We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Villas are not for those with weak knees, pregnant or young children” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchids Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boracay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchids Resort
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Villas are not for those with weak knees, pregnant or young children”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was supposed to be for a romantic getaway. The resort was too secluded. The entrance is from the beachfront yes, but you enter through a very narrow passageway which floods when it rains. Then upon arriving at the resort there is still a walk then at least a 30-50 step climb. We felt tired throughout the vacation and our knees ached. There were goats and frogs all over the property and the kitchen has an ant problem. The wifi is SLOW! And the manager seemed like he doesn't give a damn. It wasn't what we hope for.

Something positive, the villa was roomy and had two televisions the aircon was good. I'll give a three for sleep quality it knocked us out because we got so pissed tired everyday that we cant even drink beer because of the fear that we wont be able to climb back!

Room Tip: Its cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meryl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Goats. The goats ARE NOT OUR GOATS. And the goats ARE NOT ON OUR PROPERTY as inaccurately stated by the guests. Yes, there are goats on the short walkway to the villas…and the goats are owned by a neighboring resort. We cant control goats that are owned by a neighboring resort.

Frogs. It’s the rainy season…frogs are everywhere

Water on the pathway. Yes, this is a valid complaint and issue. We didn’t use to have a water problem on the walkway….we’re talking about 10-20 yds of ankle deep water when we have short, heavy rains. We now have a problem caused by 1) one adjacent resort building a fence that blocks previous drainage onto their property and forcing water back onto the walkay, 2) another adjoining resort building a cement fence that blocks previous drainange onto their property whereby water now is back on the walkway, and 3) another adjoining resort building up their ground level by 2 feet thereby forcing no more drainage on their property and thereby forcing the water back onto the walkway.

…we have no control over what our neighboring resorts can or cannot do…and we have a good working relationship…however, we are not happy about the water problem on the walkway..and if you wait about 30 min, then the water has been absorbed and gone.

Wifi.. Yes, while these guests were present, another long staying guest was downloading movies, whatever, at all hours of the day/night. We complained to the other guest to please stop and needless to say…he didn’t. This guest is no longer a guest nor a long staying guest, but these guests should note that we were aware of the slow wifi…and we tried to fix it…as this is not normally the case.

Finally, owner or management “not giving a damm”.. We care very much about our guests.

Ask the couple that frantically called us 2 weeks ago and realizing they had left their passports in the villa safe…we stopped everything…sent a staff member over on the run (30-40 min cycle and boat and cycle ride) so that the guests would not miss their domestic and follow-on international flight,

Ask the guy we helped argue with a local cycle operator who wanted to charge about 5 times too much over the going price for repairs on his cycle,

Ask the girl who ‘didn’t’ wake up when it turns out that she had a reading of 40 on low sugar and our staff ran to the nearest doctor for immediate medical assistance and that we asked the nursing staff to please stay with the patient the entire morning,

Ask ALL of our guests that arrive via Caticlan that they appreciate our transfer assistance…as we meet and escort all of our guests arriving via caticlan and want to make sure our guests are not ripped off by transfer vendors along the way…and we pay for our staff expenses.

Etc etc etc.

So…yes we care…and we care very much.

Had this couple ever mentioned any of the above issues, we would have gladly discussed with them…

Mr. Turner / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    111
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
50
128
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we went to Boracay, we wanted to stay in a bamboo cottage, or something similar, and we wanted to find low prices. For this, Orchids Resort was perfect. During the low season, we stayed for 545 pesos per night in a basic fan room. Almost everything in the room was made of bamboo or seashells, which was charming. The staff was friendly and the property was nice. The only downsides were the long walk to Station 2 and the unavoidable bugs around all of the bamboo. Just don't come here looking for modern luxury, and you should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Amazing resort! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful/ accommodating to all guests. The rooms were clean and just minutes to the beach! Would highly recommend to all travellers. My favourite part of staying at Orchids was eating their amazing breakfasts. I would highly recommend it.
Jenn, Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamora, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

They will charge you 2.000 pisos for the transport from Kalibo Airport to the Resort (round trip) and you can get it easily at the airport for only 400 pisos.

If you wanna pay using your credit card ... ¡they will charge you a 7.5% commission!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SoanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PencilsPoints, Owner at Orchids Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
hi...and we appreciate the guest staying the 4 nights with us. however, i really need to know where he received the information that we charge 2000 php for r/t kalibo-resort-kalibo transfer services. we offer r/t a/c bus, banca and van service direct to/from the resort for a total of 900 php...much less than any 2000 php? as for a lower rate and including on island van service and banca service and service between caticlan and airport r/t, perhaps the lowest you can find is a combined 650-700 php with no guarantee of a/c service, several stops and nonguarantee of airport arrival on time.

as for the 7.5% credit card fee, we encourage all of our guests to pay in cash and we tell them up front that they need to save money and use the local ATM services and not use our credit card facilities, as the local credit card provider requires that we charge a very, and we believe unfair, service fee...we have limited control over this fee.

the guests 2 star rating reflects a poor performance of our staff...and we sincerely hope that this was not the case especially since he stayed 4 nights and we would have gladly refunded him any advanced deposits if he wanted to move elsewhere.

thanks. Mr Turner / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Orchids Resort and Private Villas, is since 2009 , my home, i do frequently in a year the private Villas! It was always a pleasure staying there! The building is in an excellent condition and provides all needs required, to feel home and well received !! As well the care taker Marlon is a great plus, who is always around and checks for needs, such as beverages or anything else else . The cleaning is done frequently during the week and always top!!!

If this place would be as great as it is, i would not have come here several times a year and that since the Private Villas starts operating

Great people, great place !!!!

Room Tip: Any room is good, just check for your own needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at one of the Villas for about 19 nights. My son and I arrived a night early and we were accommodated immediately. The villa was modest, clean and comfortable. With good and silent air-conditioning in the bedroom, adequate kitchen and living room upstairs. Almost everything I need can be found in the kitchen except for strainer. A good size refrigerator kept our food and drinks cool. Tv can be found on both floors, with so many channels to choose from. Eg: cartoon network, Disney, HBO, MTV, BBC news.
Staff incredibly pleasant, always friendly and willing to assist with any of my request or questions. The villa itself is very private. So much peacefulness, with only the sound of nature, frogs, birds, and the sound of the sea at a distance. Ofcourse, like most places in Asia it came with all the bugs, geckos, mosquitoes and the like. But even 4 star hotels have them. I took the comfort of spraying baygon, it helps in easing the worries of the mind.
The owners were very friendly and approachable. I noticed that they tried to change a few words with their clients, asking if we were being taken cared of. Very thoughtful of them.
With a seven year old, it took us almost 3 - 4 mins. to walk the trail to the beach. Quiet, almost empty beach! No VENDORS all the time shouting boat hopping mam, pearls mam, sunglasses mam....I really enjoyed my stay in the villa and I will stay again in future vacation. But next time i will remember to bring my own towels, because they only provide towels with unsterilized ones. Towels should be wash with 60 to 90 deg.c programs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Opi091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stumbled across Orchids online this year and I am very happy I did. I am a tour operater with an adventure back packing company (freeandeasytraveler.com) and was looking for a new place to bring my tour groups and was forunate enough to meet Lynn, a great Texan, who set us up wonderfully. I have been there on 3 different occasions with large groups and each time the staff has exceeded my expectations and we have all always left with big smiles on our faces.
The resort is very nicely tucked away from any noise, giving it a very nice secluded vibe. The rooms are very authentic and the beds are very very comfortable. A cool touch are all the hand made sea shell light fixtures and decorations and the welcome gifts of sea shell necklaces and key chains!! The breakfasts there are great and it has a nice common area to sit and have some drinks before you hit up the night life on the other end of the beach. And one of the best parts is the price! You cannot beat it.
I highly recommend Orchids Boracay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the bungalows with patios and hammocks are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cool Stay Inn
Cool Stay Inn
#106 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#33 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#11 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#80 of 217 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
#3 of 165 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Resort

Property: Orchids Resort
Address: Station 3, Angol, Aklan Province 1268, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the island's most attractive, low-budget resorts, the ORCHIDS RESORT features native rooms and cottages made of native bamboo and nipa. And now equipped with Wireless Internet Connection. ORCHIDS RESORT is ideally located less than a minute walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchids Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing