We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Carmela fails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Carmela de Boracay
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the second time that I stayed in La Carmela. The first one was with my husband and our daughter in 2011. We had no issues with the room probably because we stayed in the executive wing. The only minus point then was the breakfast which is really terrible and the hallway which is very dark...

This time I went there together with my office mates. We were given 3 rooms in the 4th floor of the old building. Our group stayed in room 432 and the first night was really terrible. The aircon because of its size could not cool the room. I was up all night fanning myself. We couldn't sleep because of the heat (this was in June-almost end of summer...imagine how it was in April and May ...ouch!). We went to the reception to request for a change... it took them quite sometime to respond to our request (I would give them a terrible rating in customer service had it not for the manongs in engineering and the kuya who patiently helped us find a new room). We were given room 426 which is smaller (reason why the temperature was better) but still not at par with what you are expecting in a decent room. I hope the management would look into this issue. maybe it's time to renovate and do a quality check on your rooms (consider the size of the room when buying an aircon-seriously!). And please, kindly check on your breakfast menu.. it is far from being a decent breakfast... I see food being wasted because people oftentimes would not finish what they got. It does not need to have too much on the menu as long as the food is palatable. I would probably refrain from booking a stay in La Carmela for the meantime ... I might ruin a perfectly planned vacation...

Room Tip: Always check the aircon before you agree to stay in the room... the rooms we stayed are located in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Buchi_Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We got a free upgrade from a Family Room to a VIP room since our room wasn't ready yet when we checked in. It is a multilevel room with 1 twin bed, 3 king size beds, 2 full bathrooms, 2 mini fridge, and a balcony. We were given complimentary breakfast during our 2 days stay. The staff are polite and accommodating. I am rating La Carmela as average because of a few inconveniences - the a/c on the 2nd level wasn't functioning properly and it is disappointing that the semi-private mini pool wasn't working as well. The complimentary coffee and sugar packets was also infested with ants but the housekeeping crew came right away to clean it. La Carmela is strategically located at Station 3 with many outdoor activities to choose from. We had a good stay but we will check out other hotels the next time we come back to Boracay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Janeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is a beachfront hotel in station 2 so it is ideal for for those who would like to be in the middle of all the happenings in the White Beach area and the island. Its location is the main reason why we chose the resort. The room that we stayed in had all the things that we needed except free Wi-Fi (which is offered with a fee). Compared to the other beachfront hotels in the area, I believe that it's one of the cheapest, but it's not also very cheap. It's just right or appropriate in terms of location and amenities present. However, given the room rate per day, I believe that free Wi-Fi should be included. The staff were attentive and courteous. We planned this trip to celebrate my father's birthday, so we surprised him with a small chocolate cake on the day of his birthday, and the staff helped us to execute the plan. In addition, it was good that they provided water dispensers in many parts of the hotel. Overall, we had a good stay. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingEray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

La Carmela is conveniently located at the station 3 beachfront. Though some of the staff are friendly but training in service oriented business needs a lot of improvement. Room is very small, not even a glass or a cup was not readily available inside the room, you need to ask for them to give. Basic thing like hot water flask and hair dyer not even provided. Breakfast is very poor. You need to fire your chef!!!!! Its totally non appetising and no taste. One new crew even spray dettol in our table because she saw a stain while we are still eating. Pissed off that time.
Toilet is also averagely clean. You cannot enjoy showering because water pressure is very poor.
Overall, i can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenz1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your candid experience.

Please accept our apology if we have not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

Room is very small - We have big rooms/higher category of rooms that are more spacious than the standard rooms at a different room rates. We are focused on budget conscious travelers but our hotels have other categories to cater to specific needs of guests if they wish to book to a higher category of rooms. Our website provides information on the type of room and the corresponding room rates so that everyone will be guided accordingly.

Hot water flask and Hair dyer not even provided - These are available upon request at the front desk.

Breakfast is very poor - As much as possible, we would like to meet the food expectations of our guests. However, what is delicious to one may look awful to another person. Our complimentary breakfast is comparably the same to, if not above, the standards offered by Boracay resorts in the same category. Although it is complimentary, La Carmela de Boracay does not disabuse it; please consider that guests in big hotels in Hong Kong and Singapore are treated to a complimentary breakfast by way of a meal coupon redeemable at a food joint near the hotel.

Much as we would like to provide good services and reasonably priced room rates, there are still areas in our operation that may we need to improve. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your Boracay vacation and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service. God Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Though the place is a little bit crowded ( we booked timely during a convention when the place was exclusively use by delegates ) but cost wise it is very affordable. The location at Station 2 is perfect too. The shore is just a stone throw away. I love swimming in a pool, but I dislike their pool's location which is in front the hotel , along the road. over-all the place is nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room fronting the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracefulwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us.

We are glad to know that you remarked our resort, the affordable rates we offer, swimming pool and our beachfront location and your overall stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again here at La Carmela de Boracay on your next Boracay vacation. God Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Cockroaches inside our bathroom is so big. I got really scared! Stayed at room A6 on June 17-19, 2014. Worst breakfast buffet. The place where to eat breakfast smells awful and the food is gross. There's even cockroach on it! We called the attention of the waiter to report the issue but he didn't even went back for us. I just don't want to waste time arguing with the staff because it's our first time to Boracay! Never ever gonna stay here again. Such a nightmare!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mealtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your honest feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had experience during your stay with us. We have investigated this incident but unfortunately you have not raised your concern to our front desk for proper action. Our guests are our number one priority at the property and if someone is dissatisfied with their experience, we work very hard to correct this immediately.

We hope you will give us another chance to let you experience our better service on your next Boracay vacation. God Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Okay. So, I am writing this as an American, not a Filipino. So a Filipino, this might be very average or possibly considered like a budget hotel. To me however, this was definitely lower than a Motel 6. I am just giving my perspective. You see beautiful pictures online, making you feel like this is some 4 star resort. It's super crowded, tons of kids running around, the buffet is chaos, the AC barely works, they are super stingy with towels and toilet paper, there is no fridge or amenities in the room, and they do not clean your room. We stayed almost a week and it was never cleaned, even when requested once.

I will say that the buffet is nice, but oh dear Lord! Crowded. The close proximity of the beach is excellent, and it's right next to the tourist center, I will give it that. But if you're wandering why the price is so low, there is a reason.

If you want something nicer, go to station 1 and pay a little more. It won't be swarming with people, and hopefully you won't have to beg for toilet paper or sweat at night.

Oh, and henna tattoos. Think twice about getting one, because the first day it WILL get into something and they WILL charge you if the henna gets on the sheets. And trust me, it will.

Room Tip: The balcony has no privacy, you will find people constantly walking by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thekryingonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#45 of 151 in Boracay
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#35 of 151 in Boracay
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#53 of 151 in Boracay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#124 of 151 in Boracay
159 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#51 of 151 in Boracay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $45 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing