We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
Ranked #3 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was so reluctant to go home after 4 nights stay here.
The people:
Staff are young, responsible and FUN. They were always around to help everyone at the hostel. They joined in the parties at the roof and played along anytime.

The place:
Hostel is really new and the toilets are really always clean Beds and pillows are so white and smelling good and bath & beach towels are provided upon check-in.
Special mention of the roof and deck.
For kite surfers, this hostel is ideal because its only 3 minutes walk away.
Other beach-goers/ shoppers - you can save a lot on transport because White Beach & D'mall and the 99999999999 restaurants are just 5 minutes walk out.

MNL is definitely more than a hostel!
**to backpackers- Hostel was fully booked on that Friday and Saturday i was there. So do booked in advance else you need to sleep over at the roof or mattresses near the staircase.

Room Tip: Rooms near the roof can get really noisy at night and fan rooms can get really stuffy. Go for the AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huijuan646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 273 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very friendly staff, great localization and great people!! Hostel is localized between two beaches - White beach and Bulabog beach, so everyone can find something for him/her. What else one can imagine?? if u want to stay in Boracay, than only in MNL!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andzia1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I'll preface this by saying I've stayed at a lot of hostels in the nine countries I've traveled to so far, and MNL Boracay Beach has thus far been my runaway favourite. I know my entire traveling party agreed.

MNL Boracay Beach has a fantastic atmosphere, and that's what sets it apart in a city full of hostels and cheap hotels. From the wonderful attitude of its staff to the added privacy of the alcoved dorm beds to the fantastically breezy rooftop social area with coaches and a screen for watching movies - it's just the quintessential dream hostel.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, I really dug the rooms, and its location on one beach and within walking distance of another was grand. Two nice restaurants are under the hostel (The Point is great, but walk up the road for Munchies) and the staff were able to put us in touch with a super helpful tour guide who organised all of our activities.

I'd love to go back someday. Just a fantastic experience. If I had to list a negative? The shower cubicles are a little small, so it's hard to get dressed after you shower without getting wet. Not a big deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieOnTheRoadcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our room is not that big but it sure is comfortable. There is enough space to move around, the mattress and pillows are thick and soft, and all the other things in the room are all in good condition. The hotel also has common areas like the breakfast area that has hammocks where you could relax, and the sun deck where they usually do their events at night. For guests who like to stay inside, their lobby serves as their lounge where guests could relax and watch television or listen to some good music. There is also a computer that guests can use for free by the way.
Location-wise, if you do not mind walking a bit then this is hostel is fine. Good thing about this is it is in the middle of Bulabog Beach and station 2, making both beaches very accessible.
Fun would be an understatement for this hotel because MNL Beach Hostel is more than AWESOME! Kudos to the staff! 

LOCATION:
Road 1-A, Bulabog, Brgy. Balabag
Boracay Island
5 mins walk from D’mall and 5 mins walk to Bulabog Beach. Located at Rd 1-A beside Bulabog Central Inn

GETTING TO MNL: http://www.mnlhostels.com/#!contact-us/c1zf7

PRICE RANGE: from PHP400-PHP5000 depending on the type of room and the season.

BREAKFAST: Continental

ATMOSPHERE: Fun and friendly but not ideal for small kids. Preferably 16 and up.

HOW TO RESERVE: http://www.mnlhostels.com/#!book-now/ca5f

Can’t wait to be back again 

Room Tip: Book rooms as early as you can as they get fully booked easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandraellaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

MLN was a lot of fun. They have a great roof top where they serve breakfast and have the communal kitchen. It is a great place to meet fellow travelers. The staff is also very nice and helpful and they treat you like a friend that has come to visit. My only complaint is the cleanliness of the hostel. The showers were clogged the entire time I was there and often times there were no toilet paper in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not get the rooms on the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superseeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here. The staff are really friendly and have a lot of suggestions for things you can do, ranging from individual activities to larger events where you can meet people. The common room and balcony breakfast areas are nice places to lounge around or meet people. They have complimentary use of their computer and WiFi in the lounge, along with some books and a multi-plug power-board so you can charge electronics, and the kitchen and fridge are open for anyone to use as well. Fresh drinking water is also always available.
The dorms aren't huge but there's enough room and the way the beds are set up gives you quite a lot of privacy when in your bunk, and you have a personal locker too. Outside noises can be pretty loud early in the mornings but they offer complimentary earplugs if you want them. The mattresses are also really comfortable, which is not common. They also have air con and fans, and provide a continental breakfast. The shared bathroom was cleaned regularly (as were the rooms). They also provide both a towel and a beach towel.
While the hostel is not located right next to White Beach, it is close to Bulabog Beach (great for kite surfing) and not too far a walk to get to d*mall, and then to walk through to the Station 2 area along White Beach. There are two restaurants situated directly underneath the hostel which is also very convenient (The Point is great for dinner).
The hostel is pretty new and they're continuing to improve it further.
In short, I highly recommend this hostel and would have stayed there longer had it not been booked out.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Chiquita_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good location close to bulabog beach (if you are a kitesurfer) and not so far from the white beach nightlife.
Excellent staff, and common areas are very good.
I would have given 5 stars but it wasn't perfect; lockers(locks) are poor and I had to use earplugs, traffic and roosters make noise close to hostel.
But this is anyway so great place that I would not think any other hostels/hotels in boracay. Unbeatable rates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seppo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.7 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#45 of 148 in Boracay
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#52 of 148 in Boracay
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#98 of 148 in Boracay
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#37 of 148 in Boracay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MNL Boracay Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MNL Boracay Beach Hostel

Address: Road 1-A, Bulabog, Brgy. Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range: $14 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MNL Boracay Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel, an offshoot of MNL Boutique Hostel in Manila, brings you luxury comforts plus backpacker fun in the best island in the world! Yes, paradise just got better! We combine the best of the basics: 8 inch spring mattresses, high thread count linen, fluffy pillows, power showers, free high speed fiber internet, and add to that an awesome backpacker experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your MNL Boracay Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing