We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamboo Bungalow Rest Houses
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This place is reaaaaaalllllyyyy good. I'll just enumerate some of the reasons and you can go judge by yourself:
1. when they say it's beach front, it's beach front! 1 minute and you're there!
2. rooms are spacious! even the bath! I was staying at a family room which of course is SPACIOUS (duh!) but the owner was kind enough for me to look at the other rooms and they are spacious - considering the amount your paying, you can well enough do somersaults. airconditioning is good too!
3. beds are cozy - you can request for sheet replacements.
4. the free breakfast is hefty!! you can even get to choose it!
5. it is in station 2 where all the nice bars, budget marts, restaurants are just a stone throw away. Although if you want a really peaceful sleep opt for the garden rooms at the back. slightly lower cost though much quieter surroundings.

Room Tip: Beach front family rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tan-skin-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were there for holy week.April 19 to 28. We are a family of 4 with 2 children aged 3 and 5.my sister in law and 2 neices joined us also.We had the family apartment with kitchen.The place was great.All ways had a quite
nights sleep.The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was really kind and friendly.
The breakfast served there was excellent.Great omlette and coffee.
The location is in the heart of the action.Not far to walk to get anywhere.D`mall 5 minutes,
beachfront is less then 1 minute walk.We would stay here again on our next visit.The
place has the traditional look,nipa roof not the commercial look of modern cement buidings.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at Bamboo Bungalows with our two children (6 and 4) in February 2011 and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a charming family run hotel and an authentic Boracay experience. The bungalows are set in a beautiful and peaceful garden with mature tropical plants that shade and provide privacy at the same time. The place is run by the lovely Marcy and the charming if slightly eccentric Chris and they have been on Boracay for more than 20 years. Their staff are wonderful and always ready to help with any request or issue that guests might have. We stayed in the new family apartment which has two air-conditioned rooms and a large sitting room, kitchenette and balcony. It was perfect. The beautiful garden is carefully enclosed so kids can run around safely. As another reviewer says the beach in front is the best part of the entire beach. The bar situated at the front of the resort next to the beach is called EXIT and is run by the Owner's hardworking son Kevin who is tireless in his efforts to entertain and serve guests. Bamboo is a rustic resort and not the type of place to have a 'kids club' but nevertheless it is perfect for kids and Chris will personally entertain the kids doing tricks with his faithful hound "Smiguel". Babysitting is available and easy to arrange. Breakfast is great. Boracay is a fantastic island and Bamboo Bungalows is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

i've already stayed there about 6 times now and it will be the 7th this april, i admit we just keep coming back, and there a lot of reason why we keep coming back, nice front beach room, nice garden, nice staff, reasonable rates and a very good breakfast in garden, as i've said everything's nice

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marionceripulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

After arriving at the hotel we booked online in advance "Butterfly Bungalows" on the other side of the island, we were so upset and disappointed. The other hotel was horrible, far away, and not at all what we wanted. We set out on foot to find a better place to stay for the week that would fit in our price range. We almost missed Bamboo Bungalows, because from the beach sidewalk on the outside it does not look like much. The inside is just wonderful though. We stayed in a large bungalow with our own front porch, comfortable adirondack chairs and hammocks. One of our favorite things to do was come home from a great dinner and drinks and smoke a cigar and sit out on the porch. Also, the bungalows have great hi-speed Internet that works out on the porch and in the room. It made it easy for us to plan our itinerary and stay in touch with friends on Skype at home.

The breakfast that comes with the room is wonderful too. Out in the little courtyard, the staff cooks up breakfast made to order for you. I enjoyed the American breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast and fresh mangos every morning, while my fiance liked the Asian style breakfast with rice and sweet sausage. The best part is that one morning I came out early and forgot his order, the nice lady working there remembered it for me and cooked up his favorite just for him!!

The service was great, we felt secure and so thankful to have ended up at this charming, relaxed laid back little haven!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MATRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I agree about the great location and great staff. Also reasonable price. But personally I had a problem with the night staff who did not allow me to re-enter my room. The situation was only resolved when I contacted the police. There are lots of good places to stay in this part of the the beach without this hassle. Try Summer Place or SeaWind , both nearby. The best place to stay for me is Daves Straw Hat Inn, although it is a walk to the night spots. For the romantics, forget White Beach and go to Baling Hai resort.

Stayed: April 2007
7  Thank scoondle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

WOW!!
This resort is reasonably priced, comfortable beachfront locality and pleasant accommodation with a beautiful garden restaurant. there is a very nice helpful staff and a dependable management!
.......beachfront is recognized as the best bathing area in the entire island!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank coalminerBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Kaiyana Boracay Beach Resort
1 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#123 of 151 in Boracay
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 151 in Boracay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lime Hotel Boracay
Lime Hotel Boracay
#27 of 151 in Boracay
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Aloha Boracay Hotel
Aloha Boracay Hotel
#43 of 151 in Boracay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Bungalow Rest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Bungalow Rest Houses

Address: | Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $72 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Bungalow Rest Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Bungalows is situated since 1986, almost in the middle of Boracay's 3km long white beach...Our establishment is set in a spacious tropical garden, and is a oasis reaching up to the beachfront, covering an area of about 4000m2.... We have numerous Bungalows, Rooms and Apartments with all the conveniences like AC, hot- water shower, TV and the likes... We also still have some native- style bungalows, fan- cooled, with private shower¦ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bamboo Bungalow Rest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Bungalow Rest Houses Hotel Boracay
Bamboo Hotel Rest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing