We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
16
17
8
4
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
17
8
4
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 56 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This hotel is included in seaair package. Its not worth it. Only location is good. Even they upgraded their facility as of nov 19 , 2010. As you checkin, its hot and no receptionist will attend to you. The room has mosquitos and lighting is dull like those of cheap motels. Ibaloi room is big but not nice for a family with kids. Your breakfast is continental bread n butter n jam. Well thats it. Be careful.

Date of stay: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alantiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I was staying at the resort During the 1st week November 2008. My lady and children were enjoying staying at the Sandcastle Resort with a nice Newly renovated Room. The Vacation Turned into a Nightmare when the resort was sieged by Armed Gunmen with Ski-masks. This was just before 10pm when most of the other guests where indoors resting. We heard the Glass being shattered the shouting and struggles of the Ladyguard as she was being overpowered by up to 12 Hired Thugs.

We were then scared out of our whits by noise of the Thugs bashing in doors in the apartments next to the resort. After i barricaded our door.. and other guests did too.. We stayed behind doors until the Police finally did turn up. I couldn't believe it. The Police did nothing to stop or arrest these armed thugs. In fact they assisted the Thugs to secure the resort. The owners were Holed up in the top floor of the Apartments next door. Must have had a Good security door because we could hear the banging of the Thugs trying to get to them. Early in the morning in the dark of the Night I grabbed my girl and kids.. then we fled.

Stayed on the Beach with the little we had and got no help from the Police or Barangay officials. We had paid for 2 weeks in advance and only stayed there for 4 days.. then this happens. Had to stay in another Location which wasnt as good or on the beachfront. Ive heard that even now the owners Greg and Viveca still are trying to hold out up on the top floor. and the thugs relatives are still downstairs claiming the whole property even though the owners have a lease for the next 10 years.

All in all It was Horrifying. The Staff and Owners had Provided good service up until the siege. But it seems Justice in the Philippines is almost impossible to expect when things go pear shaped.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Boracayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

I agree with other comments. Take their Website with a ‘Pinch of Salt!’ My stay was spoilt with a Leaky Roof, no Hot Water, no Cold Water for a day, and Raw Sewage in the Garden! I slept for one night in The Lobby, and no refund was made!

Staff and (Surly) Management appear intent upon fleecing you for every last Centavo! - Almost everything is Extra! No help with luggage or transfer either! - That costs extra!

It is worth paying a little extra and going to Fridays!

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BobSATWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed here when I travelled with the miss's to boracay. Little dissapointing, there was a lot of construction going on at the rear of the hotel when we were there, so sleeping in was out of the question. Also felt a little unsafe because of the construction.
Sleeping in a nipa hut with your own hammock is a plus.

Sweet staff and should be in good shape now that construction is over.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank colicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed at Sand Castles Hotel in Boracay from Feb. 15-17, 2008. It was our 1st in Boracay. We commend all the staffs for being so accommodating, polite, attentive, friendly, and efficient...most especially to William, who waited for me & husband at Cagban Jetty Port for more that an hour, since our flight to Caticlan got delayed...also, to Jomar, the bartender, for accommodating us at the bar...he really entertained us not only with good choice of music but also, with a good conversation...Food was great...YUMMY!!!
Thank you for making our stay at Sand Castles Hotel a very memorable one. We will definitely go back...and make Sand Castles Hotel our 2nd home in Boracay...
More power to you , guys!!!

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotchillypeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews