We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, cheap drinks nice food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel over Chinese new year so it was at the peak of it's prices.
This was not to much of a problem and not the hotel's fault but i feel it would offer tremendous value outside of this period. I would return out of peak as it would offer good value at these times.

We stayed in rooms at the back and they were massive. The rooms above the reception have obviously been recently decorated and looked a lot nicer but were not as big.

The food menu is good and we never had a bad meal.
Drinks are dirt cheap, beer 25php from 10- 10 and cocktails 69php form 2-8!
Beach 3 is a good area to be in as it is not so busy and loud as beach 2 so would look in this area again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

We took the family room and paid 1300 pesos per night for six nights (about 27 USD, which was 9 USD per person per night). Were we three male friends and the room had 3 separate beds, one very larger on the mezzanine and two doubles below. The place is clean, well serviced, which is what we were looking for. Giving the price it absolutely exceeds expectations. It is right on the beach.

I would be struggling to say bad things the rooms do look like 27 USD per night hotels and the only inconvenience is that whilst we were there it rained a lot and there really wasn't anywhere but your room or the cafe to go go (they close up the front of the cafe so there is not aspect, and being from Dubai I love any opportunity to watch the rain as i see it so infrequently). It is also a decent walk to the main action, but to be honest that suited us. Up near station 1 and 2 there were loud bands playing for ages, Great if you're out drinking not so good if you want to chill and have a night off (mind you we were there for sic nights and went out every night!)

Well done, would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julian_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

the staff there was awesome!!! you feel very safe, it's very clean and the location is amazing :-)

also the coffee was great, especially the cappuccino is delicious!

next time i'll stay there again for sure!!!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
Thank katzona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

They will greet you by name the moment you stepped in. A place with great staff and that personal touch...Free sunblock at the counter...a must if you don't want to get sunburn like me LOL...Nice welcome drink...Ice blended Coke...A nice look out at the sitting area before the reception...Got deposit safe in the room for valuable...you could leave your room key at the reception...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We booked a holiday for next February and pre-paid. We had many questions to ask and Janet (from Daves Straw Hat who also owns Arwana) dealt with them and these were always done promptly, politely and thoroughly, irrespective of how many queries or what they were! She went to a lot of trouble to ensure we booked the room we wanted to meet our needs because their rooms do have different aspects.

Unfortunately our plans changed and we needed to implement a refund of our full amount for our 10 days booked. This was done in the same great manner to which we had become accustomed and she followed it through expediently and showed real concern until our money was in our account. The money came through very quickly in fact.

Someone posted a negative review recently in which they commented on being unhappy with the beds - at one stage we discussed this with Janet as a bed is very important to us at hotels - well her response was wonderful - all the mattresses are in the process of being upgraded she told us - so all those prospective guests who were concerned about that review should go ahead and book with confidence.

Because of the great way we have been treated we would definitely consider booking and staying at Arwana again should we have Boracay on our itinerary. Janet treated us with professionalism, kindness and concern throughout the experience - they really do want to ensure their guests are completely happy, within the framework of the costs they charge. It is understandable that their properties rate so highly and we wish them well for the future.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank birdhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

While I'm writing this review, I'm still sitting on the balcony of arwana, waiting for other hotel's staff picking us up... 2 Ns staying with 4 what they called "w no intention inccidents" I had enough!!
Here is our story: 1st night we arrived in the afternoon, the staffs r nice and greating us with great attitude, we thought we were in the right place!
At night nightmare starts, after taking a long long walk from the center(as many people mentioned, this hotel located really far from center, which could be quite inconvenient when facing heavy rains or windy)

Tired and dirty, a hot shower will be desperately needed, ---> shower was broken!!
TV is brocken!!
After a long while of examining it, they still decide switch us down from room top to the 1st floor---> packed and unpacked....

2nd day: again, after a long day hanging around outside, when you walked back in the room, the water system seems to go down again! NO WATER!

3rd, At this moment, the toilet is still brocken, my poor husband is waiting for the staff to fix it...........

Although with numerous sorries and they resolved the situation, I did what all customer will do--> asked for refund and try to find myself a better hotel, the staff refused to return us the money back due to "THE POLICY"!
I can't get my money back and got no coompensation at all............

There are hotels with cheap prices in station2, ex: Hotel DeParis, Hotel El Centro, Boracay Peninsula Resort.. these r all within 2K budget hotels

High range ones r: Milflores(newly built but a bit far from the beach), Patio Hotel(there is straight way heading to the beach inside), Red Coconut(construction inside but room comfy) all these are within 3K-4K range.

Tope range: Le Soleil de Boracay, Boracay Regency:4-6k+

I'm not saying you will get the same experience like I do, but no one would like the hotel ruined your holiday, isn;t it?

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontheroadTp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwana, Manager at Grand Blue Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2009

Thank you for your review, it is appreciated. Also, thanks for using our free wi-fi when writing it. Even though your picture with the review looks very happy at our ocean view patio, I am very sorry that you had problems while staying with us.
The rate that you were given by email, prior to your arrival, for the room was P2090, but on arrival we gave you a discounted rate of P1300 due to the weather. When you transferred rooms the rate was lowered to P1100 or USD $23.00, a big savings from the original rate we emailed you, again in part due to the weather and the related problems it presents. This is a great front beach hotel rate.
The shower problem was due to a gasket that was repaired shortly in your room and the next day water outage problem was brief, less than an hour due to the main system that feeds the building being interrupted. This is out of our control as it is part of the island’s water system, sorry for the inconvenience. We found no problems with your TV, except the island wide cable was on and off due to possibly the bad weather, again, in part, the reason for the discounted rate to offset these things that are out of control due to weather issues.
Thank you for pointing out that we do not give refunds, even though we did refund the room difference to you due to your situation. Many hotels on Boracay do not give refunds. Once we give a discounted rate and/or hold a room for a guest we do not give refunds if less than 15 days. We do try to rent the room though and if successful, will refund the guest. It’s important that all visitors know this information and know the refund policy of the hotel that they will stay at. We, for our part and responsibility, make sure that our emails to all of our guests outline our refund policies, so no surprises later. We also sent you by email the same refund policy so you would be aware of it prior to your arrival and payment.
If the hotel was uninhabitable, we would of course make a refund, no questions asked, but the problems were quickly fixed. We feel that what is important for any hotel, is not what goes wrong so much, as things inevitably do happen or break down, it cant be helped, but what is really important is how fast the hotel responds to it and fixes it or comes up with an alternative for their guests as we did with you by moving you into another room and refunding the difference.
We want to thank your husband for telling our manager that the “place is nice, has a clean room, and nice people” and thank you also for pointing out that our staff are also nice. Thanks again for your review, it is appreciated. Sorry for your inconvenience. We will take your concerns under advisement, looking for ways to better improve what we offer already with our great rates, beach front location, clean rooms and wonderful customer service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Arwana Hotel is situated on the better (quieter) end of White Beach. The friendly staff were nothing short of fantastic, more than willing to help you out when needed and happy to leave you in peace when you just want to relax. The food was excellent, so much so, I actually ate at hotel more often than not. The rooms were clean, light and comfortable with air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Free Wi-Fi. Absolutely no complaints, will definitely return to stay at the Arwana Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#57 of 151 in Boracay
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 151 in Boracay
149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#58 of 151 in Boracay
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
3 mi away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#49 of 151 in Boracay
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Blue Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Blue Beach Hotel

Address: | Sitio Angol, Station 3, Brgy. Manoc Manoc, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines (Formerly Arwana Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Blue Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Blue Beach Hotel (GBBH) is a resort hotel of Delfines Hotel Management boasting of its 25 well-appointed rooms and beach front set up for a perfect intimate family and travel accommodations. Strategically located at station 3 of the Boracay islands, the hotel is 30-minute land and sea travel from Caticlan Airport. The hotel provides an attractive view of the Boracay horizon, fine white beach sand, and tropical breeze vibes. In addition, the aquamarine water, calm waves, and the picturesque sunset background is the best way to spend your day at Grand Blue Beach Hotel. We price ourselves so that you will pay less and still are right on the beautifully acclaimed Boracay White Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Blue Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arwana Hotel Boracay
Boracay Arwana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing