We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Crowded. Far from the places you would want to be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crowded. Far from the places you would want to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family. Rooms are clean. Staffs are nice but the reception area are always crowded. Too many korean guests that they serve kimchi for breakfast, but thats ok, koreans are nice and i like kimchi, its just that it would be nicer if they can control the crowd. When you arrive, you expect that you get a warm welcome, but because of the crowd, you'd have to request for your welcome drink. Not a good welcome, i must say.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessicapando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    263
    355
    147
    145
See reviews for
362
202
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Excellent hotel for value for money. The only plus factor in this hotel is the location and the price. Located at station 2 you are in the middle of the island. A few steps from D Mall and nearby popular shops and resto. The service is slow considering there are a lot of visitors especially during peak seasons, so expect the crew to be super busy. I tried the breakfast and buffet lunch and dinner, my recommendation is dine somewhere else. A good choice for budget travel

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms as they are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MheloMD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in La Carmela for over a week. After reading all reviews we were a bit pushed off with this hotel, but since we came in we were positively suprised. Excellent location, nice hotel overview, clean with friendly staff.

Our standard room is not too bad, maybe old fashioned but bathroom need small improvement ( especially shower).

Generally, hotel is really good, close to everywhere, good service, rooms got everything what you need ( tv, balcony, safety box, fridge etc).

What we didnt like is the breakfast. Overcrowded, Europeans cant find here anything, all food is only for asians, so maybe if the hotel wants also guest from Europe they need to think of adding some different food not only heavy asian meals, maybe some cheese would be nice or vegetables?


To sum up, we're satisfied, i cant image choosing different hotel for this price!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAB_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service. We are looking forward to serving you again in your next Boracay vacation. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is central on White Beach. For it's location their price is definitely a good value. Service is average but the staff is very courteous and respectful.

My main beef with them is the NOT free wireless internet inside your rooms and the NOT free beach towels (you have to pay each time you want clean ones too,)

Otherwise, this hotel rates well, I think.

I do appreciate that the they allowed early check-in for my family when we arrived 11AM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctipen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your candid experience during your stay with us. About your concern with our WIFI, we only provide free access on the restaurant, poolside and on premier west lobby. Beach towel rental fee is part of our hotel policy, but it was just affordable for all our guests. Overall, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed vacation with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at La Carmela for 3 nights, we have the executive deluxe room in the executive wing. This I believe was their new building which is located at the back so its a long walk to the beach. Room features are just average. We just have some problems with the bathroom though. The water from all the faucet were dirty, I don't know if its sand coming out from it but its kinda brownish color. Even the water from the toilet have this. We then have to call some assistance to the lobby to fix it. Breakfast buffet seems to be just repeating its menu everyday. A long walk also when going to D'Mall and station 1.

Overall, just an ordinary hotel, service and cleanliness should improved and a long walk to the bars and restaurant at D'Mall.

Room Tip: choose a room in the main building its nearer on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is the 5th time I have been to "Boracay", and 1st time staying at the La Carmela.

All I can honestly say is that "Location is great" being right in front of the beach and service isn't too bad. Other than that, everything is just average.

The Bad...

1: The room that we got when we arrived (raining at the time) was actually leaking. The rain was coming in even though the window was close and the bathroom was looking like it is in need of a serious cleaning. We did get transferred to another room after calling reception and an inspection from one of the staff to may sure the room was actually leaking.

2: The floor feels like it hasn't been thoroughly clean in a very long time like the bathroom.

3: The aircon was very noisy and pretty sure wasn't working as our room just never got cold, even if you leave it running while you're out and about.

The Good...

1: Service was good. Staffs were helpful and friendly.

2: They up-graded our breakfast coupon to buffet (really appreciated).

3: The hotel is right in front of the beach and close enough to everywhere.

Overall, if they only maintain the hotel I guess it can be a great place to stay and other than that, as I have mentioned above. "Good location and Good service".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geruel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good location, beach front. Rooms are quite crowded but still okay. Staffs are hospitable, they entertain your requests (cleaning, change sheets, etc.). They even allowed us to leave our things in their premises so we can roam around and kill time before our flight back to Manila.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#34 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#47 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.5 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#29 of 145 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Property: La Carmela de Boracay
Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, ETB, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing