We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but falls short on expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandala Spa & Resort Villas
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The first impression of mandala spa as the tricycle enters the main gates is spectacular ..just as imagined or maybe more. Then we check into our villa which is pure tranquility .the staff is extremely polite and friendly but the service is bad! The reception answers ur call one in 10 times !! My friend and I enrolled for the 1 day detox course...and were abandoned by the caretaker (apparently the only person in charge of all detoxers) even though the first drink they have made me all queezy and tremendously uneasy (which is normal apparently) but still there was no one to take care or even return a call!! There are so many other little things like not bringing a cup with the tea to the room etc etc. overall a disappointment which is luckily forgotten the minute you see the color of the gorgeous water in boracay !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stutimodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalas, Manager at Mandala Spa & Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We sincerely apologize for falling short of expectations, and we have taken measures to correct the issue of the phone not being answered on time. We did not mean to make you feel abandoned, we have realized that the lack of easy access to your detox guide was caused by a communication error in our internal phone systems and this issue has been resolved.

We thank you very much for bringing this to our attention, we value your input as this helps in our continued efforts to strive for service excellence.

warmest regards
Mandala Spa & Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We tried the Hilot massage. From the moment we reserved til the end of the treatment, the whole experience has been satisfactory, except that the lobby flooring is made from bamboo sticks,my partner had been trying to put on her necklace and accidentally, the pendant slipped from her fingers ang whaddaya know-it fell into the ground thru the bamboo, upon approaching the receptionist, she came and have a look, then gave us the expected,yet dissapointed reply "I'm afraid the answer is NO"! Well, the gold will be flickering foen there for years to come, I was just hoping if 1day the management will reconstruct the building...wishful thinking!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalas, General Manager at Mandala Spa & Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear THAM38,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, we do apologize about the necklace and the inconvenience caused by the bamboo flooring. Please do e-mail me directly at resortmanager@mandalaspa.com and I shall see if we can locate it and mail it back to you.

We are grateful for your patronage.

warmest regards,
Mandala Spa & Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The entrance to Mandala is off the less than impressive main road near station 1 but it's like entering another world you pass the gates and make your way up to reception.

I only have two regrets!

One is that I didn't go during the day to really enjoy the lush greenery and foliage on the way to our treatment room. It's like entering a rain forest but I couldn't fully appreciate the beauty around me as it was night time.

Two is that I ONLY got a massage due to time constraints. The massage was wonderful and I really wish that I had had the time to use that as a 'primer' for their other treatments.

Service was also fabulous. I felt so calm and serene at the end of it. It truly is a wonderful spa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalas, Manager at Mandala Spa & Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hello Sue C,

Thank you very much for the kinds words, it is a shame that your did not get the chance to come by during the daytime, the greenery of the environment is truly a sight for sore eyes. :) We hope to see you again during your next visit and we may assist in prolonging your experience with us.

warmest regards
Mandala Spa & Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I frequent the island of Boracay not just to relax and enjoy the white sand beach the Philippines has been boasting about but also to visit Mandala Spa - with its exceptional service, you'll always feel pampered and loved. The ambience makes you feel like you're one with nature, like you have found your place of solace. They even offer yoga sessions for free! Every visit is always an amazing experience for me.

Room Tip: Most of their rooms are villas so almost all the rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlesvincentsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've always been a massage aficionado but after my Mandala spa experience, I can best be described as an instant fanatic. If only I could go to Boracay every single week just to experience the deep tissue massage plus sauna, I definitely would! Boracay will not be complete without experiencing Mandala. The massage was invigorating in all aspects. It's calming, and even sleep inducing. It will relax you physically, mentally, and emotionally... an authentic sensory delight. As you enter the villa, relaxing sounds of nature and scent of massage oils and flowers welcome you. The massage itself was the highlight. I'm craving for another one right now. I am grateful that I was able to experience it. I will surely GO BACK to MANDALA!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

For our second trip to Boracay, we decided to stay again at the wellness heven Mandal Spa. With hilltop views of the ocean surrounded by lush gardens far away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists area...this is the quiet perfect retreat were searching for. We were amazed yet again with the level of service provided by the owner Sir Jove and his wonderful team. They went well above our expectations in every area... AGAIN! We did some yoga, had some treatments, ate seafood...perfect!

Room Tip: Both we have stayed in were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I'm a city boy.
Most of my spa experiences have revolved around what the city provides as ''spa'' centres. Boy, was I totally missing out.
One visit to the Mandala Spa and Villas was what brought me to this realization.
While it suffices to say that everything about THIS spa is EXCELLENT and that it's almost difficult to say just one thing about the experience that stood out, let me attempt to elaborate...

Here, each of the senses are paid tribute to in a true cohesion of nature's beauty and man's expertise. A tranquil pathway from the entrance leads you to an embrace of lush greenery until you are greeted by their welcoming staff.

If one notices these things, you would note how well-trained the Mandala staff are as even their very movement can be mesmerizing.

Once your treatment begins, tranquility becomes bliss. The softest sarong, the fragile flower petals rubbed against your tired feet as they are washed in activated water, the choices of scented natural oils, their therapist's expert touch and the faintest music highlighting nature from outside.

I became putty. Happy putty, I'm telling you.

I would not even attempt to explain the treatment I had beyond it being scrubs, massages and facials. It was 2.5 hours of heaven on Earth is all I can really say.

After the generous 2.5 hours (none of this is rushed), you are offered a pot of tea. This is no sad tea, mind you. Its ginger base and other ingredients confirm that whatever troubles there might have been have already gone.

Do not be surprised if you look at yourself in the mirror after all that and notice that your skin seems to be glowing. I was. My eyes weren't deceiving me then, because my friend actually said the exact same thing when she saw me.

I needed to spread the word, so as soon as I left, I whipped out my phone and tweeted about the experience (city boy, remember?)
I got several tweets back from people who have had their own Mandala Spa experience. All echoed my satisfaction (some even said they didn't want to leave)
That assured me, really, that what I had was a consistent Mandala Spa and Villas experience.

So, yeah. City Boy Met Mandala.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayceCJacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#25 of 148 in Boracay
1,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 148 in Boracay
750 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 148 in Boracay
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Spa & Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Spa & Resort Villas

Address: Station 3, Ambulong | Manoc-Manoc, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $138 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandala Spa & Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are committed to holistic wellness and well being. Our eco-friendly and luxurious resort villas are your door to a universe of healthy lifestyle options and internationally awarded spa treatments. The lush resort estate is private, full of tropical nature and birdsong. Mandala Spa and Resort Villas is located near station 3, just 5 minutes walking distance to White Beach. Each resort villa has its own private entrance, teak floors and vaulted ceilings. All villas are equipped with Wi-Fi, a 42 inch LCD TV, safe, mini bar, slippers, bathrobes, beach bags are provided for your use on the island or as a souvenir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mandala Spa & Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Spa And Villas
Mandala Spa & Villas Hotel Boracay
Mandala Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing