We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I don't know where to begin to tell you how bad this place is. The owners are basically trying to squeeze as much money out of their guests as possible, and that's clear from the moment we arrived when they demanded full payment for our whole stay the second we arrived. The woman made up some cock and bull story about it was required by the website I booked through, which is total nonsense, it's probably because they've had so many people check out after the first night when they realize how bad the place is :-

- overall shabby and in desperate need of an overhaul
- electrical wiring hanging out of the wall in our room
- owners constantly trying to sell you stuff, they even try make you pay for a leaflet with a map of Boracay, when most decent hotels would give you that for free
- loooooong walk from White Beach which is completely unlit at night (don't believe when they tell you it's 8 minutes walk or whatever, it's NOT)
- the vehicles they use to take guests to White Beach constantly breaking down, once when the van was working the guy took us on a massive detour to take his daughter to school
- no price on the meals in the dining room and the staff very vague about how much they cost (so we decided to avoid)
- air conditioning unit that sounded like a WW2 bomber, and probably as old, so virtually impossible to sleep.

I could go on and on, and on... Boracay is a really great place, but this is not. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere on White Beach, not here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drewpeacock111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseBayBoracay, Owner at Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

These people book our Hotel via Bookings and everybody who books already via Bookings knows that the Hotel have to be paid with the check in what is usually in the whole world.
If somebody book with Agoda or Expedia then they have to pay even in advance.
That's why we was realy wondering why the guest was so stressed about it.
And this was also the reason why they was sooooo angry.
With nothing else we tried to get their money, we just offer them, like usually the activities in Boracay, believe me, nowhere in Boracay you get so much information about Boracay,with your check in, as in our Hel.
This is our customer service for our value guest and the most people appreciate this, some of them not but you can not satisfy all of them, right?
That our Hoel is in perfect condition, I don't have to repaid always, there are enough positiv reviews who say that, this is only a wrong comment from people they get mad about anything, a kind of revenge?!?
If you don't believe then please watch also the reviews about our hotel in holidaycheck but the best, of course, will be you just take a look with your own eyes, just book your next romantic holiday with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 159 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

Prior to our trip to Boracay we'd arranged to be picked up at Caticlan and assisted to get to the hotel.. Was very glad to see somebody holding up our name as we came off the plane and that was just the beginning of a really great experience. When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted by Angie the owner and we spend a pleasant 1/2 hour going over the forms and chatting while enjoying our welcome drinks, then we went up to our room and what a beautiful room it was.. 2nd floor overlooking the pool and onto Paradise Bay .. and absolutely lovely view. The room was clean and well appointed with air conditioning and TV, internet was also available.
The staff was very friendly to us and we enjoyed chatting with them, some of them would also go along with us on the outings that are arranged through the hotel.
The food was always top notch, tasty and well prepared.. whether a standard item from the menu or a chef's special (based on his whim :) and what is available in the market that day.).
The walk to white beach is about 10 or 15 leisurely minutes.. or a pedicab from the hotel will take you if you don't feel like walking.. either way its no big deal. Its nice to go over to white beach for some shopping or lunch, but its also really nice to come back to Paradise bay and get away from the crowds and to relax in a friendly environment.
I would highly recommend this resort to anybody who is looking for a family friendly, quiet and enjoyable vacation.
Thanks Maxi and Angie for making our vacation so memorable (Grant & Del)

Room Tip: Perfect for a quiet romantic getaway.. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Returned to Thailand yesterday evening with my Thai wife, having spent 8 relaxing days at the resort. The place is run by a lovely german couple Angie and Maxi, complemented by a friendly and helpful Philippino staff, who gave us excellent service, and were always on hand if we needed anything.
We stayed in a Queen room on the Top floor of a 3storey block, with a stunning view out over the Bay, and the fig of 8 swimming pool,with plenty of wicker and bamboo style sunbeds, in the grass covered grounds, up to the sea wall. The room was comfortable and well decorated with excellent palm tree murals, and heavy bamboo furnishings. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well,(nothing to do with the range of alcohol available in their well stocked bar and restaurant.) The food was good and plentiful, and they have a new Austrian Chef who performs well. Food and drink here are inexpensive to average for Boracay.
Beware Animal Haters, the Resort is set in clean and well kept grounds with a small petting style enclosure with guinea pigs the kids can interact with, and two of the most friendly small dogs who want to be everybody's friend, and a blue and yellow parrot who is both friendly and easily handled, who wanders the grounds, playing...great fun to watch.
The Resort is set on the oposite side of the Island to the famous White Sand beach, whick is no big deal since the Resort has a complementary bus and trike service to get you where you want to be. Since the Island is less than a kilometer wide, it is quite nice to walk there in the cooler evenings. They are partnered to a Dive School and bar on White Sand with free beach beds for the Resort clients. We dived with the guys on the local wreck which is only 10 mins boat ride from the beach. Nice easy 28 meter dive with no current and good viz.
White Sand is typically noisy and busy with dozens of eating places on the beach, some good some tourist traps. For us Paradise Bay with its quiet layed back attitude was a good all round place to stay.
What didnt we like??? we live in Thailand and couldn't get decent chillis any where on the Island. Would we go again....YES

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms have balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snake161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The Hotel has a great location. It is away from the crazy hazyness, but within only 10 minutes walk one can reach the white beach. Plus the hotel offers a free transport to the white beach, so it is not even necessary to walk.
The food was so good, that even though during the day we saw all the nice restaurants on the white beach, we would rather stay in the hotel for dinner.
We had a lovely time in Paradise Bay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita_b51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Resort looked NOTHING like the pictures. The pictures are the only way to visualize what you are paying for, and it was COMPLETELY false advertising! We did know that the resort was away from the main beach,but is NOT in an area that I would walk alone in OR have my family walk in. The resort said nothing about having animals, but the had a dog in the lounge/bar area when we arrived,and had to shoo a cat out of our room as we moved in. I took pictures of the cat as it left our room, and one of the dog as it finished drinking from the pool. The rooms may not have been so bad if they were new or updated but they were pretty dumpy. my girlfriend is allergic to animals, so we ended up dropping off our luggage after a 15 hour trip,and went out to find another hotel and a bite to eat. We had to stay 1 night due to lack of available rooms at the hotel we checked into the following morning. When we left the paradise reort in the morning with all of our bags,the owner was off the resort,so we dropped of the room/safe keys, and left. My mother in-law forgot to hand in her key in the rush,so when I returned a few days later to return it, I spoke with the owner, and explained why we left. I also asked for a refund, even a partial one,due to the misleading pictures and worse, the neglect to mention that they housed animals there. I was told that we booked through an agent and that we would have to go through the agent for refund. When we called the agent,the agent put us on hold and called the resort ,who flat out said no to any refund. We lost over 1000.00 on our rooms,and hope that these reveiws will save anyone else to suffer the same experience. THE BRIGHT SIDE IS.....THE BORACAY REGENCY WAS FANTASTIC FOR THE EXTRA 30.00 A NIGHT,AND IS QUIET, YET IN THE HEART OF THE NIGHTLIFE!!!!!

Room Tip: Its near nothing,and gives no refunds!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tattoozes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseBayBoracay, Owner at Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

I am wondering, the same time even on the same day comes another review who was so very positiv, why?
Because you can not satisfy all people, there are always few people who dont likes what 98 other people loves.
The walking distance from our beach to the white beach is about 6/7 or 8 minutes, there is a new street now and its complete safe in Boracay to walk but however we offer also a free shuttle service with our Van or Tricycle.
Usually our guests are full exited of our little touching Zoo, we have 2 little cute dogs, 1 persian cat, 1 blue Macau, 1 Ball Python and some Ginipics - all of them for touching and by the way, you can see on our Homepage that we have a little Zoo thats why there is nothing to complain.
On the second, this customer checked out, without our knowledge very, very early in the morning, regarding Securitybook, and he kept also the roomkey.
We dont even regonize that this guest was checked out, because sometimes we dont see our guests if they leave the resort early morning and cames back late night.
1 day before his normal check out, he comes back, brought the key and ask for refund.
I ask you now, you dear reader, what had you done in my case?????
By the way we just renovated our rooms last year, but this is like having a house and the people who has one, they know what im talking about, there is always something you have to fix or to do on a house or a resort and we stay direct beside the Beach, on the water, it means we have a very salty air, its normal for a great location like this and therefor we have to hope for the understanding of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Arrived 5pm 13/1 left 10am 14/1 after paying £1260 in advance for 2 rooms 10 days even though we were refused refund by hotel.Hotel and rooms delapidated and dirty, electric showers in rooms plugged into ceiling socket within shower area and earth disconnected..possible risk of electrocution , dog feaces on walkways to room have over 30 photos to prove conditions stated ..NOTHING like pictures presented on websites and Internet . Offered another room but they are all as bad .This is the 1st time in 35 years of travel I have ever moved hotels or written a review I feel that strongly..Hope this saves someone the same heartache.. BE CAREFUL ..YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank 1952vivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxiLudwig50, Inhaber at Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2011

we have massive problems with one of our neighbour hotel, they do everything to damage our hotel, also with very bad coments in Trip Advisor as well as in holidaycheck.
The good one is, we have some of the staff there, he is the brother of our manager and he tell us mostly if they do again another bad comment like this one.
how you can see there are other guests almost in the same time period and all of them was happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This hotel was super especialy the cook from Austria made some magnificent meals and after the meals some home made Apfelcorn,
everybody in the hotel is very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.7 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
0.4 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#45 of 151 in Boracay
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaiyana Boracay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#48 of 151 in Boracay
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
#74 of 151 in Boracay
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort

Address: Tulubhan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $52 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Bay Resort Boracay in Boracay Island, Philippines - your gateway to a true beach oasis with every touch of perfection.Savor a relaxing retreat in cozy rooms fitted with refreshing interiors. Plunge into an array of excitement with a world of diversions within your reach. And bask in unparalleled bliss in our peaceful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Beach & Watersport Hotel Boracay
Paradise Bay Beach And Watersport Resort
Paradise Bay Beach Watersport Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing