We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Nearby Hotels
Coast(Boracay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
652
194
25
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
194
25
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmango pancakeswhite beachplace to stayminute walkcleaned every daybars and restaurantsquiet placecable tvdeluxe roomd malljanetstationjingislandphilippinesactionalleyway
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 890 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Dave's Straw Hat Inn is a great place to stay. It's peaceful and cozy. We loved the tree-lined pathway and the books. though, i admit that i didn't have time to read, but i would definitely find time to read their books when i go back there. the staff were really friendly and accommodating. their service is really good especially about recommending which activities do while in boracay. For those people who prefer a quiet and tranquil place, this is definitely the place for you. and for the people in Dave's Straw Hat Inn, thank you so much for making our stay a really memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank romina422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We spent 6 nights at Dave's and had the best time ever. We arrived and were welcomed with mango iced teas and shown to our room. The rooms have all the amenities you need, cable TV, hot and cold water, comfortable bed(s) and are kept in a clean and tidy condition.

The food at Dave's are great and I now am addicted to banana pancakes. Prices are very reasonable and somewhat cheaper than the bars and restaurants on the beach.

What makes Dave's number 1 on Boracay is the staff. We have travelled all over the world and cannot remember finding such friendly and accommodating staff. When we were there Janet was away visiting family but Jenny and the girls along with Dave and Freckles made us feel so welcome. If you want to know anything about what trips are on offer just speak to someone at Dave's and they will guide you in the right direction and normally at a discounted rate.

We had to leave a couple of days early and Jenny managed to rent our room out for 1 of those 2 nights. We are so confident we will return to Boracay we have asked that instead of returning the rate achieved for that rental it goes on our account and we will get a discount off our next visit.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank matt180881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Dave's is a fantastic place to stay!!!

The location and amenities are great and the staff are brilliant, they really do make you feel like part of the family and sincerely go out of their way to assist with everything!!

We have travelled the world but have never been treated as warmly and genuinely as we were here.

Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I stayed at Dave's for five nights with my boyfriend. Firstly, the room type we originally wanted was fully booked for the first three days of our trip so the team kindly upgraded us to a superior room for those days, for the same price. So we were feeling fairly positive about the trip before even arriving. It didn't disappoint - Dave, Janet and the whole team were so helpful and friendly - by far the most hospitable people we stayed with in the Philippines. They were able to answer any questions we had and went out of their way to help whenever they could, even rebooting the wireless router when our internet temporarily stopped working.
The rooms were in good condition and felt really homely. Sure, they may not be as plush as some of the 5 star resorts on the island, but for the price you pay and given the atmosphere of the place, we'd go for Dave's every time. Really, the only problem we had was finding the biggest spider I have ever seen in our room one night. But hey, it's the tropics, it's going to happen some time.
Oh, and the food is great at Dave's too. And being British, I really appreciated the variety of teas on the menu!
Another positive - it's slightly off the beach, away from the crowd. It can get quiet noisy in the thick of it, so it's nice having a garden retreat to escape to at the end of the day. It's quite a walk to the mall and the restaurants around it, but it's easy enough to stroll along the beach or pick up a tricycle on the main road.
All in all, a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CalamityKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Dave's Straw Hat Inn still remains the best bargain on Boracay Island! This was our 2nd stay in two years and the Inn only gets better with time. The staff remain some of the most courteous you will encounter in the hotel industry. The rooms are kept clean, the service is great, and the food is even better than ever. I recommend this Inn to anybody who is looking for a great place to stay on the island! With less than a minute walk to the beach, you cannot beat the convience and the location. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews