We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #10 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dave's Straw Hat was a really fun place to stay in Borocay. It is about 30 secs to the beach and away from the noise of the various bars and nightclubs further up the beach (but only a short walk away). I highly recommend staying here - the rooms are large, clean, air-conditioned and good value for money. Also the food served at DSH was some of the best on the island.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    186
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
96
363
104
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

this is the IT place if you choose to travel Boracay in a budget. Because of the genuine service with a heart attitude of the staff, you would not even think of the stay as something less grand. The rooms were cleaned up faithfully... even the manager-owner taught me her personal tricks on how to judge sheets if indeed were replaced daily. One has to book early to get a slot for this acccomodation....Indeed the stay in Boracay was made memorable by them

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilHTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I loved our stay at Daves Straww. Every single one of the staff were so lovely, friendly, accommodating but also laid back. The room was spotlessly cleaned everyday, the aircon and shower all worked really well. Its also really close to everything but far enough away it wasn't at all noisy. Also really close to a beautiful part of white beach for swimming. It was an excellent place to stay and relax. Thanks everyone!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Absolutely loved Dave's Straw Hat Inn!! Staff were incredibly kind and accommodating to our every need, helping us with everything from directions to organising ferry transfers and day trips!! Always kind and smiling, nothing was ever too much trouble- Especially Lisa! Rooms were spotlessly clean, and were cleaned each day. The accommodation grounds are only 50 or so metres from the beautiful White Sand Beach, and is closely located to bars and restaurants but away from all the noise!! Will happily come back and stay next time we are in Boracay! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We underestimated how hot & humid is at this time of year so a room with AC is a good idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I totally adored this place. Friendly staff. Great location. Breakfast was great. It is not a fancy place. Very low key and quiet. Mismatched linens and towels, etc. But who cares? White Beach in Boracay is the most beautiful place that I have seen. Loved my trip to the Phillippines. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkSock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What can I say more! This place is simply pleasant and full of warmth of a HOME. It is a comfortable, clean and certainly a well maintained... small but cosy "family" run property. Most importantly it's staffed by the ever smiling, friendly and helpful personalities such as Gee, Janice n few other guys who I regretfully did not managed to recall their names.
Even though it's amenities and hardware were of no comparison with other high end hotels, all these shortcomings nevertheless can be easily forgotten with those positive values mentioned above. Internet reception is working fine. In addition, their welcome drinks of specially blended mango iced tea was wonderfully tasty and refreshing especially after a long tiring journey into the island. Thanks so much for making our stay welcome! We will certainly be returning should we ever step on Boracay island in the future...
Oh yes, please do not be put off by it's location in station 3! It is quite but not too remote, yet it is never too far from the happening place of station 2... you just need less than 15min short beach stroll away...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in DSHI for 2D/1N in May 2013.
IMHO the place is over rated and I am not sure why trip advisor gives this a #1 rating.

Pros(+)
The place is as advertised - 2 minutes walk to the beach; clean rooms, strong water, friendly staff, good welcome drink, nice big bed, safety deposit box in the room.
In the area where the other hotels / resorts offer very cheap lunch and dinner buffets.

Cons(-)
Expensive considering the location of the Inn. (A short walk away is Casa Pilar which has cheaper rooms and is at the beach front)
the place is hard to find. We got off on the main entrance to Station 3 and had to walk a good 15 minutes before reaching the inn. Easy if you are travelling light but not when you are carrying the family luggage and walking at noontime.
The walk to the beach passes thru a construction area with workers drinking liquor at night.
No chairs or lounge in the beach from DSHI so you have to put your things on the sand (and be constantly on the look out for your things ) or find a beach lounge/chair for rent or order something from a snack bar to let them use their chairs.

Beach area - this side of white beach has coarser sand compared to station 1 or 2. The beach is frequented by swimmers who are on a budget. There is a mix of swimmers who are in T-shirts and day shorts and those in trunks and swim wear.
Parking area for types of local boats and outriggers - This area is where the "bancas" (local boats) are parked so the beach is deeper (15 feet from shore) and the view is not as spectacular.

Definitely will not be coming back to DSHI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#34 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing