We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Boracay Vacation Yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sur Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sur Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Boracay Vacation Yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Those who have been to Boracay will confirm that its finest white sand beach is an experience that’s worth telling about and experiencing again. This year, my wife and I vacationed from New York and returned to Boracay for a four day-three-night say at Sur, a new beachfront resort on the best beach front location there, Station 1. Sur is a 14 room resort (with 6 additional rooms finishing soon) offering outstanding value to those who appreciate location, comfort, clean functionality, coziness and friendly service that enhances one’s Boracay experience.

Getting to Boracay from Manila involves a 30 minute domestic plane ride to Kalibo, an hour’s bus ride to Caticlan (the tourbus shows a movie which you cant finish before arriving at Caticlan), a 10 minute boatride to the island and another 15 minute multicab ride thru the town to your destination beachfront. Checking in Sur is like coming home to one’s family beach house, complete with welcome smiles of the staff who will quickly take the luggage to your room, offer you a welcome cool juice drink and introduce you to the two shaggy dogs who will look at you with approving eyes before continuing their beauty sleep.

The attraction of Sur comes from how clean and comfortable the place is. The lounge area floors are kept sand free all the time. The rooms are large with big closets, a cable tv and a mini fridge. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, the bedsheets and towels are white and clean and changed daily, the air conditioning cool and quiet, the cold and hot water works the whole day, and the bathroom fixtures are American standard.

Located at Station 1, Sur is far enough from the madding crowd and blair of pop music, fast food and trinket shops to enable one to enjoy the beautiful beach in peace and tranquility. Staff will happily put out beach chairs for you on the beach or let you enjoy the cabanas which are by the well stocked outdoor bar offering fresh coconut juice mango juice as well as your cocktail drink of choice. The best two rooms at Sur are the two suites with balconies facing the beach, offering a fantastic view of the Boracay sunset form the comfort of your room. The roof deck offers a higher view of the beach and provides a romantic place to have a small private dinner party under a canopy of stars.

Our stay at Sur was on a non-peak season during the monsoon month of August, which turned out to be great since the usually placid water was surfy and there was always a cool breeze going all the time. Swimming was fine and the sailboats and sailboards were running fast.

Staff at Sur were polite and friendly, from the uniformed guard to the front desk supervisor Desiree. Of course adding to the homey ambiance is the presence of Josephine Tirol, resident manager co-owner…the soul of Sur.

Sur provides a complimentary breakfast meal to start the day. Part of the Boracay experience is to walk around and try lunch and dinner offered in restaurants and other bigger resorts nearby. We preferred to eat at Sur, while it is not a full scale restaurant,
one can arrange to have lunch or dinner prepared there. We had our fill of seafood.. oysters, clams, jumbo shrimp, crabs and fish all sourced from the local market and prepared by the house chef. Our meals at Sur enabled us to have conversations with other guests on common interests and topics.

We are glad that a place like Sur exists in Boracay, clean comfortable, cosy and friendly, providing the right amenities to make ones Boracay beach experience something to remember and look forward to experiencing again. We highly recommend Sur.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank bristolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    121
    27
    4
    9
See reviews for
116
92
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

I've known Boracay 18 years ago when it really deserved to be called Paradise. Today, with the massive construction work that has converted this once idyllic island into a mini-city, it is very rare to find peace and quiet. Sur was recommended to us by a friend. It is on the island's Station One with its own beachfront and far from the bustle of Station Two's cafes, bars, restos and stores. The resort is small but because of its size and design, it felt more like home than a hotel. When we arrived, I dreaded the construction work at the back and I earnestly asked for a quiet room. They gave us one that I had to vacate the next minute because of incessant hammering but they did not hesitate to upgrade us to a bigger room, far from the construction noise. The staff were so accommodating, ready to please and to be of service. The resort has clean rooms, simply decorated with modern amenities like tv and airconditioning. I relished the fresh-smelling bedsheets and towels that were changed everyday. Breakfast is correct with options for omelettes and pancakes. There is no restaurant in this resort but they have a small menu for sandwiches, pasta and noodles - perfect when you crave for light meals or when you don't really feel like going out. Meal prices were half the price of the neighboring resort. If Sur continues the way it is (with more rooms as soon as the new wing is finished and some minor renovation work in the old wing), I'm sure that its one of the best places to stay in Boracay. And in an island where the best things are free - the white sand beach and the magnificent skyline, Sur offers the best value for money for accommodations.

  • Liked — Simple, clean and quiet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Loubat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

My trip to Boracay last August was my first. My firends and i initially planned to book with another resort but after reading through tripadvisor.com and comparing that resort's review and SUR's, we unanimously decided to stay in SUR.

And we weren't disappointed.

Our transfers from Caticlan to Boracay went without a hitch. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by the friendliest staff and with welcome drinks to boot. Since we arrived early (before check-out time) and the beachfront room we booked still had its occupants, we were escorted to one of the standard rooms to stay in temporarily. Just being in their standard room was already impressive. The sheets were immaculate. the bathroom was roomy and the room was overall cozy. I wouldn't have mind to stayed there for the rest of my vacation. So imagine my reaction when we got to their superior beachfront room. The best room in the resort with an overlooking balcony. I simply just wanted to stay snugged in the sheets and enjoy the view from the room the whole day.
All the staff were very courteous, helpful and eager to please. It's as if they had a perpetual smile on their faces everytime i come across them. The lobby was spacious, airy and my friends and i even had a fun time with their board games, especially the "sungka" sets.
Our breakfast plates were delivered to our rooms so we can enjoy eating them on the balcony while taking in the morning sun.
Overall, my first experience in Boracay was completely surreal and was made even more special because i stayed in SUR.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank stan_manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muntinlupa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

it was our first time to have a trip to boracay and at first i am so worried finding a nice hotel/resort to stay with at first i tried looking around station 3 since i dont have any reference or whatsoever but then one of my friends told me to try to find a place in station 1- and luckily of all the resorts i tried to look and compare prices and alas i found Sur, looking at their resorts info and rates it really answered what i need and looking at their photos i know the place is cozy and nice and at the same time i have all their reviews and that made me more interested to stay on their resort, and surely i would say i was not frustrated me and my partner were truly happy and satisfied with our stay, peeps were great very accomodating and the place is so clean and well maintained. we will surely choose sur as our resort the next time we go to boracay.

  • Liked — people, place
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank w_gmbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

I will not be staying at the Sur Resort again.

After arranging the round trip transfer from Caticlan via email, and confirming this three times with them, they were a no show when we arrived at Caticlan. We had to arrange our own transport and when we finally arrived at Sur, they denied this and tried to tell me I had asked for the two rooms only. (I had also specifically asked for ONE room - this was also "confirmed" via email with them).

Via email I was also told they cater for vegetarians... Which was a different story once we got there. We were told they "didn't do that"..

During our stay there there was no water in the bathrooms, so we were given buckets filled with water by the staff.
The rooms were clean but the shower was moldy.

Also, there was a lot of construction noise coming from next door. But I understand this is not Sur's fault.

Unfortunately, we did not see any of the service the other reviews raved on about. We were all very disappointed with our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenina106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surboracay, manager at Sur Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2007
It is unfortunate that Bambi has decided not to stay at Sur anymore. We wish to assure Tripadvisor, however, that Bambi’s experience as our guest is the exception rather than the rule. Allow us to reply to her review.

1.She and her three companions were not met in Caticlan because of a miscommunication between Sur and Island Star. The reservations officer is quite sure that she faxed the flight schedule to them.
2.Sur had reserved 1 room, but the reservations officer decided to block off two rooms instead since this was what Bambi reserved for earlier and since we were not fully-booked, so she could choose whether to stay on the ground floor or the second floor. Unfortunately, this was not relayed to the front desk officer who was on duty.
3.Sur does prepare food for vegetarians upon request.
4.For two nights in July, Sur and other resorts located in a particular stretch of Boracay’s White Beach all had no water because a main water pipe of the Boracay Waterworks and Sewerage System (BWSS) burst. The problem began in the morning of July 20. The BWSS did not inform Sur and the other resorts about the situation.
We not only explained the problem to our guests, but we also apologized for the inconvenience it caused them, and had our staff bring in water in buckets from elsewhere for their use. By the morning of July 22, the broken pipe was repaired and water flowed again. BWSS neither explained nor apologized for what happened.

We regret that all our efforts and apologies were not good enough for Bambi. We are just mystified that just before her group checked out of Sur, her companions wrote messages in our guestbook and had only good words to say about their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

Our stay at SUR resort was great! There were 25 of us in the group (all family) and so you would expect us to make a lot of noise esp. with all the kids. But the SUR staff was very patient with us. Thank you! We had most of our meals cooked there too and they did a good job. I also loved the location of the resort which was just across from the beach! Our beachfront room was awesome too and always clean. We hope we could come back again next time we visit family in the Philippines. Thank you to the owner and staff of SUR.

  • Liked — great location, facilities, cabanas, staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkansasdiwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

The worst part about the trip to Boracay is that security concerns have prevented the tourists from landing on the island at the resort fronts. Arriving at the resorts from the back just isn't as scenic. Once you hit the lobby though, you'll recognize the view from the website. That said, SUR is a wonderful resort sure to please everyone. A few reasons why this is _the_ place to stay at:

1. The food is good - Sur offers complimentary breakfasts and I highly recommend the Filipino breakfasts because the longganisa is sweet and the vinegar on the side comes with fresh garlic. The pancakes are great too; the chocolate pancakes are fluffy but substantial and satisfyingly chocolatey all the way through.

Apparently you can even ask them to prepare something for dinner and they'll go to the market and everything. (Note: this isn't part of the regular service but it won't cost you an arm and a leg either.)

2. The staff is courteous and eager to please. They can hook you up with island tours, massages, direct you to the butterfly farm, and they have board games on the tables in the lobby too.

3. The rooms are great. The linens are ridiculously soft. The pillows are plump. The staff cleans thoroughly - no small feat given the sandy location. If you can, try to reserve either rooms A1 or A2. Absolutely wonderful.

4. Green-minded tourists take note: The staff asks that the guests be conscious of the air conditioning unit's status when you leave for the day and hot water in the bathroom comes from a solar water heater. How cool is that?

5. The view. How can you possibly go wrong with what you'll see from the roofdeck? Or from the lobby? Or from the cabanas or lounge chairs?

6. The sense of total relaxation. See #5. It's hard to argue against doing anything more taxing than spending the day just chilling once you get there. If you want to take a break from the world, this is where you want to be.

The resort's attention to details - check out the artistry that went into the rocks and plants around the place, and ask about the theme of the resort - is evident in everything they do. Make a reservation - calling them gets you a faster answer than email - and go. You won't regret it.

  • Liked — solar water heater, very soft sheets
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bora05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.7 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#50 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
#22 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#21 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur Beach Resort

Property: Sur Beach Resort
Address: Station 1, White Beach, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sur Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and personal, Sur lets you experience the gentle side of bustling Boracay. Airy open spaces and gardens. Clean, cozy rooms. Friendly service. And a premium beachfront location at Station One, the island's finest stretch of white beach. It's no wonder our guests tell their friends about us, and keep coming back themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sur Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Beach Hotel Boracay
Sur Beach Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing