee microtel charges is well worth the money, especially with Dante as your guide. Microtel is located at the end of all the action, but don' worry. It is a blessing to have such peace and quiet. Plus there is a path one can take for a nice 20-minute walk to the party scene of station 2. Microtel offers a complimentary shuttle from the hotel to the D-mall/station 2. Be sure to get the cell number to the front desk and to reserve your shuttle time. NOTE--we had no problem securing our shuttle times (during a peak weekend time). The Microtel staff is WONDERFUL and they make you feel right at home, this is a great place to rest and relax (or even get some work done). Thank you to the ladies in the cafe and the very attentive housekeeping, security, etc etc....FRONT DESK is GREAT. Very very very clean and comfortable rooms.....Trust me, this place is a GEM.....a hidden diamond. Thanks Microtel. DANTE FOR PRESIDENT OF BORACAY.....Note---Emma will post her own review and will include pictures....

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your generous review. Coming from a Senior Contributor of Tripadvisor, this is music to us... plus ear-to-ear smile on Dante.

We do our best to provide all our guests with a best-value experience specially to those who are in Island for work and play. It is great to hear that you appreciated our staff and the quality of service we provide. We hope to see you again here in Microtel Boracay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 610 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arrival - Upon collecting our bags at the airport, we went outside to meet with their representative, Dante. He ushered us into a shuttle bus for a quick trip to Cagban port. Dante really goes out of his way to make guests feel welcome. He carried our bags for us, led us to our seats for a short wait while he arranged the boat transfer details, offered to take our pictures, and chatted with us and gave us useful traveler tips.

Check In - The shuttle trip to the hotel from the port took about 20-25 minutes. The ride was generally smooth and the few bumps we experienced was more due to the road conditions than the driving prowess of the driver. The hotel itself was pretty far and is located in the less touristy part of the island. Upon arrival at the hotel's back entrance, our luggage was carried for us and we were led to the front desk. We were given welcome drinks (iced tea smoothie) and welcome necklaces upon check-in. This was a nice added touch.

Room - The room was bigger than we expected and generally well-maintained. It was good value for money and definitely one of the well-priced hotels in the whole of the island (less than $100USD a night). The room had a simple, minimalist, utilitarian design which was tastefully done. The bathroom was spacious enough. The air conditioning can get noisy at night, which could hinder a good night's rest. The exhaust fan in the bathroom sounds like a heavy gust of wind. The shower takes about 3 minutes to heat up.

Other services - There is a shuttle transfer every 20 minutes which takes you to Station 2 - the center of the action in the island. You just have to reserve a seat at least 30 minutes before your preferred time. They also offer free coffee, tea, ice and filtered water at the lounge. There is a computer there with Internet connection. There is free wi-fi, but the signal is so weak that it doesn't work in the rooms. There is a mini library with books and magazines and newspapers on every lounge table. Massage services are also offered in-room.

Food - There is only one restaurant in the hotel, Mama's Fish House, which is where daily complimentary breakfasts are served. Breakfast is always between 2 choices, with the type of menu changed daily (Continental on Wednesday, Filipino on Thursday). The food is generally tasty but not great. The staff are generally attentive and friendly. The lunch menu is better. Try the Beef Steak and the Grilled Mahi-Mahi.

Beach - The beachfront is rocky and the water is full of seaweed. We opted not swim at the hotel's strip of the beach because of this. We preferred to walk 10-15 minutes to get to Station 1 and swim at the more pristine looking and more popular White Beach. The hotels located at Diniwid Beach (where Microtel is at) should try to fix up their area in terms of the beachfront.

Check Out - Checking out was a breeze. The only problem was the flooding that happened because of the rains the night before we left. A small lake formed right outside the hotel's back entrance and the muddy, dirty water reached your ankles. It was hard to walk through the flooding to reach the shuttle van to the airport, and we had no choice but to have our feet submerged in the dirty water. However, the saving grace was when the driver offered us a bucket of water and disinfectant to wash our feet with. This was another nice touch on Microtel's part. Another high point was the great service from Dante, as he helped us with our luggage and boat arrangements.

All in all, we had a good time at Microtel Boracay. I expected good things based on the reviews on TripAdvisor that I initially read. I'm happy to say that I wasn't disappointed and in fact, it was more than I expected.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RVSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you. It always feel great and humbling to know that our team was able to meet your needs and exceed your expectations in making your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your comment on noisy air conditioning will be addressed by our recent puchase of brand new units for replacement. Our beach situation is seasonal and changes for the better when monsoon season starts next month.

Again, thank you for your great review and for making Microtel Boracay your hotel of choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

U gonna regret booking this hotel. Its in d middle of nowhere and u only rely on their Strictly scheduled shuttle. Dont book here. Its way too far from the beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was our 5th year wedding anniversary celebration and our first time in boracay. Traveled with my husband and my 4-yr old son. Booked at directwith hotels and got the rainy days package. Room rate is reasonable... it was 120USD for a 3days/2nights stay with free set breakfast for two and transfers to and from the airport in caticlan. after booking, i emailed them for confirmation and got swift response from their manager everytime. when we arrived caticlan, we were greeted & accompanied right away to our van transfer to the port then to bora island then to the resort. although travel from port to resort took 20 mins. since the resort is located in diniwid... we did not mind as we wanted to see the town as well. when we arrived... we were given tokens-necklaces, welcome drinks and cold towels. checking in was a breeze. our rooms were ready. double room we got was clean and spacious. the beds are quite large and very comfortable. free wi-fi is very strong everywhere around the resort. unlimited coffee & tea at the lobby. staff are very friendly. pool is great - massage poolside was awesome i even fell asleep - just ask the receptionist for the service. location of the beach is far from stations 1-3 but is ok since they offer free shuttle transfers to and from d'mall almost every 30-min. intervals. also. island hopping offered to us by one of the 'kuyas' was only 1500php. every night, we took transfers to d'mall to have dinner - a lot of options. over all - we had a great time! we'll be back in boracay... will stay again with microtel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtnbnjnflrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you very much for the great review and for giving us opportunity to be part of your first Boracay family experience. We hope to see you during your next visit in Boracay!

Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

we have stayed on boracay for totally 9 nights and switched 3 hotels, 3 nights in Microtel. comparing with others, microtel is: for the good part, the beach is good, I love it. and the room rate is good comparing with the hotels in the same location. for the bad part, it is really noisy as the air conditioning is making terrible noise, I need to turn it off and use the fan. also the service is bad, I was checked the "room number" in the lobby everyday again and again, even I have stayed for 3 nights. I hate to be asked such stupid questions again and again, and it gives me a feeling that we are deeply untrusted.

Room Tip: af far away from the stairs as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easyfly_huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post review on your recent stay with you. We apologize for the noisy air conditioning in the room you've stayed at but please know that we recently purchased brand new units to resolve this concern. This will also perk up the quality of sleep we provide to our valued guests.

We do not mean to make you feel untrusted with our security check and shuttle reservation. Your comment will be addressed.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Everything is excellent including service, value, cleanliness and rooms except the location, which is far from the clubs and restaurants. You can walk but it is not safe taking the way to get to Station 1 because there are no lights and it's like a cliff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent visit with us. We are grateful for your excellent ratings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We checked in at Microtel Inn on 12 Feb 2012 for 4 nights and checked out on 16 Feb 2012. The room we get was room 201 which was on the 2nd floor. When we arrived there via the back lane, our first impression was "what a slump?". But minutes later, we discovered the resort area and we had forgotten our first impression. We were welcomed with cold towels, drinks as well as shell necklace. The hotel reception went through with us in detailed about the breakfast timing, free flow of coffee & tea, water dispenser, ice dispenser, wifi password as well as the timing of free shuttle service to D'Mall.
The surrounding is quiet and there's children playground as well as play area. Swimming pool is rather small but just 30 sec walk from the pool is the Diniwid beach which we enjoyed swimming. During the day, we walked to Station 1 (approximately 15 mins walk over the cliff) and from the cliff, you may see White Beach at Station 2 as well Willy's rock. Station 1 beach has lesser crowd and the water is crystal clear. But I personally prefer to sit right infront of Microtel Inn beach area to watch the sunset with other guests as well as some locals.
Our room had 2 queen sized, flat screen TV with over 50 channels to choose from and a bar fridge.
The only blunder we experienced was that we booked for the group island hopping through the resort which cost more than their "comissioners" selling all kind of packages by the beach. The group island hopping was in station 3 and when the itinary ends, nobody fetched us back from Staion 3 to D'Mall for our shuttle service back to the resort. We seek the beach police assistance to call the resort for our transportation but there seems to be misunderstanding of the pick up place. We end up race through to D'Mall as we've booked our shuttle bus at 4:20pm. We couldn't reach in time and missed the shuttle bus and so waited for the next timing which was 5:00pm. We waited till 5:20pm... We understand that if we didn't book the shuttle service and there's no other guests booked for the timing, the shuttle bus won't run. So, we had to take the tricycle that cost 100 peso. It wasn't the resort fault but please make sure to reconfirmed with whoever in charge of the tour (it is external vendors) who, how, when & where to be picked after the tour.
The Mama's Fish House restaurant staff were very friendly and accomodating with our meals as we had certain food restriction. Even the resort security were always smiling and never fails to greet us. Overall, we truly enjoyed our 5 days stay at Microtel Inn and missed the sunset view from room 201.

Room Tip: Room 201, 202, 203 and 204 has sea view and you can watch sunset right from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SyaDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,699 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
1.5 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#34 of 152 in Boracay
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#60 of 152 in Boracay
288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#27 of 152 in Boracay
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Address: | Diniwid Beach, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $66 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel by Wyndham Boracay is a beachfront Mediterranean-inspired resort. It sports a tropical island look and brings to its doorstep the white sand beaches, water sport activities, tropical beach night life and other island adventures. Microtel by Wyndham Boracay lends unmatched comfort to Boracay beach holidays, complementing the tropical vibe that Boracay Island is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Boracay Hotel Boracay
Microtel Inn And Suites Boracay
Microtel Hotel Boracay
Microtel Boracay
Boracay Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing