We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #10 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had a wonderful time here. I love this beautiful place! The room was nice, cool and clean. The stuff was really nice and helpfull! We had some troubble with our phonecard but they help us! Serviceminded! The free book exchange suit me perfect too. Next time I visit Boracay I'll come back to Dave's straw hat inn!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    187
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
96
365
105
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
QC
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was our first time to visit Boracay. We had asked around re places to stay and activities to do. We decided on Dave's as our "home base." The price they gave us was satisfactory.
The first thing that caught our attention upon arriving at Dave's was the friendliness of the staff. They were not only warm with their welcome, they were also extra-helpful when we wanted to inquire about activities in Boracay. I found it interesting that they had a pet dog, who just slept the whole time we were there. We ate our first breakfast there and the food did not disappoint. Try their banana pancakes!
My wife also liked the books that were on display in the reception area; you can either browse, borrow or buy the books if they interest you.
The cottage we were in was very clean and comfortable.
Dave's is not beach-front so that means a two minute walk to the beach, but my wife and I preferred it that way. (We were expecting more noise if we had chosen a beach front resort.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deohsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Definately a good pick to stay at Dave's Straw Hat! Everything is so organise from the transfer to check-out. Quick and personalised service by Dave's straw staff, they will be greeting you at all the times. Room is clean and well-maintained. Slightly away from the beach, however, just 2 minute walk to white sandy beach. Quick response to email & repond effectively to emails and enquiries. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Freak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The place is cozy because it is full of greenish plants around the room. We received a very good service from all the staff in Dave's Straw Hat Inn, thank you so much for everyone there. :-)
And also thank you very much to Janet who is helping us to rent out the extra room.
If we would have a chance to come back to Boracay for holiday, we would definitely consider Dave's Straw Hat Inn in our first priority.

Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPanKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The service is just great. We paid in advance for the rooms but had to cancel one room on the eleventh hour due to one of our friend canceling the trip. The staff took the effort to rent it out and gave us back the refund! It's a cozy place, and totally value for money. The only thing is that it is not a seaview hotel and you gotta walk in about 5 minutes from the beach. The rooms are really clean and fresh. The thing that I like most is that they fold the bath towels in the shape of swans and flowers and placed them on the bed.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellecll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The service was very good. Staff was pleasant.
They do really make tasteful pancakes :) They are huge!! :)
It is quiet place to stay not too far from all amusement (bars, restaurants and so on).
It is just 2 minutes away from the White Beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pypachicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I seriously don't know why this is rated number 1#.

I booked this hotel based on this rating and was oh soo dissappointed. It's a small little ' garden area' with ensuite rooms (about 4 in total). And that's pretty much it.

It's not directly accross water and have to walk through people's yard to get to the beach. There's no additional facilities aside from your bathroom. This place is more like staying at your cousin's cousin's place than a relaxing holiday stay.

There's no entertainment, night life, no wifi, no proper room service... this place is more ideal to retirees..

Tip about this place:
1. Make sure you tell the girls there (staff) that you're room is NOT TO BE ENTERED WITHOUT YOU THERE
2. Don't eat the food there. There are no chefs (just the girls cooking) but plenty of restaurants to eat in.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SeidhWyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boracays3, Owner at Dave's Straw Hat Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments, they are appreciated. It is very true we do NOT have nightly entertainment, nor do we have chefs on duty, nor do we have 24 hour room service and that is what we pride ourselves on, keeping things clean, quiet, and peaceful with a beautiful relaxing atmosphere and one of the best room rates you can find.

We advise guests and thanks for making the point here that if you are seeking glamour, 24 hour room service, partying, pastry chefs, and entertainment nightly, please seek out the bigger 5 star hotels. We are not for you as we are a family run small Inn that caters to our guests and addresses their individually needs personally. All of our guests are part of our family while here, not a room number, so in that case, as you stated, we are like a person’s cousin’s place.

I also have to agree with you, some see internet ratings and think they will stay at a 5 star hotel at a discounted rate based on the many happy guests who left great reviews, only to find out…we do not leave mints on the pillow, nor do we have the things that you mentioned that you were seeking, but we do clean the rooms impeccably and no request by a guest is too big, including trying to find the best rates for activities on Boracay. Our dive rates, as an example, are some of the best on Boracay. Our guests use beach chairs at beach front hotels at no cost and eat with a discount at a favored ocean side restaurant. Our staff will go out of their way to assist any of our guests with any request.

Sorry that staff entered your room, but if you had asked us not to allow it or if you had not left the key, it would not have happened. We have to clean rooms and do it when guests are out for the convenience of the guests, just like most hotels, including what the bigger hotels do. If a guest doesn’t want us in their room, a simple request is all that is necessary.

For information, we have had Wi-Fi for 4 years and it’s operational. The island wide server does have problems from time to time, which is out of our control. The path from the beach to our place is clean, has many small local shops on it now including a place to buy imported food or beer. Wonderful family run small hotels line the pathway and all keep it clean and safe. We are a two minute walk to the beach.

Thanks again for your comments. Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#50 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing