We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Poor....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Carmela de Boracay
Ranked #88 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Not as I expected it should be...the location was great but the hotel itself was poor in quality...breakfast needed to be upgraded to be able to have a buffet, otherwise will be given in set... not recommendable

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mc42000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    304
    383
    155
    150
See reviews for
389
217
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Imagine that I had to request three times (8am, 2pm, and 6pm) the housekeeping to clean the room. Their own staffs seemed not familiar with their own policy as they should have reminded me to sign that MUR as prerequisite before cleaning the room. The first time I called, the staff said, 'ppnta n po'. The second staff on my second call (I am already disappointed this time) asked if its okay to clean the room without my presence and I said, go ahead. I left to do some water activities hoping that when I get back everything would be in order but that didnt happen. The third time I called the housekeeping, the staff said they lined up my request but the front desk didnt respond to their call to confirm my presence daw. I was really pissed off this time so I called the front desk to request for their manager. The front desk then asked me if I already signed that MUR and what really annoyed me was that nobody from the housekeeping dept verified the same. It was so easy for me to sign that [--] paper if only they have asked me in my first request. Now, I asked the front desk for the manager but she insisted several times that housekeeping will be coming then to clean my room. This damn girl didnt understand my request that I had to insinuate my need to talk to their manager. The supervisor appeared and apologized but my concern is that i went there to spend my vacation and to relax that I chose their place to spend it. Unfortunately, I was upset and worst is I had to be there while they were cleaning the room.

If I were you, I would try other hotels and la carmela would be last on my list. I also dont see myself going back there anytime soon unless they are the only hotel with vacant rooms in which I strongly doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arsenio 'John' B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

last mother's day - took my mom (with my daughter and husband) to Boracay. Although it was raining (storm in fact) we had a good stay. Booked a Loft at the new wing of La Carmela - very clean and spacious. Resto was open all night and pool(s) were clean. Over-all - very good. Value for money also : )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bam086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Tomas, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good Price for being a Beach Hotel
Good Littel Pool in front of Restaurant and Hotel
Quiet rooom at the back side
Room ok, but not new.
Restaurant is good, with fair price
Charge for paying with Creditcard 6-7%
So be sure u have Cash
Atms can be offline/out of cash
weather always overcast when we are there on Boracay hmmm

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasdk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although we did not actually stay here, I would just like to share my views about the resort's delicious lunch buffet.
After island hopping, me and my friends are already tired and hungry. we were planning to go as far as station 1 to search for good food. then we saw and stumbled upon La Carmela's lunch menu for the day. not bad for P285.00 per person so we got ourselves seated and eating. Asian and Italian dishes were served that day. the meals were light and beautifully presented. the desserts are not so bad too. my favorite is the tuna mango salad, the lettuce is crunchy and the mango salsa sauce is perfect. oh, and the buffet comes with unlimited iced tea also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LianneBorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been to Bora a bunch but usually stay at our local favorite secret just a few doors down. This time, due to a mix up and fully booked statuses, we bought one of those voucher deals online. We ended up with 3 adults (could have had 4 for no extra charge) and an infant with 2 breakfasts included (they were not good at all though, but we didn't expect them to be) for around $48 dollars per night including tax which is a deal, especially being right on the beach. They have a nice pool that kids can swim in. The room, specifically the sink needs a lot of work and they still have an old t.v. but we were not there to hang out in the room except to shower, change, or sleep. The room has a mini refrigerator and a safe which come in handy. Great location for island hopping, getting to d'Mall for restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. Friendly staff. We were pleasantly shocked to see how quiet our room was inside compared to how noisy it was outside.

Room Tip: We had one on the second floor just above the check in desk. Noisy outside the room, but inside was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyguy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just looks on pictures in their website it looks okay not a five star hotel but it's fine for 3d2n stay, but when we got there... terrible! what we have is an "executive" room sounds nice huh? all we got is a four cornered dark room with a view of the next building wall. Too far from the pictures in their ad... Breakfast? forget about it! even the buffet if you upgrade, nuh! The overall cost is cheap but still you will feel that you have been robbed at the end of the day. The only and probably the best thing they can boost about this hotel are their STAFF! excellent for them 5 star experience; if not for them I would classify this hotel as a prison cell

Room Tip: We've been to Boracay courtyard hotel a few years ago almost same price but better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardEspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 146 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.3 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#40 of 146 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#35 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Property: La Carmela de Boracay
Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing