We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escondido Beach Resort
Ranked #117 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is a long overdue review for Escondido.

It's the 2nd time me and my sister availed of the PALakbayan package (PHP5.5k all in... sweet deal) and no disappointments at all. Eventhough its a non-beachfront resort, the distance to the beach is tolerable, its just a couple of meters away from Cocomangas, Club Paraw, Jonas and Willy's Rock.

The resort itself if nice and quiet. Staffs are nice and friendly. Rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superkikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Escondido Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2010

i went to boracay with my sister to attend a friend's wedding. we absolutely fell in love with the place. it was quiet and relaxing. the staff were very pleasant. our breakfasts were served on time. our rooms were cleaned daily. they have 24 hour security. it was 4-5 minutes walk to the best part of white beach and very near the church where my friend got married.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swt_serenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife, our 5-year-old son and I went to Boracay for the first time on October 18 to 20, 2009 and we enjoyed our stay at Escondido Beach Resort. Although not a beach front hotel, the essentials that we need to make our short vacation on the island special were all provided. Clean deluxe room, friendly and courteous staff, safe and relaxing atmosphere. View my blog about our stay at http://docgelo.wordpress.com/2009/10/21/boracay-series-our-home-away-from-home/

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docgelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

we went here with my friends just to try it out. first was the service, they served us pretty well from our arrival till our departure. we were served welcome drinks (i think it's a standard for their guests to be served with welcome drinks). the surroundings were clean. it was peaceful but no swimming pool. we stayed in the last room at the ground floor. the curtain was not that thick... they can actually see what you're doing from the outside. they serve a complementary breakfast but i was hoping that they could serve a buffet breakfast for people with a big appetite. restaurant had a great variety of food to choose from. place was located in station 1 near the posh hotels. you just need to walk for a couple of minutes to reach the beach though. pointers on returning to the hotel at night when you plan to party at station 2;
1. when you're wasted of partying in station 2 and planning to return to the hotel, it's best to take a trike rather than walking.
2. in our experience, it took us around 30 minutes walking by the road. (not yet wasted)
3. if you plan to walk by the beach at night make sure that you haven't changed because surely you will get wet. the tide rises at night and the whole beach front becomes part of the sea.
one significant observation is that the service was great. they always greet and smile at you from time to time which can lighten up the day. they are very approachable and they can provide suggestions if you aren't familiar from going around the area.
overall, i recommend this hotel to people who are on a tight budget and wants to just relax and enjoy the sea. it's a very peaceful place where you can unwind and just hang out.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eninissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Where do i start?. Well I Booked this trip for 2 to Boracay via PALakbayan. Where they have a list of resorts and hotels for you to choose from. Because this is our first trip to Boracay, we decided carefully not to overspend on hotel accomodation. (of course, for the reason that, we want to visit boracay for their white sandy beaches, outdoor activities etc. and not for some fancy hotels and resorts). All in all we spent about 8000Php each.For the Travel and for the entire 4days 3nights stay at Boracay Escondido.(that's right, with one extra night) including wining, dining, partying, boat riding, and snorkling and buying pasalubongs. Im not kidding. (See what you can do when you dont have to spend much on hotels). Well enough of my trip.

Let me give you some good reasons to stay at Boracay Escondido. First, of course it's very affordable, well maybe because it's not beach front, but it really wouldnt hurt walking a few meters to go the beach, it's practically across the street.. Secondly, it is located on station 1, which has (for those who dont know) a wider shore and a finer sand. Also it is where the Groto is. Third, this hotel has alot more ground area and space compared to the ones at Station 2, where hotels are really elbow to elbow with one another. So, i think, it gives alot more peace and quiet especially when you want to sleep at night. Lastly, the rooms and accomodations, the rooms are simple yet homy and spacious, (as you can see in my photos). The staff greeted us with smiles and drinks, the moment we arrived, they carry our luggages and they clean up our room everyday. They've been very helpful all throughout our stay, Everything good so far right?

Well i can only hope it gets better. One thing i would like to suggest for this hotel to have are SEATS on the beach area. it would really be best to have a couple of those, not only for their guest to sun bath on, rest and to doze off on, but also it would make the guest feel that they are being served and treated as such. Also, Having a BAR would'nt hurt, though they have a restaurant and there are many bars you can go to outside, having one will attract more guests and tourist. One thing i can say is, " though you're rooms are fully booked during the summer, there's always room for improvement.

That is it. there is only as much info i can provide. I hope it will be helpful to you fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We availed of our stay in Escondido on one of PAL's promo pacakages. It was a 3d & 2n's stay. Room and service were ok. Though they only served 2 pieces of bread, eggs, jam and fruit juice. It didn't really matter because there were a lot of restaurants you can go to that you'll enjoy near the resort. Btw, the resort has a non-beach front location. It's just a minute walk to the beach which was ok. Staffs were really friendly. They fetched us from the Caticlan port and same going back. Overall, the stay was worth. Not a fiirst class hotel but you'll have a beach-y feel of the place. :)

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank hungryhippo226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Yes the staff was very accomodating, but that couldn't change the fact that the room smelled like it was aging or something, and after a few nights of sleep in the room, my wife and I ended up feeling really sick.

The breakfast menu left a lot to be desired. But I'll be sure to try their crab house next time I'm on the island, but I definitely won't be staying here. I'd rather book in True Home, given the proximity.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yakult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 146 in Boracay
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.6 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 146 in Boracay
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#49 of 146 in Boracay
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 146 in Boracay
1,525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondido Beach Resort

Address: Station 1, Balabag St., Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Hotel Class:3 star — Escondido Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escondido Beach Resort Boracay is the newest hideaway in Boracay that would surely captivate your heart. It is ideally situated in station 1 where the best sugar fine white sand of the island is found. It is a minute walk to the beach and the hottest bars and restaurant in the area. Its location offers the privacy and tranquility you want and the accessibility to the hottest spots in the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Escondido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escondido Beach Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing