We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views with large comfortable rooms at the quieter end of the beach about to get a renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boracay Terraces Resort
Ranked #89 of 217 Boracay B&B and Inns
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location and views with large comfortable rooms at the quieter end of the beach about to get a renovation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Location is great for those that want a quieter time and a peaceful evening. There are a few restaurants along the beach nearby including Fridays, Kasbah and Nigi Too. You can walk to the more lively end but it is a 15 to 20 minute walk or take a tricycle. If you want to dance on the beach till the early hours I would not recommend it, but if you have a young child or just prefer to be a bit away from the action then it is fine.

The actual hotel itself has generous rooms and bathrooms and big balconies. It was built around 14 years ago and some of the fittings show it, in particular the AC is single unit and bangs in and out throughout the night as the compressor cuts in. The small fridge in the first room we had (we stayed for 19 nights and changed rooms after 2) actually competed with the AC but in the second room was better. The wood block floor was also coming apart and the quality of the internal fittings, shower etc. was not good. Thats the bad news, the place needs a total restoration but the good news is that it is getting one. The day after we left the whole place is to be gutted and replaced. I dont know if split level AC's are to be installed and that may be worth checking if you're a light sleeper, but otherwise it should be good.

I only had one other beef and that is the staff were attentive and wanted to please but they were devoid of training and most seemed to be on a work appreciation program. We had the wrong order delivered several times, all minor stuff but it can get irritating. The restaurant is okay if you dont feel like going away from the hotel, but I cant recommend it.

Without the forthcoming restoration this would have been a poor review but as it is about to get one, if you want to be on the beach, with great views and in a quieter area but not too remote from the nightlife then it is worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

It is true that the resort is located in the far end of Station 1 of the White Sand Beach. However, for this reason, the beach is all yours, just like a private beach. Each room has a
balcony and you can watch dawn and sunset from your own balcony. The room is spacious, perhaps too spacious for a couple like us. Bathroom is equipped with a showering cubicle and a bath-tub (which is very large). There's no hot water supply, but I do not mind. You don't really need hot water in a tropical island like Boracay. During my stay in the resort, the air-conditioner broke down once. We reported the peoblem to the
reception and it was fixed when we returned from the beach after lunch. Very impressive. If you like island hopping, ATV, Sunset sailing etc, resort can arrange for you with just a little premium, We don't mind as we don't bother to waste time / effort to
negotiate a good deal with vendors. Food is extremely cheap. It costs USD8 for a dinner buffet or USD15 if you want to have a fine dinner in a decent restaurant (e.g. Boracay Regency). Oh, forgot to mention breakfast, it was a la carte and
tasted good. We left the island at 6:00 am and and our breakfast
was ready at 5:30 am., excellent service! Resort has its own shuttle to take you to anywhere you like. USD2 only and 5 minutes to D-mall. Will I stay in this resort next time? Definitely.

p.s. the island, sands and water are extremely lovely. Strongly recommend this island to friends in tripadvisor!

  • Liked — Locatino location location
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

We booked our stay in this resort on a Holy Week and we know its going to be packed. Well at first we like the ambiance from the outside and we were 22 all together. We were all tired and ready to go in but first impressions from the owner of the place she start charging us 5500php per room and charged the child 6 yrs old and over 500 each so we thought it will be a normal rate due to the holiday. We paid and start going into the room, we noticed that the water from the sink that is coming out smells and its brown color, then there's no complimentary water for the amount paid. We start going out and look around how much are charged from the different places, the one next door is 1000 cheaper with swimming pool so it was too late for us to back out since we already paid. Morning breakfast it says complimentary its one egg and 2 bread and a coffee. You ask for more coffee they charged extra WOW.... for the amount we paid its terrible. The towels are stained and smells, the water stinks and the services is not even worth to what we paid for. We were not happy and definitely will not recommend any of our family nor friends to come here. We could have gone to Regency and get the services that we deserve for the amount we paid for. Too bad and too sad...

  • Liked — None, First impression last and even the place looks nice but the service is terrible everything becomes and look terrible
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jazzfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boracay hotels

los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2008

If you're looking for peace and tranquility in Boracay, this is the place to stay. It's not a beach front hotel, but the walk to the beach is not so bad at all. It's right across from the Convention Center and next to Boracay Regency.

We were welcomed with the best tasting slush (not too sure if it was banana). This bed and breakfast has a few rooms which makes it really appealing for those travellers who want peace and quiet during their vacation.

The rooms are very clean, and the staff is very attentive.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

We like to book a hotel in station 1 because you can relax on that area, that's why we end up in boracay terraces resort. The location is good, as expected, very quiet. The family room is big but needs rennovation. You can see the ceiling with some traces of water leaks and the washroom in our room stinks, the housekeeper exert at least 1 hour to find out how to remove that foul odor. The room rate is not that worth, considering it needs rennovation and the lightning inside the room is a little bit darker. The staffs are warm and friendly. Another thing is that maybe the department of tourism should improve regulation on the safety of boracay guest availing some water activities. Example : boat ride, the boat operator does not require the guest to wear the life vest. All in all, boracay is a place where you enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panay Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

I had my wedding in Boracay last Jan. ‘07 and we booked Boracay Terraces Resort for two nights. I have nothing but mostly praises to say about the place.


Advantages:

>The Management offered big discounts on our meals & room accommodations.

>The Resort itself is a bit secluded, quiet, offers privacy and has magnificent views of the island.

>The buffet staff were precise and on time as to organizing the wedding reception.

>Our Family Room consisted of the ff:
2 separate rooms w/ 1 king, 2 double beds and 3 side tables.
Can easily fit up to 6 people w/ additional cots
Ref., 2 air conditioners , 2 televisions sets
Sofa, 2 arm chairs (w/ cushions) and table
Marble floors, separate shower and whirlpool tub
Big closet space and bathroom mirror
2 panels of sliding doors fronting the terrace, w/ additional table and 2 chairs
A back door for quick exit to hail a “tricycle” (mode of transportation)

>The menu consists of Filipino, American, European and Pan Asian dishes.

>They offer incredible mouth watering buffets Such as sushi and sashimi for appetizers.

>The cocktails were just amazing. We had the frozen blue margarita and mixed up a mudslide for the perfect end to a memorable affair.

>Boracay Terraces is a beachfront resort. Its just a few feet away from the famous blue waters and white sandy beach.

>The resort literally live up to its name. The rooms are structured like Terraces which is what the Philippines is also know for. The Banawe Rice Terraces which was built by the Ifugaos is presumably one of the eight wonders on the world, if I’m not mistaken.

>The room accommodations comes with free breakfast for up to four people. You can choose the menu beforehand and the time you want your food delivered in your room. ;-)

>BTR’s Taj Resto offers live entertainment in the evening’s for the dinner buffet and also has a Roof Deck for private parties.

>Duyan is the resorts spa. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to try their services due to time constraint... ;-( grr

>The polite and helpful staff offered us cold fruit juices upon arrival and had no queries of checking us into our rooms; since the housekeeping staff prepared everything before hand.


Tip’s:

>The fridge in the rooms contain canned beverages, you may consume them but be sure to replace it. There’s a small grocery shop located at the back of the resort, a mere 3 block walking distance where you can purchase basic necessities at a cheaper price.

>There’s A LOT of fees upon entering Bora. Environmental fee’s, pump boat fee’s etc. estimated fee’s per person is about P80-120 pesos depending on the season. So don’t feel ripped off and end up arguing the toll cashier’s. You wouldn’t want your paradise vacation to start off in a disaster.

>When you check out, BTR offers transportation to the port for about P300 pesos for the entire van, that fits 8 people plus luggage’s comfortably. It’s a good bargain.

So, I bid you clear blue waters, fine white sand, marvelous sunsets and cold beers Hope you’ll enjoy your Boracay getaway... ;-)

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank mikai9820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed at Boracay Terraces because we were unable to book a room at any of the more popular hotels (Fridays, Seawind, Mandala, etc.) due to it being the peak season and our decision to visit Boracay at the last minute. Boracay Terraces is the last hotel at the very end of White Beach station 1 (about a 5 minute walk from Fridays) and, as a result, is probably in the quietest spot while still being conveniently located within walking distance to where the action is.

Despite its great location, the hotel was only average. We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor, which is the top floor. While the room and the bathroom were quite spacious and we had a private terrace, the room had an overall "run-down" feel. For instance, one of the hinges on the cabinet doors came off immediately after we opened it, the TV remote did not work, the bathroom caulking had cracks and gaps, the bathroom amenities were very low budget, etc. The shower pressure was also very weak (although maybe it is better on the lower floors) and the staff service, though polite and adequate, was a bit aloof.

To be fair, we did not bother to point these problems out to the management since we only stayed for 3 nights and did not want to waste any time complaining. My sense is that the staff would have taken our complaints seriously and attempted to remedy them, if possible. However, that is the difference between active management found at the truly superior hotels in the region, and passive management at the average hotels. These minor details should be addressed proactively rather than waiting for a complaint before taking action. Despite our complaints, the room was comfortable and well designed, and the hotel location was excellent. This hotel has amazing potential and, perhaps with more attention to service details and undergoing a solid renovation project with high-quality fixtures, can become one of the top "boutique" hotels on the island.

This was our first visit to Boracay. We are seasoned travellers in the Asia-Pacific region and have visited other "paradises" in the region. Boracay itself rates among the tops, but our sense is that the hospitality industry on this island has a long way to go. It may very well be that our hotel was on par with other hotels on the island and we do not yet have a good basis for comparison. For example, we experienced several power brownouts at various locations on the island. The locals were completely unfazed and went about their business and, inevitably, the power would come back on within a minute or two. Maybe it's unfair to ask for 5-star hotel facilities when the island's infrastructure itself is not capable of supporting it.

Moreover, depending on your priorities, this "backwardness" can be either a bit annoying, or charming and unspoiled since development itself is not necessarily a good thing. All in all, we will definitely visit Boracay again, and woud not mind staying at Boracay Terraces if the price is right. We are also very curious to see how the landscape changes when Shangri-La completes its resort in 2008. What effect will it have on competition, and will it open the doors for other international hotel chains and drive the smaller hotels out of business? Is this a good thing for Boracay?

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Room details
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank looway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#51 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#60 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Azul
One Azul
#154 of 217 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boracay West Cove
Boracay West Cove
#22 of 167 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencia Boracay
Residencia Boracay
#54 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Willy's Beach Hotel
Willy's Beach Hotel
#13 of 217 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Terraces Resort

Property: Boracay Terraces Resort
Address: Brgy Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boracay Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Terraces Resort was established in 1986. The first bamboo cottages by the hill was replaced by a the existing green stone 3 storey hotel building in 1996. Our beach front resort is located in the northern most tip of the world famous white sand beach, where the sand is finest. It overlooks the majestic limestone cliff that leads to Diniwid Beach. This secluded location is perfect for families with young children and for honeymooners seeking peace and quiet. All resort rooms are spacious with a huge bathroom and a balcony with breathtaking views of the lush green island forest and the blue green horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Boracay Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Terraces Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing