We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boracay Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Boracay Tropics Resort
Ranked #25 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Boracay Family Vacation”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My family and i booked a 2 night stay package for our Boracay family vacation. Avoid the hassle and get those land/boat transfers (up to the hotel) included in your package. Alternatively, Kalibo and Caticlan airports have service providers. Southwest Tours seems to be the biggest and reliable operator. We came from Kalibo and it costs P450.00 per adult one-way or P900.00 round trip. Be prepared to tip if you allow the airport/boat porters to carry your bag. P20.00 per bag is reasonable. After a one hour and 45 minute trip in a nice coaster van, we got to the Caticlan jetty port. Someone from the hotel met us and escorted us up to the hotel's own boat, a small motorized wooden boat, that brought us for the short/safe trip to the island. Then we were met by the driver of the hotel and rode a small pick-up truck, the flat bead had a roof with back to back seats (this may not be to everyone's liking). By the way, there is a one-time environmental fee of P75.00 per person at the jetty port. There is also a P50.00 terminal fee per person each way. This resort hotel is not a beachfront property. It is located along the main road in a zone they call Station 2. At the center of the property is a nice swimming pool surrounded by a manicured garden with lots of plants/trees, giving it a tropical island atmosphere. There are three clusters of hotel-type rooms and some other stand-alone rooms with more amenities. Our room was in Bldg. B and had two double beds with a cable TV, mini-bar and a balcony overlooking the pool. But it had poor wifi reception, a noisy wall-type A/C unit and a foul smell every time you flush the toilet. The buildings only have three floors with no elevators. So the older folks should get a ground floor room. There is only one entrance/exit which is for security reasons. The buffet breakfast spread has a limited selection but good enough to start the day. All the staff are polite and willing to help. The beach itself is about a 5 minute walk along an unpaved road (lots of puddles of rainwater) beside the hotel. Station 1 is a good place to swim which is less crowded. Lots of restaurants/shops near the hotel. If you do not mind the walk to the beach and want a decent place to stay at a reasonable price, i would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Bldg. C is newer so the A/C unit must be newer (meaning less noise). But do not expect any good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyHyndman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    167
    46
    12
    8
See reviews for
128
139
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Best Western Boracay Tropics Hotel is a clean, well-managed, four-story hotel which lacks an elevator, but has a strong, friendly staff to assist with carrying your luggage up and down from your room. The entire hotel is marketed with signage everywhere stating: NON-SMOKING HOTEL, so there is no smoking in the guest rooms, but smoking is tolerated by the poolside. The out-door swimming pool was large, clean, warm, and inviting. The clean and spacious Dining Hall provided a wonderful daily breakfast buffet at 7 am sharp, complete with omelets made to order, with attentive service. The hotel rooms are clean and spacious for the money, with a comfortable king-size bed, but not luxurious furnishings. The CR however, has a giant full-flow rain shower head, which is just what anyone would desire when it came time to get cleaned up from after a day at the beach. During early October the nightly room rate was approximately USD $60.00 for low season rates. The only negative item is the hotel's location requires a 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach. During your stroll to the beach be prepared to share the narrow brick road with various small motorized vehicles (motorcycles, trikes, micro utility trucks), while breathing their carbon monoxide flumes. I could have saved myself a lot of time and money by simply staying in Manila if I wanted to breathe vehicle exhaust flumes each time I step out to go to the beach. The proximity of the hotel to the Main Island Road will also ensure that you will have trike road noise 24/7 because this town does not sleep. The next time I go to Boracay, I will get a room which fronts the beach, even if I have to pay more for it.

Room Tip: If you have orthopedic or cardiac health issues, be sure to ask for a ground-floor room, as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I booked a 6 bedded dorm room for myself and five friends... I had expected it to be cramped - instead it was very spacious, modern and elegant.

We were welcomed upon check in and a glass of iced tea was brought up to the room. The room had a flat screen tv, air conditioning, a modern bathroom with good shower pressure. The only struggle was sharing one bathroom between 6... Also it would be useful of the hotel left an adequate supply of toilet roll.

There was wifi which was free and available from the public areas. The pool area is lovely, even at night time. It felt very tropical and a very pleasant resort - it did seem very quiet, even at breafast time the hotel didn't seem to be that busy.

We took a massage in the hotel spa, which cost approx £10 per person for 1 hour and was arranged witin 15 minutes notice. I was very impressed with the facilities. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and this was included in the rate. Well worth it if you are a group of people travelling together and don't mind sharing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

boracay tropics just made my holiday enjoyable and relaxable.just the right place!!!not too expensive and staff are very polite.we have been stranded for a night because of the bad weather but boracay tropics staff made it sure that one of their staff guides us till we check in.breakfast is outstanding too..i would not hesitate to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: stay in theor cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1979_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My bf & I stayed in Boracay Tropics from Sep 19-23, 2011. We were met by our guide in Caticlan Airport. He took care of our luggage and he arranged our transpo (tricycle) to the port area. Then he paid for our ferry fare and when we reached Boracay, the hotel service vehicle was already waiting for us.
We stayed in one of their 4 cabana rooms. I loved it! It has a hammock at the balcony. The room was also in front of the pool. The place was really nice. And the hotel staff were all very polite.
The hotel was like a 5-10 mins walk to the beach. It's in station 2, near to station 3. There's Allan B tours nearby which we hired to arrange for our island hopping & sunset sailing. There were many restaurants & bars nearby. You will never run out of place to go.
The food was ok. I had dried fish for breakfast everyday. Delicious! What i loved the most was the smell of the towels! And they were soft too! Also, i believed the best part for most people was that they have wi-fi all over the hotel's vicinity. :)
And during our departure, they arranged everything and brought us to the airport 2 hrs earlier from our flight.
I really had a wonderful time in Boracay Tropics. I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaliyahRayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Boracay Tropics is the kind of hotel that leaves a complimentary fruit plate in your room, but fails to give you toilet paper or change your towels. OK, so the room cleaning is a bit spotty...the front desk folks will make things right immediately and cheerfully. Our room (we stayed for 9 nights) was basic, but had what you need, including cable TV. the price was fair, but argueably you could do better. There are a variety of free newspapers, and the hotel is a five minute walk to the beach, down a funky little road that is prone to flooding.

The common areas, especially around the very nice pool, are excellently maintained, and there are restaurants right down the street, and a grocery store within 50 meters.

Breakfast was interesting, and the clientele diverse. Where else could you encounter Russian families, Korean tour groups, and the frequent American guy wearing an Ohio State T-shirt. The servers in the restaurant are terrific...very friendly, and they have great memories. the breakfast inself is much like the room: pretty basic, but then again, all that you need with sufficient variety to serve almost any taste.

I had friends staying at other places, but, all-in-all, the tropics is is pretty smooth choice when staying in beautiful Boracay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Boracay has been our annual family getaway. As it provides the prefect backdrop for our family's bonding and relaxation. For a moment, our trip to the island has become routinary, doing the same things over and over again. But it all changed this year when we discovered Boracay Tropics Resort Hotel. It's strategically located at Station 2, making it very accessible at different points of the island. Offering countless pocket adventures without the hassle of long trips and rigid schedule. Not to mention its quiet and Asian ambiance that made our stay more relaxing and enjoyable...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahlin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.3 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 147 in Boracay
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 147 in Boracay
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 147 in Boracay
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#37 of 147 in Boracay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Boracay Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Boracay Tropics Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Boracay Tropics Resort
Address: Bo. Manggayad, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Boracay Tropics Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Tropics received the coveted AAA rating the highest accreditation given by the Department of Tourism to resorts that is comparable to a five-star hotel in the city. It has a three-story building that encloses the exclusive and self-contained sanctuary; a tropical haven blending Mediterranean and Asian Architecture strictly design to console its guests to break away from the stressful toil in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your BEST WESTERN Boracay Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boracay Tropics Hotel Boracay
Boracay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing