We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous staff...especially Jean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff...especially Jean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

How nice to walk in off the street, with no booking and feel welcome. Jean at the Straw Hat Inn reception makes you feel that way. Jean and the rest of the staff go out of their way to make you feel like one of the family.

We (two of us ) stayed at Dave's for four nights towards the end of May. The hotel only has six rooms and has a lovely relaxed ambiance feel to it. Prices are extremely reasonable for the quality of the rooms.The library is extensive, easy to just browse,read or swap books.

Reputation of their breakfast pancake well deserved and I defy anyone to finish it ....it is delicious but ENORMOUS!!.

We had a great stay, mostly thanks to Jean and the staff and would definitely stay again if in Boracay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank codfish369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    175
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
90
348
97
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I was impressed by the friendly service, attention to detail and clean room. The staff are universally helpful. I can endorse the praise for the mango iced tea - delicious. It is at the quiet end of the beach, but the beach isn't that long! I was happy to turn left at the beach to go even quieter - the beach was good and there were a couple of nice bar/restaurants.
I would recommend getting the hotel to organise transfers - takes the hassle out of the trip!
I hope to return next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great and friendly staff, always smiling no matter what time you stagger in with your rooms keys waiting for you. Clean rooms and cleaned daily. Nice and cozy bathroom. Bit of a walk to station 2 but if you want quiet even at 7 pm, Dave's the place to stay. I didnt try the food other than the banana pancake, which was delicious but too large for me. I would definitely recommend this place if you want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Daves Straw Hat Inn for over a week in the end of April, and we had a great time!

Service: Absolutely some of the best we've ever experienced. Activities booked through the hotel was fairly priced (much better than what you get on the beachfront unless you are especially good at haggling). Great mango ice-tea as a welcome drink. Friendly staff up all night to help you stagger to your room after a hefty pub-crawl. Superb!

Rooms: Nice and charming. Nothing exceptional, but clean and inviting. The towels are arranged as different creations everyday :-).

Location: On the quiet end of station 3. We loved this, as it is a 5 minute walk to the main road, and from there a supercheap tricycle ride to D-MALL where the action is. Then when you're satisfied with your nightly activities, you can walk along the beach for 20 minutes to get back and enjoy a quiet nights rest. Beware: It can be a bit difficult to find Daves Straw Hat Inn the first time you arrive, but helpful locals guided us there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrangJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great staff, good location (quiet and 2 min walk to beach), handy book exchange, food ok, fan room decent...all for a reasonable price...wish we had longer than one night.

Room Tip: Balcony and safe were a nice touch for a fan room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed here on my honeymoon with a group of friends for some post wedding festivities in Boracay.

With all the great reviews, you can't help but expect really great service - but seriously it went way beyond our expectations!! We were welcomed with a mango iced tea and shown to our rooms which were clean and comfortable.

One of the things that I loved most about this place was the fact that the staff took the time to learn our names. And most in are group I think. Not bad considering there were about a dozen of us!

What touched me most was, however, the real family vibe this place had. One morning we were watching our wedding video with our friends over breakfast (awesome and huge breakfasts, I got the Tapsilog every morning!). The staff saw the video and came to know that my new husband and I were on a honeymoon with our friends (from different countries all over the world). Then later in the afternoon they came back with a cake to congratulate us, for all of us to share. It was so heartfelt and completely unexpected.

Absolutely no hesitation to recommend Dave's Straw Hat Inn - especially if you want to feel part of a family and not just another passer through. Thank you so much for making our honeymoon memorable. I will always remember the staff's kindness and well wishes. Thank you so much!

P.S The dog (i think his name was freckles) is super friendly and a great mascot for the establishment!! :-)

xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyWizzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed at Dave's Straw Hat Inn on 27th May in their 1 person hut. I was hoping to stay for two nights but it was occupied. The hut was small but it was enough for my needs. There was a big powerful fan which helped. The bathroom was tiny but good water pressure. There was free WiFi which was nice. The location is quite far down at the lower end of White Beach. But I liked the place and the staff was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-on-TravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#7 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#33 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#99 of 145 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Property: Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing