We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Review of One Crescent Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One Crescent Place
Ranked #40 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This boutique hotel is like your home away from home. The place is just 5 minutes
to the shoreline. Very quite ,very clean and the staff are courteous and helpful.
Your view is overlooking the mountain, all green, so nice. At breakfast time, you choose
what you want and they cook it for you. To go to the main beach which is in Station 2,
just take a walk, and you will see all the activities in the beachside. Watch out for their
rate, go for Agoda, and wait for the discount rate which is down 30 to 40% off, which is
really and should be the suited rate for this hotel. And again, be extra extra careful, not
to be lured by PEOPLE FROM ASTORIA BORACAY. They have lots of people hooking
Balikbayan in the beachside inviting free lunch, this is the catch, they are selling 'TIMESHARE"
AND VERY PERSUASIVE AND USES FLOWERY WORDS,you can be convinced easily. I was a victim,
and my remaining days of holiday has been ruined coz of the amount of money i paid.And i have
to cancel my credit card. They will present you the name 'CLUB ASTORIA. IT'S A FRAUD!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the second floor or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank maganda0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thanks for your review. As you have experienced, we take good care of our guests. If you want lower rate, try the "low season" months, which is from June to November, prices of which is already reflected in our website, in Online websites, with travel agencies. But certain times of the year can be better for your schedule, and can offer fantastic weather. For example, December through February can offer cool but sunny weather. The beach, fantastic (awesome, gorgeous, and insert your own word here __________).

Book ahead during the holidays as the rooms can be fully booked up as time gets closer. We suggest that you book the number of days you really want, as if you wish to extend, you might find out that the room that you are in is not available anymore, that there are no available rooms, or that you may have to transfer rooms from day to day. We try our best though to accommodate you in as much as our powers to move the schedule around allows us to. We offer great value, but at a level that makes us able to sustain consistent high quality accommodation and service. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here because it was one of the only places we could find over Chinese New Year and I'm so glad! It was about a 3 minute walk to the beach and although you hear roosters crowing everywhere on the island, you cannot hear it in the room. The hotel staff was always present to help with the computer, serve breakfast, give beach towels, answer questions, print travel itineraries, etc.

The hotel has a beachy modern style and is kept clean and fresh. We loved our room with air conditioning and movie channels. We had plenty of space and housekeeping was very prompt every day.

The breakfast was cooked to order, fresh and delicious! I woke up too late for it the first morning and bought basically the same breakfast on the beach for about $10, so it's a great deal to eat at the hotel.

I would definitely recommend it and will stay here if I ever come back to Boracay :)

Room Tip: The junior suites are at the end of the hall with a corner and 3 balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

We're glad you made it, as rooms in our hotel was booked during Chinese New Year at least. We're happy that you found exactly what you wanted! We take great lengths to make your room, the hotel impeccable; and we love having gracious guests.

We're doing some adjustments in the rooms, so you'll even have a more comfortable and pleasing stay with us.

We welcome you. Contact us, e-mail us, if you have any special requests.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We read about this hotel before we arrived to Boracay. We booked 7 days and we loved it. It's clean the service is excellent and the breakfast with the fresh mango as a start of the day is so good. We highly recommend this hotel. It's just 1 min walk to the beach (station 1) And you can buy water in the little shop on your way to the beach..

Thank you for a a nice Stay
/Fredrik & Susanna

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

We're glad you liked staying with us. Thanks for your stay and for your review. We do great strides to attend to the details of your accommodation. You've stayed in a room where we have our new air conditioning system, which would provide you with a constant coolness, based on your temperature setting. We're finishing the upgrade of all rooms this March 2012.

Next time around, we can offer you a little more varied breakfast, due to your long stay. Let us know in your next visit with us. Stay warm!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel and the positives outweighs the negatives.
1.) On hot water.
Yes, to take a shower you have to run the water on at least 20 minutes to get hot water,
2.) Sleeping.
I suspect this hotel is close to fighting cocks farm so the crowing is incessant from 4:00AM onwards. On the positive side you donot need an alarm clock to wake you up if you want to get up early.
3.) On Breakfast and Rooms.
If you are going to stay here longer than 2 days expect the breakfast to be the same, day in day out regardless if it is chinese, filipino, or american breakfast you chose. On the positive side, the room I had (superior) is clean, big, and priced reasonably.
4.) Lightings.
I wish they have an automatic on and off lights in the corridor directly in front of my room because the light is shining through the room (as the door is made of opaque glass). I prefer to sleep without any lights, and therefore I have a hard time falling or going back to sleep easily if I wake up in the middle of the night.
5.) Cleanliness, staff and others.
Sheets are changed everyday and rooms are cleaned too, staff are friendly helpful and will go out of their way to please and make your stay pleasant. The beach is close just a 2-3 minute walk and you're there. They provide towels too, if you are going for a swim. They don't charge for the internet usage, so if you spend much time on the net, this is the hotel for you.
6) Would I recommend this hotel to my friends.
Yes, I would not hesitate to book into this hotel if I visit Boracay again and if any of my friends are taking their holidays in Bora, I surely recommend this one.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise, and Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wills2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

First of all thank you for staying with us, and for your inputs. We have discussed it with our staff, and are addressing all of it.

On hot water: the hotel has been fully booked for days while you were there which has high demand on water; ordinarily, there should no problems, but there were some fluctuations in water pressure caused by our washing machines and our overhead tank requirements, which affected the Superior rooms, mostly at busy hours. We’ve started to implement water pressure load shaping over the day, so that other loads – i.e., washing machines and roof deck tanks, do not upset the water pressure of our main line. We are doing some re-piping next week, so that load shaping will not even be necessary. We are also now testing each water heater to ensure that you get hot water, everytime.

On sleeping, crowing of fighting cocks: This is a challenge, as the roosters are not really abutting the property, but at some distance, but can still be heard, while a bit muffled, even with seals on the sliding doors. This affects mostly one side of the building, but we believe we have a solution that will greatly attenuate the sound that gets into the building. We will implement this March 2012.

On breakfasts, and room: We only serve one breakfast per day, and there are variants of each type. So, for four nights, there won’t be a repeat. If you have special breakfast requirement, such as vegetarian, you will have to let us know ahead of time, during the time of your booking, and we can provide it to you, at no charge.

Yes, the Superior room is excellent value. It is perfect for a small family or a group of friends, from 4 – 5 persons.

On Lightings: We do have a way of turning off the pin lights by the hall way, we’ll have it turned at 10 PM. We will just leave the center drop light on by the stairs for safety.

On cleanliness, staff and others: Yes, we make a safe and clean environment for everyone staying in One Crescent Place. We take good care of our guests.

We do have complimentary high speed internet access in the rooms, by the lobby, the patio, so bring your tablet, smart phones, laptops, and ultrabooks. We do have four computers that you can also use by the lobby, again, gratis. We have beach towels, beach mats, umbrellas, beach toys, available for complimentary use.

On room tip: We have started replacing the split type air conditioners to a really quiet model. We had to wait for this technology to mature before we started implementing.

Again, thank you for your review, and your recommendation of One Crescent Place to your friends. We appreciate it, as we can only improve, and can help make your future stay even more pleasurable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I took this hotel from reviews from other previous clients. I was wrong. The hotel was not at the beach. The hotel is being managed by "remote control", no manager on site. Requests from clients would have to be referred to "remote" manager and manager is NOT flexible to clients' needs.
Hotel unable to provide a "mere shower cap". Breakfast is only on "a la carte" basis. You have to run the water for at least 15 mins to get "hot water". You have to walk through a small alley to get into the place and the hotel is in the middle of a "noisy neighborhood". Hotel cld be rated as a "2-star" hotel.

"Superior" room does not meet the standards of one.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank impish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

It is a disservice to our guests and potential guests that you have to write a negative review. You had threatened us that you will write one if you are not given a refund for the shortening of your stay. As explained we have a policy of no cancellation within 31 days. In fact, we cannot even make a refund to you as you did not make a payment to us; you paid an online travel company.

Our hotel is not beach front, as clearly stated in our website, with GPS coordinates even in our website. You can even search for One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay in Google, and you will find that it is clearly not beach front.

The owner-manager of the hotel is not in the hotel, and is actually in his office in Manila. The hotel is being managed actively by a support staff; we have knowledgeable and trained staff and the technology to make it happen. Our staff is well trained, and can respond to most is not all reasonable requests.

We have Filipino, Chinese and American breakfasts. It is complimentary to your stay. You can have more if you want, but for a fee as you are the one who is going to consume it.

We don’t appreciate for guests being loud in the hotel, during breakfast, and through most of the stay, and even during check-out. Our staff and other guests have to have peace and quiet.
In fact there was only one loud person in the neighborhood during the time of your stay with us. And it was gone when you left. Our staff and our guests were relieved.

Our recommendation is that for one to read websites clearly, read the cancellation policy; and not forget their personal things (like hair nets and shower caps) including one’s medicines when travelling, not threaten or bother staff and other guests, not to break things (like the air conditioner remote control cover), and not to waste water.

So, the bottom line is that we advertised truthfully, and we welcome the thousands of our satisfied guests, and that we welcome future happy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. One of the big disappointment I had with the hotel was the cancellation policy. I had to cancelled a few hours after I booked the hotel on Expedia due to last minute work conflict. I spent about an hour with Expedia then called the hotel directly in philippines from the US to try to cancelled. I ended up talking to the mgr/owner and he wasn't willing to cancelled after I made the effort to call them long distance! Think twice before you book this hotel.

Pros:
* Great Staff and service, they cater to our needs.
* Fairly close to the beach (about 5 mins walk from the white sand beach)
* Good hearty breakfast. Breakfast is included in the daily rate

Cons:
* Air Condition is directly above the head. There is no way to adjust it, after the first night I had to sleep upside down so that the air conditioning unit is not blowing directly onto my head, I got a severe cold after my first night :(
* Can hear the chicken crowing all night long. I'm a light sleeper and it was frustrating to hear the chicken all through the night. I'm here on vacation and the lack of sleep definitely ruined my sleep
* Hot water is wonky. Hot water turns into cold water all of a sudden, we complained to the front desk, they tried to fix it, but the problem still persist, there were days where we had to take cold showers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c_ngSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 11, 2012

Thanks for staying with us and that you actually made it in our hotel at your original schedule,and that you had booked for an extra bed for your friend! Note though that we uphold our policy to include cancellation policy, as well as our quality. We are just being consistent.

We take care of our guests. Period.

Thanks for the comments, and we can only improve. For the air conditioner, it's actually across the bed, and you can put it to low, quiet mode, adjust the vanes using the remote control, and if that's not enough, you can even adjust the vanes manually. We can also provide an extra thick blanket if requested. But adjusting the air conditioner is the optimum solution. As I write this, we are starting the upgrade of all of our air conditioning units to the newest, latest and greatest, the gentlest, the best that can be had. This may take a three or so months to convert all rooms, as we we have high bookings in the hotel, and take other guests in consideration.

Yes, there are chickens at some distance to the hotel that can be heard. But this is part of the norm in the provinces in the Philippines. We've put seals on the doors, but you may need to close the bathroom window, as well as the bathroom door to help attenuate. We'll be checking whether we should change the sliding door all together for a better noise seal.

For the hot water, we've addressed it. While we only use top of the line brand, we found out that that our secondary water pump was not kicking in at the right pressure, thus causing the water heater not to heat up. We've corrected it by calibrating the pumps.

Thanks for this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Nice clean and new hotel, 3 minutes from White Beach, free breakfast and wifi in the room. Air con, although set at 16 degrees, seemed to function as a fan only, and our sun facing room was a pure sauna. Maybe this was just our room, but the staff didn't seem to care when I complained in the morning. Would stat here again if it was cheaper and not so hot outside.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anfisa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Owner at One Crescent Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thanks for your stay and for the review!

We've briefed our staff to just remind them to make sure that they acknowledge that they heard and understood any requests, and that they give prompt feedback to our guests.

For the airconditioner, our staff and succeeding guests did not find anything wrong with the airconditioner and with its cooling. The remote control has a mode button, ionizer button, as well as for the main power button. One possibility that cooling is not effected is if one accidentally presses the Ionizer button rather than the Power button to turn on the air conditioner. If such, the fan would turn on along with the ionizer, but not the compressor. Also, at times when one changes the settings frequently, the air conditioning unit goes on a protective mode, shuts down the compressor, and introduces a time delay. It is best that you just turn on the power button, and let the unit work. It should start cooling shortly. If there are problems, a quick call to the reception would have prompted one of our staff to check on the unit at that instant. The above are just the possibilities, as we did not find anything wrong with the air conditioning unit, as we've double and triple checked the unit, and that there were successive guests right after you checked out on the same room where you stayed at.

We conduct preventive maintenance to our air conditioning units, do periodic tests. We even have an instrument to measure the precise cooling and temperature of our evaporators and equipment to measure and control the room air quality.

Thanks and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.4 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#47 of 148 in Boracay
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 148 in Boracay
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#30 of 148 in Boracay
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#69 of 148 in Boracay
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 148 in Boracay
821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#52 of 148 in Boracay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Crescent Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Crescent Place

Address: Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $45 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — One Crescent Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your One Crescent Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Crescent Place
One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay
One Crescent Place Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing