We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neutral about Terraces”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boracay Terraces Resort
Ranked #119 of 227 Boracay B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed at Boracay Terraces because we were unable to book a room at any of the more popular hotels (Fridays, Seawind, Mandala, etc.) due to it being the peak season and our decision to visit Boracay at the last minute. Boracay Terraces is the last hotel at the very end of White Beach station 1 (about a 5 minute walk from Fridays) and, as a result, is probably in the quietest spot while still being conveniently located within walking distance to where the action is.

Despite its great location, the hotel was only average. We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor, which is the top floor. While the room and the bathroom were quite spacious and we had a private terrace, the room had an overall "run-down" feel. For instance, one of the hinges on the cabinet doors came off immediately after we opened it, the TV remote did not work, the bathroom caulking had cracks and gaps, the bathroom amenities were very low budget, etc. The shower pressure was also very weak (although maybe it is better on the lower floors) and the staff service, though polite and adequate, was a bit aloof.

To be fair, we did not bother to point these problems out to the management since we only stayed for 3 nights and did not want to waste any time complaining. My sense is that the staff would have taken our complaints seriously and attempted to remedy them, if possible. However, that is the difference between active management found at the truly superior hotels in the region, and passive management at the average hotels. These minor details should be addressed proactively rather than waiting for a complaint before taking action. Despite our complaints, the room was comfortable and well designed, and the hotel location was excellent. This hotel has amazing potential and, perhaps with more attention to service details and undergoing a solid renovation project with high-quality fixtures, can become one of the top "boutique" hotels on the island.

This was our first visit to Boracay. We are seasoned travellers in the Asia-Pacific region and have visited other "paradises" in the region. Boracay itself rates among the tops, but our sense is that the hospitality industry on this island has a long way to go. It may very well be that our hotel was on par with other hotels on the island and we do not yet have a good basis for comparison. For example, we experienced several power brownouts at various locations on the island. The locals were completely unfazed and went about their business and, inevitably, the power would come back on within a minute or two. Maybe it's unfair to ask for 5-star hotel facilities when the island's infrastructure itself is not capable of supporting it.

Moreover, depending on your priorities, this "backwardness" can be either a bit annoying, or charming and unspoiled since development itself is not necessarily a good thing. All in all, we will definitely visit Boracay again, and woud not mind staying at Boracay Terraces if the price is right. We are also very curious to see how the landscape changes when Shangri-La completes its resort in 2008. What effect will it have on competition, and will it open the doors for other international hotel chains and drive the smaller hotels out of business? Is this a good thing for Boracay?

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank looway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si dispones de poco presupuesto, es una muy buena opción, con excelente playa alrededor y habitacion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ignacio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank erica84yess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sandrita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Если не нужна кухня, берите номер умоляла. Они все приятные и видовые
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Валить по дальше от этого отеля.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mazurek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank lauraetrusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Las Brisas Boracay
Las Brisas Boracay
#135 of 148 in Boracay
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lugar Bonito Hotel
Lugar Bonito Hotel
#6 of 227 in Boracay
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Salidos Place Resort
Salidos Place Resort
#31 of 177 in Boracay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AJ Travellers Inn Annex
AJ Travellers Inn Annex
#115 of 177 in Boracay
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel
Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel
#65 of 148 in Boracay
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waves Beach House
Blue Waves Beach House
#49 of 227 in Boracay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Terraces Resort

Address: Brgy Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range: $50 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boracay Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Terraces Resort was established in 1986. The first bamboo cottages by the hill was replaced by a the existing green stone 3 storey hotel building in 1996. Our beach front resort is located in the northern most tip of the world famous white sand beach, where the sand is finest. It overlooks the majestic limestone cliff that leads to Diniwid Beach. This secluded location is perfect for families with young children and for honeymooners seeking peace and quiet. All resort rooms are spacious with a huge bathroom and a balcony with breathtaking views of the lush green island forest and the blue green horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Boracay Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Terraces Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing