We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortable room”
Review of Bambooze Hauz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bambooze Hauz
Ranked #129 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“uncomfortable room”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

we got their around 2nd week of november 2013,we have a long ride and we didn't expect when we get to this hotel they don't have electricity due to the typhoon,ok we decided to stay to stay for two nights,since they said that they will give us discount not knowing when is the electricity will be back,the two nights is a nightmare no air is coming from the room with 100 degrees inside the room all window opens which is unsafe,still didn't help at all,when we check in,they said that they have a back up generator but they where two cheap to run the things,we only have small fun and one light working on the room,no a/c no tv ect.and they only run the generator at night and by that time you get up in the morning they turn off the generator means your sweating to death inside the room, no choice but to open the doors and window and still don't help which is unsafe at all,i don't think it is right to treat your guest like that at least keep the guest happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboozehauz, Owner at Bambooze Hauz, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Bambooze Hauz, we understand that after Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda hit on November 8th 2013 that we could not provide our normal service to our guests. Boracay Island suffered minor damages only as a whole, but the aftermath meant all electricity, communication, mobile networks and internet services were completely cut off. Some businesses had back up generators, some did not. We are a budget place, our generator could not supply all the electricity consumption that was required for all electronic appliances to work fully for 24hours. The main reason is that generators run on either gasoline or diesel fuel and there was immediate concern that because there was no regular electricity and that the Typhoon had affected some major areas in Philippines, that the island's supply of gasoline/diesel fuel would run out or experience a price hike, hence for self preservation we can only conserve our consumption so that is why we choose to run our generator only at night time. I know that this does not change your experience of our hotel, but at least you gain an understanding why we are running the generator only at night time, it is not by choice. As far as we know many budget hotels either do not have a generator at all or they also run their generators on a limited timing basis.

Also, our hotel was actually also open for emergency accommodation for the locals whose houses were damaged during the Typhoon. which is why we may have been operating at full capacity at the time of your stay and hence influenced our decision to run the generator only at night time (where is was necessary).

We do understand that as a guest and a tourist of Boracay at this time that your holiday will have been affected not in a good way because it honestly was untimely to visit Boracay and also we could not provide the full services and amenities that we can normally provide to our guests. We like you, are also victims of the Typhoon and cannot control the aftermath. We hope that you choose to visit Boracay at another better time and as a lesson for our management, we should be more prepared in the future should another natural calamity hit.

NOTE: Electricity services to Bambooze Hauz has been resumed since late November, so we can now offer our full service and amenities to our guests. However only part of Boracay Island has resumed regular electricity services, so if people are planning to visit please check with your hotel about their electricity supply to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's off the main road, in an actual residential area, but not too far from the beach (finding it the first time was tricky). Everyone who worked there was very friendly and accommodating. It's terrific value for a room with AC, fridge, TV, etc. My TV didn't really work but I wasn't interested in watching it anyway. The Wi-Fi worked well.

I'm glad I opted for Bambooze Hauz over a pricier place near the beachfront prone to more noise at night/early morning. Great place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank checkyourbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Don't be afraid of the location- it's a bit of a walk- but worth it. It was quiet (except for the roosters) & extremely clean. The staff was very accommodating- they lent us an umbrella. The bathroom is tiny but efficient. Everything worked. The room we stayed in had a double bed on the bottom & a bunk on the top. The room also had a mini-fridge, a/c & storage areas. A great simple place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboozehauz, Owner at Bambooze Hauz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As a new place, we really do value guest comments and input so we can continue to improve.

Bambooze Hauz Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.7 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Second Wind Hostel by MNL
Second Wind Hostel by MNL
#12 of 167 in Boracay
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boracay Backpackers
Boracay Backpackers
#15 of 167 in Boracay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Box and Ladder Hostel
Box and Ladder Hostel
#61 of 167 in Boracay
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patrick's Home Boracay
Patrick's Home Boracay
#167 of 221 in Boracay
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill Out Hostel Boracay
Chill Out Hostel Boracay
#4 of 167 in Boracay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambooze Hauz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambooze Hauz

Property: Bambooze Hauz
Address: Station 1, Sitio Pinaungon | Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bambooze Hauz 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambooze Hauz caters to the budget guest with 20 newly built air conditioned studio rooms, all with kitchenette and private bathrooms. We are located only 1 min walk to the main road and 5 min walk to White Beach. Bambooze Hauz is a new building with an enclosed garden courtyard and BBQ area with Free WIFI, all our rooms can be rented out for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bambooze Hauz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing