We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #11 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's the attention to detail”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. We walked in and was given 1100php per night. I will base my review/ratings comparing the price to other places throughout SE Asia, not Boracay. The price I got for this type of accommodation was good, but at full price I would not rate it as high.
The rooms (called cottages) were small, clean, of decent quality. Unfortunately the air-condition is the "window" type not the split aircond type so it is noisy. I mentioned this and they did check the aircond and was told it is like that. I rated the sleep quality average because of this.
The tight compound is well kept with lots of vegetation. The place is well kept and they do small things like place a lighted mosquito coil in your "verandah" every night. And almost every night a little candle was lighted there too. Small things, attention to detail shows they put in an effort to make the stay as pleasant as possible.
We tried the mango shakes and pancakes. Good. The mango pancake is big enough for 2 persons if you're not famished.
Wifi was intermittent at times.
There was a 12 hour power cut, but they ran the generator so our comfort was not affected

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristopherTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    190
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
96
368
108
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

First time in Boracay and was looking for a no frills, fuss free place... This place had loads and more! Service was prompt, every enquiry was answered asap, and the staffs are really friendly! Would not think twice to stay again at Dave's when I return... Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adzri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed there for about a week 3 years ago, and this time I stayed for over 3 weeks. Most of the same staff are still there and just as passionate, friendly and helpful.
Once again I can happily recommend. As others have mentioned, the rooms are clean and the place is in a good location, at a quieter end of the beach but within walking distance of the busier parts of the beach.
The only change I would like to see for my next visit would be a bigger TV (hint!) and move some of the neighbourhood cats on to somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you want immediate access to lots of restaurants, clothing shops, and clubs, stay at D'Mall / Boat Station Two. But if you like the idea of a twenty minute saunter down the beach to get to such places, and enjoy the quiet end of the beach (also with its share of convenience stores and restaurants), then this is the place for you. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are comfortable. I haven't been this relaxed at a hotel in some time. This is my third trip to Boracay, and I've stayed up and down White Beach. If I make a fourth visit, it will be here.

Yes, you do need to walk down an alley way to get to the hotel, and it can be dark at night. But it's a clean, hard-sand path and is absolutely safe. If it makes you feel better, use the light of a cell phone or a flash light for thirty seconds to make your way.

Room Tip: I wouldn't chance it in peak season, but if you try to walk in during the off season you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at Daves for a Second time round again since are last visit in 2012 I have to say it's still as excellent as be first time we stayed there. Excellent staff very peaceful and could easily stay there longer then we booked for. Very clean rooms and the cottages all have air-con and plus there is free wifi. 5 star place to stay. And as always the transfers from airport to Island where organised via Daves Straw as perfect as ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will21607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for a week in July and it's exactly how most people have described it. The staff are very warm, welcoming, and helpful. You get a welcome drink on arrival which is nice. The best thing about the place is how clean the rooms are, the towels are changed daily and all the bedding smells so good, the bed is very comfortable too. As most people have said it's very hidden away so I recommend using a transfer company when you arrive at Caticlan airport (Dave's straw hat can arrange for you). It's based in station 3 which is away from all the crowds of station 2, the walk to station 2 isn't too bad. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher_Jumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Dave's is a meandering minute walk away from the main strip of White Beach. Some people have a hard time looking for the place and locals are not too familiar where the place either. The best way to find is that ask them to drop you off to Arwana's Inn and you can go from there walk down the alley and you'll find Dave's Inn almost at the end of the alley.

Dave's is clean and nicely kept. Staff are more than ready to help you anytime of the day or night, and don't forget to try their humongous pancakes that comes in either mango or banana.

Give Dave's a try if you are looking for a no frills budget vacation in Boracay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubpoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 145 in Boracay
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#51 of 145 in Boracay
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#9 of 145 in Boracay
810 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 145 in Boracay
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing