We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Mango”
Review of Blue Mango Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Mango Inn
Ranked #69 of 229 Boracay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was a great place to stay in an excellent location. Based in Station 3, the beach was clean, uncrowded and beautiful. A 10 - 15 minute stroll takes you to D'Mall which is the lively part of the island with bars and restaurants galore.
The was a slight mix up with regards to our booking but it was dealt with effectively and we were put in the 'Loft' which is a lovely family apartment for our first night before being moved to another Garden room. The room was large and comfortable with a spacious balcony.
The food at the Blue Mango was really very good, I think I nearly ate everything Filipino on the menu and it was all very good indeed.
I have to admit the price was a bit steeper than I would have estimated, but did book directly from the UK. That said, breakfast and unlimited water was included and we had a 3 course candlelit dinner on the beach thrown in too!
Vaughn and his wife were attentive and friendly, but clearly busy. very focused on customer service. The rest of the staff were fairly good too
I particularly like the focus on the environment and preserving the area that Vaughn and much of the people of Boracay have. Refreshing!
Additionally, there is no curfew here
My only gripe is that our room wasn't cleaned daily as I would have expected and we had to ask for clean towels after 4 days.
Overall, I would recommend this as a place to stay but would suggest that different prices reflect different rooms so check on what you have booked. We did see another double room that was not as clean or nice as where we stayed. I imagine that room would be cheaper though

Room Tip: The Loft would be a great family apartment but does only consist of two bedrooms - one has a large f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddlingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

For LGBT couples, friendly relaxed and accommodating, like most of the Philippines. I booked an ocean side suite and a garden room for my family of 4 (2 gay couples).

PROS:
GREAT price, FABULOUS location, right on quiet and private beachfront just south of station 3. Relaxed friendly staff - particularly manager Vicky and owner Vaughan, and no staff were ever up-selling other activities like many other hotels do. 24 hour free breakfast was great. Free WiFi on premises even reached to the beach shoreline! Terrific assistance with planning travel changes/bookings and organizing go kart racing. Caticlan airport pickup and departure handling was made effortless with great staff, own vehicle and friendly service. They maintain their own generator.

CONS:
Rooms are a little tired, but for value for money, nothing really wrong. If being picky, better bathroom amenities, nicer towels, and keeping hot water tanks turned on would be only major suggestions. Only other sadness was leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TobySimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I and my boyfriend stayed in Blue Mango Inn this July. The hotel is located in the quieter part of White Beach, station 3 (approximately a 15-20 minutes walk to D'mall). The beach is very nice here, and was not crowded. In my mind, the location is the best selling point for this hotel. Except for the location i find that the hotel is a bit overrated on Trip Advisor (I booked it based on the reviews) as it is quite expensive considering that the room standard is pretty basic. Further I am not impressed by the service! For several days we were more or less the only guests in the hotel, however the staff failed to clean our room for two days, we asked for houskeeping the third day, the room was cleaned, the next day the room was not cleaned again. Seems like bad routines, The owner Vaughan and his wife were very service minded, but most of the staff appeard very lazy, spending most of their time on Facebook. Another con is that the Wifi did not work very well in the rooms (we had two different rooms during our stay) as the signal was very low. The stay was ok, but I would not stay here again if I were to return to Boracay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Been here in march 2006 for our honeymoon, and this became our benchmark for all the trips we had after that. Came back here , this time with our son, and I must say, this is why Boracay is the place to be. Located in station 3, this inn is a jewel. Money worth spending for accommodation like home. Staff are friendly and ever helpful. From Gelvin-the driver, who assisted us from the Caticlan airport to the inn and back. To 'Lovelyn" our babysitter who is trustworthy and sweet. To "May and Lala" the servers. Our breakfast is always ready, whether we take it at the beach huts or in the lobby or in our room. The beds may be called double-size but they are actually queens. Each room has this, so it is not a problem if you have kids or not. You can have all the space you want/need. The comfort rooms are descent. They've amenities like in any other other hotels - aircon, cable tv, ref, wifi 24hours at any place in the inn. You get your every dollar's worth and much more. Vaughn the owner responds to emails and any other requests like no other. If you want a quiet and comfortable stay in Boracay, as a couple or with family, come to this place. It's a must!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great for families. The rooms in the main structure is good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sojourner_MVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Mango Inn early January 2011. Vaughan is the attentive owner of the Blue Mango Inn, which is in the quieter part of town [station 3]. Traveled to Boracay with my husband, father and brother so we booked the family loft. The loft was just the right size for 4 people. The bathroom needs a little updating but you forget that when you're enjoying the perfect Boracay beach. I would definitely go back to the Blue Mango Inn but will book the ocean front room next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed at Blue Mango Inn earlier this year and what a find! Boracay is a true paradise! Blue Mango Inn have a prefect location right in front ot the beach. At some times of the day (mostly in the mornings) if you go a bit further up there is not much beach to sit on. There is always beach to lie/sit on in front of Blue Mango so it's a perfect location in my opinion. It was nice and quiet and the water was just amazing! They also offer diving courses which was perfect as my friend obtained her scuba diving license during our stay. The room was spacious with big beds, airconditioning and a fridge. The owners were very helpful and always around to assist if needed. They also offer free internet for all guests in the lobby area.

Loved Boracay and would definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here a good week and got a great walk in rate. The rooms are good and clean, there is also a free breakfast included. Try the muesli with joghurt and fruits :-) Fresh towels (room & beach) + WIFI make it a great place to chill out. We loved the atmosphere and friendly staff there. When we lay lazy on our sundbeds they would come up and serve us free cold water to freshen up! The place is at boastation 3, but only a 10min. walk from the busy nightlife away. Thank you for making our time on Boracay special! Jaci and Diana :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soultour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#13 of 152 in Boracay
881 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#108 of 152 in Boracay
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#59 of 152 in Boracay
313 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boracay Actopia Resort
Boracay Actopia Resort
#101 of 229 in Boracay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango Inn

Address: Sitio Angol | Barangay Manoc, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range: $38 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mango Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mango Inn is a family owned and operated establishment located at the station 3 end of Boracay's white beach. We have 14 rooms ranging from, Oceanview rooms, to deluxe garden rooms to family rooms able to accommodate entire familys of 4-6 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Blue Mango Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mango Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing