We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of One Crescent Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Crescent Place
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited this hotel last year in November. Having visited a few places in the Philippines on our visit I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. It was very clean and had a nice spacious feeling to the rooms, all the mod cons and a well needed 'modern' air conditioning unit, which had been rare until then. I found this hotel via Agoda on the on-line booking website. Amazingly this hotel was around the same price as some others along the beachfront that were more run down and not on the same level. I liked the location being away from the noisy beach front so we could escape to the hotel after a large night out.
The staff were very helpful and cheery. We visited when it was quiet and were made a fuss of. Breakfast outside in the sun with our mango's was fab. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsiemabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear ElsieMabel,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your review you made last year, and most especially for being a gracious guest of One Crescent Place. In 2012, we are pleased to tell you that we've upgraded our air conditioning system in all rooms--even better than the previous very good one you had in your room. This will give you the ability to dial in the settings you want, whether temperature or humidity. Or if you want the system to automatically do the fine adjustments for your comfort through its AI (artificial intelligence) sensing mechanisms, you can set it that way. All these to make your stay most comfortable. Moreover, we are pleased to tell you that WiFi signal is even made stronger and robust in all rooms. We do continually make our product even better for you. Thanks again for your review, our staff will be glad to welcome you again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights.
Pros:
+ Very, very friendly and courteous staff!
+ Nice and clean room and bath room.
+ Aircon and fan
+ TV
+ Balcony or terrace
+ WiFi and PCs for hotel guests
+ Quite place, not too noisy in the evenings/nights

Cons:
- WiFi-signal isn't sufficient in all (parts of) the rooms.
- PCs and the internet are quite slowly or not working.
- 5min walking distance to White beach.

Bottom line: Can absolutely be recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for staying with One Crescent Place, and we do take great care of our guests.

There are many advantages of staying a bit inland, as you are protected from the weather, from the noise of the beach front. It's only less than three minutes to the beach.

Yes, we do have complimentary WiFi. We are deducing on which room you have stayed. There are strong access points on each floor, which should be sufficiently strong, as when we did several testing. You should though pick the access point that is strongest, which should be located on your floor. We can do signal shaping, we can even increase the signal strength, but we optimize it levels so that we don't cause undue interference to our neighbors, and we minimize susceptibility for network intrusion. There could be varying signal strength as the hotel walls are made of concrete, but it should be sufficient for uninterrupted broadband connection. Nevertheless, we will conduct another optimization.

For PCs, we do have four PCs at the lobby, it should all be working, if there is a problem, please just alert our staff, and the proper reset procedure can be done should it be necessary. We do employ energy efficient Intel Atom powered computers, and are complimentary use of our guests.

Thanks once again for staying with us, and we'll improve our network even more this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I are very happy to have found One Crescent. The room where we stayed may not be that big but it just fits us right. It's quite relaxing and a/c is good; room is very quiet we never thought the hotel is fully occupied then! The linens and towels are changed everyday and every time we would request them changed. All our needs are attended to. The staff are all kind, friendly and very accommodating. Food is good and served well. The hotel is located a few steps away from the beach so it's never a hassle at all. The church is quite near the place, so you can attend mass as well :-)

Just few things we noticed: the cover on the sofa bed was a bit dirty when we arrived and that we had to remind the staff about it and that the net was a little slow, just that. Anyway, we'd say, It's still worth our stay and we wouldn't fail to recommend this place to our family and friends and we won't hesitate to book again at One Crescent in our next bora getaway :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thanks for staying with us, our staff was glad to be of service to you. Yes, hotel was full at that time, and we try to keep noise to a minimum. We also do now have some noise attenuating solution employed to even make the hotel even more quiet.

Also, thanks for bringing to our attention the extra bed/sofa cover. It's actually clean, but there are spots that developed because of laundry detergent's bleach, and fabric is quite sensitive to static cling of lints. We've pulled out the particular fabric and have replaced it. We're doing more - from the use and type of of laundry detergent, washing machine and dryer procedure, fabric selection) - to ensure that this does not happen again.

For the internet, normally, it should be good, but it can be slow at times when the hotel is full. But you still should be able to get in and do some surfing and do some e-mails. We actually do have fast network equipment. We are aware that many gadgets now does auto updating of its operating system and its applications that can negatively impact a network or user experience. We actually have solutions on study, and will deploy a mix that should address this proliferation of gadgets.

Thanks once again, as your review is quite helpful for us to improve even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My friends and I had originally planned to stay at the Astoria for four nights but they were fully booked so we had to stay at One Crescent Place for our first two nights in Boracay. We found it through Agoda. While not 100% satisfied with my stay, I would recommend it to friends as a second or third choice to their hotel of preference.

Bad things first: the shower takes forever to heat up. By the time it does, I'm already done with the shower. But most of the time I never got to experience a warm shower. This is disappointing. The owner told me that they have back-up heaters available but this is essentially useless since the damage has been done. It would be better to check the showers before the guests come in. Secondly, I am a very light sleeper and wake up at the slightest sound. Before going to bed, my friends and I could hear incessant loud chattering and banging of the doors. That said, management needs to come up with a way to soundproof the rooms. Needless to say, the fact that I had ear plugs with me saved from two nights of sleeplessness. The bathroom is also a tad too small for my taste.

Good things: I am extremely impressed by the excellent service and pleasant attitude of the staff. This applies at any time of the day. Whether at 10 a.m. or at 3 a.m., the staff never failed to greet my friends and me and make us feel welcome. They also promptly responded to every request that we made. The AC tends to get really cold at night so we asked for extra blankets and duly provided with some. Breakfast is also excellent. I also appreciated the free water downstairs as it definitely saved me from having to buy extra water. I like all the channels on the TV, the fact that there's a microwave and dishes in the room. Room is pretty spacious as well. Bed is comfortable.

More power!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thanks for your stay. As you have stated, we offer excellent service. One Crescent Place is a boutique hotel, and only guests who stay here, hang around here. We offer more privacy during your stay.

Our staff is now making sure that we show guests how to use the fixtures, such as water heater, the air conditioning controls, and more importantly get feedback during their stay--and not after, and complain on the Internet. There is actually no damage, as we did not get any comment or complaint during your stay. During your check out, when you mentioned about the water heater and chatter and door noise, we asked you if you told reception about it, you said "No". While we check things, part of the feedback loop is the guests letting us know at that instant (or shortly after while they are still staying in the hotel). We would have fixed things to your liking if you would have told reception, by just dialing "0". We could have flipped a switch (which takes two seconds or less) in the water heater to boost up the wattage to six kilo watts, no kidding, six thousand watts to make a very warm shower). We keep things to medium to "kill off" the coldness in the water and with enough warmth so you don't get cold. The shower mixer though has to be in the left most position. While also trying to preserve the environment, and frugal in the use of resources such as electricity--the Philippines is not a cold or winter country, so, we don't need to have super hot shower. But if you want it, it's available for the asking, just dial "0", and we would have flipped the switch. If there is really something wrong with the water heater, we have brand new heaters on standby. We can replace the existing one in very short time. But so far, when verified in your room, the water heater is working as designed.

On air conditioning, you can dial in the exact temperature you want the room to be. The air conditioner we have is the most technologically advanced air conditioner, and you can exercise precise control over the temperature you want in your room. It is able to provide you a constant temperature at the setting. If you want California type temperature during late spring, dial it to 23 or 24 degrees Celcius. If you want cool Baguio temperature, 25 - 26 degrees Celcius.
More so, the hotel is equipped with laser guided infrared thermometer to verify temperatures.

On any issue or "issue", or if you need for a massage, dialing "0" would be of help to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This boutique hotel is like your home away from home. The place is just 5 minutes
to the shoreline. Very quite ,very clean and the staff are courteous and helpful.
Your view is overlooking the mountain, all green, so nice. At breakfast time, you choose
what you want and they cook it for you. To go to the main beach which is in Station 2,
just take a walk, and you will see all the activities in the beachside. Watch out for their
rate, go for Agoda, and wait for the discount rate which is down 30 to 40% off, which is
really and should be the suited rate for this hotel. And again, be extra extra careful, not
to be lured by PEOPLE FROM ASTORIA BORACAY. They have lots of people hooking
Balikbayan in the beachside inviting free lunch, this is the catch, they are selling 'TIMESHARE"
AND VERY PERSUASIVE AND USES FLOWERY WORDS,you can be convinced easily. I was a victim,
and my remaining days of holiday has been ruined coz of the amount of money i paid.And i have
to cancel my credit card. They will present you the name 'CLUB ASTORIA. IT'S A FRAUD!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the second floor or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank maganda0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thanks for your review. As you have experienced, we take good care of our guests. If you want lower rate, try the "low season" months, which is from June to November, prices of which is already reflected in our website, in Online websites, with travel agencies. But certain times of the year can be better for your schedule, and can offer fantastic weather. For example, December through February can offer cool but sunny weather. The beach, fantastic (awesome, gorgeous, and insert your own word here __________).

Book ahead during the holidays as the rooms can be fully booked up as time gets closer. We suggest that you book the number of days you really want, as if you wish to extend, you might find out that the room that you are in is not available anymore, that there are no available rooms, or that you may have to transfer rooms from day to day. We try our best though to accommodate you in as much as our powers to move the schedule around allows us to. We offer great value, but at a level that makes us able to sustain consistent high quality accommodation and service. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here because it was one of the only places we could find over Chinese New Year and I'm so glad! It was about a 3 minute walk to the beach and although you hear roosters crowing everywhere on the island, you cannot hear it in the room. The hotel staff was always present to help with the computer, serve breakfast, give beach towels, answer questions, print travel itineraries, etc.

The hotel has a beachy modern style and is kept clean and fresh. We loved our room with air conditioning and movie channels. We had plenty of space and housekeeping was very prompt every day.

The breakfast was cooked to order, fresh and delicious! I woke up too late for it the first morning and bought basically the same breakfast on the beach for about $10, so it's a great deal to eat at the hotel.

I would definitely recommend it and will stay here if I ever come back to Boracay :)

Room Tip: The junior suites are at the end of the hall with a corner and 3 balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

We're glad you made it, as rooms in our hotel was booked during Chinese New Year at least. We're happy that you found exactly what you wanted! We take great lengths to make your room, the hotel impeccable; and we love having gracious guests.

We're doing some adjustments in the rooms, so you'll even have a more comfortable and pleasing stay with us.

We welcome you. Contact us, e-mail us, if you have any special requests.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We read about this hotel before we arrived to Boracay. We booked 7 days and we loved it. It's clean the service is excellent and the breakfast with the fresh mango as a start of the day is so good. We highly recommend this hotel. It's just 1 min walk to the beach (station 1) And you can buy water in the little shop on your way to the beach..

Thank you for a a nice Stay
/Fredrik & Susanna

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

We're glad you liked staying with us. Thanks for your stay and for your review. We do great strides to attend to the details of your accommodation. You've stayed in a room where we have our new air conditioning system, which would provide you with a constant coolness, based on your temperature setting. We're finishing the upgrade of all rooms this March 2012.

Next time around, we can offer you a little more varied breakfast, due to your long stay. Let us know in your next visit with us. Stay warm!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.8 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#32 of 151 in Boracay
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#18 of 151 in Boracay
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#48 of 151 in Boracay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#53 of 151 in Boracay
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.6 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#65 of 151 in Boracay
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Crescent Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Crescent Place

Address: Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $48 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — One Crescent Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your One Crescent Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Crescent Place
One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay
One Crescent Place Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing