We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst places to stay in Boracay”
Review of Isla Gecko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isla Gecko Resort
Ranked #21 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst places to stay in Boracay”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is old, run down and smells musty. The rooms are small and old and smell. The linen is also old and uninviting. There are no windows in the rooms so the air never really clears. The set up of the hotel is poor and the sound travels making privacy almost nil, even just for conversations. The price was very high for this hotel over 2000 pesos per night. I had book the rooms online. I got the hotel, took a look, and smell and went immediately next door to what was call villas inn at the time a 3 story white building. The rooms where very clean, nice bathroom, and the rooms have windows and terraces, tv and a fridge, which isle gecko did not have. To top it off this place was cheaper and twice as nice.

The people that run and own Isle gecko are very nice but that doesnt change the fact the place sucks. All the reviews you read about this place that are good are coming from the heart of good people that enjoyed the friendliness of the owners and ignored the reality of the crap box of a hotel that it is or they havent stayed anywhere else to compare it to. Out of the 6 people that book online to stay there, only 2 actually ended up staying there. We even lost some money by canceling but it was well worth it.

Do NOT stay there, it smells in the rooms, there is little privacy and its not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgmdgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gecko5608, Manager at Isla Gecko Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
First of all, I am the new owner and bought the hotel in July 1, 2011. Since then, we have not stopped updating the hotel to be able to compete.
We have bought new matresses, bedsheets, towels, curtains, mirrors, flat screen TV, and everything we think that would be acceptable to our customers or guest like you. We feel that the satisfaction of the guest or customers like you is critical for the survival in the business. We also
change all the native walls into concrete walls and solid doors without losing our Philippine theme.
I wish you have mentioned it before you left, so we could have addressed your complaints.
Or perhaps written us one or two months later and not after a year. We went through all our Registration Papers for February 2012,
( since you did not give your name or dates of your stay) but we could not find any cancellations or also remember any cancellations.
Instead, we found on the records of Guests extending their stay. Nevertheless we apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered. I am glad
you were able to find a place so you could enjoy your stay in Boracay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
19
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

There were 13 of us who booked in this place and stayed for 4d/3n. It's just a short walk to White Beach, D'Mall, and the main road, less than 5 minutes walk on average. The staffs are really friendly and accommodating. Since this is not a beach front property, getting a good night sleep is no problem as you are some walk away from where all the party is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeshinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I got this in agoda.com after seeing its 7.5 rating. I was disappointed for a number of reasons. First, I didn't like the location as it was in a back area near D'Mall. Second, the room and bathroom were smaller than thought. Third, the Wi-Fi proved problematic inside the room. Fourth, the room wasn't cleaned daily. Fifth, bed bugs were a problem and expect to get eaten alive in the lobby. Overall I felt I could've gotten better deals elsewhere and won't return here again.

The owner family is nice and all but that cannot save a pkace with issues like Isla Gecko.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo M, Owner at Isla Gecko Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
First of all, thank you for choosing Isla Gecko for your stay in Boracay. The family regrets the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Our apology.
For one thing about your comments on bed bugs, we have hired a Pest Control and found no bed bugs in our rooms. I repeat, no bedbugs found in our rooms or in the lobby as you have said. We sure have some mosquitos in the lobby which you probably thought as bed bugs that could have been avoided by using mosquito off lotion. We have an open lobby, that is why we have some mosquitos around when it rains which is expected in a tropical country. Concerning the room not being cleaned daily, our manager upon hearing your complain about it to our Security Guard, explained to you that the room are serviced upon request due to security reasons. Our Wi-Fi has recently been upgraded.
As a Filipino-American owner, we pride ourselves to continue and give the best budget hotel can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

i've been to this paradise island for several times now, but only isla gecko made my stay really comfortable and enjoyable. location wise, it was not only very near the beach front but near the food establishments and party scene... just a few steps away... they provide for the basic amenities a big hotel chain can offer without injuring your wallet. i will definitely go back here! regards to joey (GM) and the rest of the very accommodating staffs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank recidivist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

went to boracay last week for work and a little pleasure on the side. on the last minute, we opted to move-out of the hotel we booked initially. on the spot, my group (around 12 pax in all) looked for a place to stay and we stumbled on isla gecko on the internet. we called the number and inquire. we had a pleasant talk with their manager (joey luna) and we were in luck as they were able to swing the room bookings to accommodate our group for the dates that we needed to stay. we dropped by the place like 20 minutes after that and simply love the place. it's homey and the staff was very helpful! to make the story short - we moved to isla gecko right then and there!

the place has around 12 rooms and each has it's own AC and even electric fan as a back-up. the hot and cold water was also working. i personally loved it that the sheets and the towels were 'pristine' white. (for me it's a sign that the place is clean and hygienic). all rooms had tv but who watches cable tv in boracay! :-) isla also offers simple breakfast and main entrees to their guests for an affordable cost. their brewed coffee was specifically good!

the management (led by owner, tito teddy macabeo, its manager, joey) and staff are very friendly, helpful and nice. they try to assists the guests in whatever way they can by giving us referrals in terms of the stuff we need to locate for work and by giving us tips where to go which is less people congested. the only downside of this place is it's location. it's a small alley that leads to the main seashore of station 2. unfortunately, the alley isn't cemented. it's rocky and parts are even muddy. the way going to isla is also dirty and dark during night. to counter the 'unsafe' feel during night time, isla has a guard on duty from 7pm to 7am.

we love the homey atmosphere and of course, the very friendly price. told the owners that we'll share their numbers with friends and family in manila. the place is worth recommending!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroyalputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed four nights @ Isla Gecko...Too bad that we had to catch an airplane...otherwise we would have loved to stay longer. The hotel is clean (nice warm shower!) and perfectly located (not in the center center of the crowd, but just a minute away from the beach and center). Above all, the management was so nice and helpful!

The place just suits the island: wonderful :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maaikeopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here for about a week and so far I have very few negatives and sooo many positives. If you are worried about location, stop worrying. It is about a minute from the beach (probably less) and just a few seconds from d* mall, the large shopping area. Since it is at beach station two, it isn't too far from any of the bars along beach station two and a few minutes from one of the more popular clubs - Summer Place. The single disadvantage is being about 10 minutes from club Paraw but that is a negligible downside comparatively.
Service is also top notch with clean rooms and a very filling meal every day (even for us fatty Americans!). We also got to know the owner and his son for a while and they are great people. They also help us set up activities at good rates and there is round the clock security so no worries there. All in all, a great experience for a very cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Piccolo Hotel of Boracay
0.2 mi away
Casa D' Estrella Apartelle
Casa D' Estrella Apartelle
#34 of 167 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Veranda Suites
Blue Veranda Suites
#15 of 167 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jeepney Hostel and Kite Resort
0.1 mi away
GemTalk Suites
GemTalk Suites
#56 of 167 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Time Hotel Boracay
Shore Time Hotel Boracay
#14 of 219 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Gecko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Gecko Resort

Property: Isla Gecko Resort
Address: Station 2, Balabag | Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isla Gecko Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla Gecko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Gecko Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing