We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wonderful stay at orchids villa resort.”
Review of Orchids Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boracay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchids Resort
Ranked #67 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My wonderful stay at orchids villa resort.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I love coming to boracay & most of all I love staying at orchids resort. The last 2 times coming here,[most recent sept. 2012 ], we have stayed at the villas.WOW! What a place!Queit, secluded,very clean & beautiful rooms.But what keeps me coming back is the care of the staff.This is what is important to me is the care we get & the real reason I love this place.Special mention to Marlon {caretaker of the villas} & Herman .Marlon is easy to reach for any problems, even if there is an emergency late at night.For the price of staying at the villa. You won,t find a better deal in my opinion.
I have also stayed at orchids resort {seperated from the villas}.Wonderful staff there too.Also where the office is to check into the villas.

Thank you so much orchids resorts.

Glen, Analie & Daryle Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    111
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
52
128
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

So I always hear Boracay's prices are slighty on the high side. Orchids Resort are one of the few resorts to offer rooms for a very low price. I paid PHP400++ per night for a low season price. It was good for 2-3 persons and came with a fan and a private bathroom. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was minimal. Rooms were not hot at all as it was made of a native wood and can be really cold in the morning. Breakfast was free. Wifi worked well at the common area but can be a bit choppy in the room but not an issue at all. The owner, an American is a very nice person. The staff were a friendly bunch too except for some but it wasn't a big issue. The beach was just 2 minutes away from the property. They arranged for me my transport back to Kalibo Airport which was a good price of PHP450. The sea water was very clear which made the entire stay a huge plus. Will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHAIFULLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Orchid Resort at Boracay is just minutes from beach with great price & service to match.... I would recommend the Orchid Resort to anyone looking for value & great location. The Orchids friendly staff is always nearby ready to assist.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AHWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was supposed to be for a romantic getaway. The resort was too secluded. The entrance is from the beachfront yes, but you enter through a very narrow passageway which floods when it rains. Then upon arriving at the resort there is still a walk then at least a 30-50 step climb. We felt tired throughout the vacation and our knees ached. There were goats and frogs all over the property and the kitchen has an ant problem. The wifi is SLOW! And the manager seemed like he doesn't give a damn. It wasn't what we hope for.

Something positive, the villa was roomy and had two televisions the aircon was good. I'll give a three for sleep quality it knocked us out because we got so pissed tired everyday that we cant even drink beer because of the fear that we wont be able to climb back!

Room Tip: Its cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meryl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Goats. The goats ARE NOT OUR GOATS. And the goats ARE NOT ON OUR PROPERTY as inaccurately stated by the guests. Yes, there are goats on the short walkway to the villas…and the goats are owned by a neighboring resort. We cant control goats that are owned by a neighboring resort.

Frogs. It’s the rainy season…frogs are everywhere

Water on the pathway. Yes, this is a valid complaint and issue. We didn’t use to have a water problem on the walkway….we’re talking about 10-20 yds of ankle deep water when we have short, heavy rains. We now have a problem caused by 1) one adjacent resort building a fence that blocks previous drainage onto their property and forcing water back onto the walkay, 2) another adjoining resort building a cement fence that blocks previous drainange onto their property whereby water now is back on the walkway, and 3) another adjoining resort building up their ground level by 2 feet thereby forcing no more drainage on their property and thereby forcing the water back onto the walkway.

…we have no control over what our neighboring resorts can or cannot do…and we have a good working relationship…however, we are not happy about the water problem on the walkway..and if you wait about 30 min, then the water has been absorbed and gone.

Wifi.. Yes, while these guests were present, another long staying guest was downloading movies, whatever, at all hours of the day/night. We complained to the other guest to please stop and needless to say…he didn’t. This guest is no longer a guest nor a long staying guest, but these guests should note that we were aware of the slow wifi…and we tried to fix it…as this is not normally the case.

Finally, owner or management “not giving a damm”.. We care very much about our guests.

Ask the couple that frantically called us 2 weeks ago and realizing they had left their passports in the villa safe…we stopped everything…sent a staff member over on the run (30-40 min cycle and boat and cycle ride) so that the guests would not miss their domestic and follow-on international flight,

Ask the guy we helped argue with a local cycle operator who wanted to charge about 5 times too much over the going price for repairs on his cycle,

Ask the girl who ‘didn’t’ wake up when it turns out that she had a reading of 40 on low sugar and our staff ran to the nearest doctor for immediate medical assistance and that we asked the nursing staff to please stay with the patient the entire morning,

Ask ALL of our guests that arrive via Caticlan that they appreciate our transfer assistance…as we meet and escort all of our guests arriving via caticlan and want to make sure our guests are not ripped off by transfer vendors along the way…and we pay for our staff expenses.

Etc etc etc.

So…yes we care…and we care very much.

Had this couple ever mentioned any of the above issues, we would have gladly discussed with them…

Mr. Turner / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we went to Boracay, we wanted to stay in a bamboo cottage, or something similar, and we wanted to find low prices. For this, Orchids Resort was perfect. During the low season, we stayed for 545 pesos per night in a basic fan room. Almost everything in the room was made of bamboo or seashells, which was charming. The staff was friendly and the property was nice. The only downsides were the long walk to Station 2 and the unavoidable bugs around all of the bamboo. Just don't come here looking for modern luxury, and you should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Amazing resort! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful/ accommodating to all guests. The rooms were clean and just minutes to the beach! Would highly recommend to all travellers. My favourite part of staying at Orchids was eating their amazing breakfasts. I would highly recommend it.
Jenn, Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamora, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

They will charge you 2.000 pisos for the transport from Kalibo Airport to the Resort (round trip) and you can get it easily at the airport for only 400 pisos.

If you wanna pay using your credit card ... ¡they will charge you a 7.5% commission!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SoanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
hi...and we appreciate the guest staying the 4 nights with us. however, i really need to know where he received the information that we charge 2000 php for r/t kalibo-resort-kalibo transfer services. we offer r/t a/c bus, banca and van service direct to/from the resort for a total of 900 php...much less than any 2000 php? as for a lower rate and including on island van service and banca service and service between caticlan and airport r/t, perhaps the lowest you can find is a combined 650-700 php with no guarantee of a/c service, several stops and nonguarantee of airport arrival on time.

as for the 7.5% credit card fee, we encourage all of our guests to pay in cash and we tell them up front that they need to save money and use the local ATM services and not use our credit card facilities, as the local credit card provider requires that we charge a very, and we believe unfair, service fee...we have limited control over this fee.

the guests 2 star rating reflects a poor performance of our staff...and we sincerely hope that this was not the case especially since he stayed 4 nights and we would have gladly refunded him any advanced deposits if he wanted to move elsewhere.

thanks. Mr Turner / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Cool Stay Inn
Cool Stay Inn
#111 of 146 in Boracay
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#11 of 146 in Boracay
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#52 of 146 in Boracay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#119 of 146 in Boracay
157 reviews
3.0 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#67 of 223 in Boracay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Resort

Property: Orchids Resort
Address: Station 3, Angol, Aklan Province 1268, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the island's most attractive, low-budget resorts, the ORCHIDS RESORT features native rooms and cottages made of native bamboo and nipa. And now equipped with Wireless Internet Connection. ORCHIDS RESORT is ideally located less than a minute walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchids Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing