We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Billion dollar view location budget hotel VFM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White House Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Billion dollar view location budget hotel VFM”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

20 feet from beach. Internet not bad. No phone in room . So have to track down staff for things. Located in a kinda private and secluded part of boracay beach. Breakfast basic as is the room. But it has hot water and great sat tv. The bed was too soft for me . Air con good. Thanks to boracay hotel guide they are the best.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ushkas, Manager at White House Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello, and thanks for the review! Yes on the island you are right basic needs are met and the rest of the fun is on the beach :) We are happy you enjoyed the soft beds! See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    98
    47
    24
    16
See reviews for
73
70
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A mix of ups and downs but overall, a pleasant stay given its value for money pricing.

This is my budget stay while at Boracay, and my other two reviews were of Shangri-la and Discovery Shores. Completely different price tiers obviously and I have kept this review focused and objective on what I liked and disliked about it.

Likes:
1. Convenient Location (walking distance on beach to all the action at station 2)

2. Rooms (Rooms located in the newer block have new furnishings, which are pretty good for a SGD125 per night stay)

3. Good standard of food for their in house F&B, chef does a modern twist on some of the local dishes such as the delicious Sisig wrap.

4. Although obviously not trained to standards of a five star establishment (and I was not expecting it), the service remains personable, warm and ever willing with smiles all around.

Dislikes:
1. Regular power trips. Although the power comes back on fairly quickly (we waited 5-8mins at most), it remains an inconvenience I would not associate with a SGD125 a night room.

2. Mosquitoes. Don't leave the balcony doors open lest they infiltrate and reside in the room.

Overall, expect what one should expect from this price tier and there would be no major disappointments. It's great for those seeking just a comfortable hotel room to stay and not bother about hotel environment setting, design/architecture and full fledge amenities. After all, for some, there's just so much more to do in amazing Boracay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLHS-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talisay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The resort was like a cozy home right next to the beach. Their deluxe room is really big and their beds are super comfortable. Loved the beach-front sun beds and the fact that they had staff watching over the guests at the beach - it was safe enough to even leave our beach stuff while we went swimming. Their gate at the back facing the highway is convenient and it always had a guard on duty somagain it is safe even at night.

Poolside cabanas were a great place to hangout and the front desk staff helped us get the room we wanted and even reminded us of the time we should leave for us not to miss our flight. The driver then helped us go through the chaotic maze at the jetty port right until we had seated in the boat.

Would definitely return for the comfy rooms, great beach front service and the location.

Room Tip: They give discounts to returning customers, but only if you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gia0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Upon arriving to Boracay we shopped for a hotel in Station 1 as recommended by family members (instead of booking online or going to an agency). We toured rooms as well as scoped out the resort grounds. We found White House Beach Resort to be the most welcoming and value for our money. The room was clean and inviting. The only downfall was hearing some traffic but I didn't mind it. But see for yourself! Get a tour and find what calls you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't expect 5-star service but I do expect competent service at the very least. The staff here is so INCOMPETENT, especially the reception. THEY ALMOST MADE US MISS OUR FLIGHT!

Transfers from hotel to the Boracay port is included in the room rate. Weeks then days before, I emailed them my flight details. They knew they were supposed to bring someone to the port on that day but made no effort to make arrangements for it. In the morning of our flight, we eveninformed them about the time we were supposed to be picked up in the afternoon. When the time of pickup came, no one went to our room. We went to reception and they were clueless as to who will bring us to the port. They can't even tell us if there's really someone bringing us to the port. There is no sense of urgency even though it's already 2 hours before our flight. No one seems to care at all that were about to miss our flight. No one even tried to find us some form of transportation. The manager kept saying she didn't know about it and that she was not informed about it by the person we spoke to in the morning. While making excuses, she made no effort at all to get us a ride. We had to drag our luggage and find 2 tricycles by ourselves on the main road and make our way to the port by ourselves. Imagine how much of a hassle finding tricycles in the main road for 2 adults and 4 kids with luggage? That's the last straw for us, having 5 days of bad service. So I'M ENUMERATING ALL THE OTHER BAD SERVICE they gave to show how inattentive and uncaring the staff were and to beware that they will treat you the same way if you book at this resort:

1. PICKUP AT BORACAY PORT. They made no attempt to coordinate with us regarding pickup at Boracay port on the day of our arrival. I emailed them several times with no reply until I called them. We were told to call when we were on the boat already. At the boat, I called them and they were clueless as to who will pick us up.

2. ARRIVAL IN OUR ROOM: We arrived on time at check-in and the room was not ready. They expected 6 people but they had beds and towels for only 4 people. We had to follow-up on this and repeatedly follow-up on the towels.

3. LINEN: When we went to our room on the day of our arrival, the linen on the bed are all crumpled and looked used by the previous occupant. We had doubts if they removed the linen of the previous occupant so we actually needed to follow up on this.

4. IN ROOM SAFE: it's not working and they made no attempt to fix it even when we complained about it.

5. WHEN MY SON CALLED RECEPTION AND ASKED FOR THE WIFI PASSWORD, he also reported to the person he's speaking to that there is no signal in the 2f family beachfront room we booked. The reception rudely answered him: why is he asking for a wifi password at all when there's no signal in the room?

6. WIFI: no wifi in the family room beachfront. You can pick up residencia resort and sur resorts wifi but not at white house.

7. BEDS AND PILLOWS: uneven and uncomfortable. We didn't sleep well.

7. HOUSEKEEPING: when we stayed in the room till after lunch, housekeeping knocked at our room, blocked their cleaning things across our door, and drove us out of our room. Instead of waiting for us to call them to clean their room, they went to our room and drove us out so they can clean it and I suppose go home early. Good thing we were going out anyway so we let it slide since we don't want to ruin our vacation by being ill-tempered about it.

8. AFTER ALMOST MAKING US MISS OUR FLIGHT, by not providing the transportation they promised, they were unapologetic and did not help us at all to get another transportation.

Other guests at reception agreed that their service is really that bad when we complained because they were receiving the same treatment. One guest can't even find her luggage that she left at reception and when she asked reception, they don't know where it is our whether it was placed in her room.

WE WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO A FRIEND OR RELATIVE DESPITE THE LOCATION. They gave us so much hassle that it took so much effort on our part not to let their bad service ruin our vacation. This is a family vacation we look forward to every year. This place will ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riotsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at the White House for a wedding and we practically had half the resort booked for it. The location, for me, is its prime selling point and that would be it. Booked almost all the room types and was quite happy with the Beach House (which is the largest property there) as it put you right front and center of the pool and the beach. I would recommend doing this for larger families and just request for extra beds, which they can provide. For couples, the extra you will pay for a premiere deluxe on the 2nd floor is worth it, because the balcony is quite spacious and would be ideal for afternoon naps or eating breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast is not buffet style, but is served in your room. So it is perfect if you have a balcony. But you can also have it served in the cabanas, which is also perfect. Wifi is also available but can be slow in some inner parts of the resort. The bar and the cabanas are also a great feature as friends and/or family can just hang out there and have drinks at sunset. The bar is also stocked with decent drinks.

However, be careful of the front desk service which was terribly slow. They bungled up a lot of our reservations, which we already expected as we were a big group. I am not sure how they do with individuals, though. Good thing we had printed copies of our reservations and down payments, otherwise we would have paid extra on top of the actual room charges. One more thing, they did try charging us with a 5% surcharge on credit card payments. In the Philippines, there is a law on just having one price on cash or card. Just make sure you tell them that.

In all, it was a great experience if you do not count the horror of checking in and checking out. The service, though, of the other hotel staff such as housekeeping and wait staff were absolutely great.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Premiere Deluxe rooms. The balcony is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmptorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for the second time (first was back in July 2012). We booked the first floor deluxe room and the room was much better than the 2nd floor room we previously stayed. The service here has been excellent and we were not really bothered by the construction of new rooms. They said that they will be opening 9 more rooms in April so this is good for those wanting to stay here since the resort is almost always fully booked.

The location is excellent and they have very nice cabanas.

Room Tip: Take the rooms at the 1st floor.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank choc_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
#24 of 147 in Boracay
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.3 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 147 in Boracay
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 147 in Boracay
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
#72 of 147 in Boracay
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencia Boracay
Residencia Boracay
#57 of 147 in Boracay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Beach Resort

Property: White House Beach Resort
Address: | White Beach, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White House Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run beach resort, White House Beach Resort was built by Leonard & Nenette Tirol in the early 90s, as a family beach house to enjoy with the family and where they could entertain friends. Built on the site of the Tirol family’s ancestral beach home, the Tirol family laid the foundations of what is today, the most prime portion of Boracay island (Station 1). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your White House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Beach Hotel Boracay
White Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing