We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)

Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)
Book In Advance
$26.08*
and up
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The second largest beach on Boracay, this popular destination is also called Puka Shell Beach after the prevalent white seashells.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hire a boat for a whole Boracay island hoping. Boatman will bring you to this beach were boats stop for an hour or two for lunch and swim. Really love the white sand beach and a crystal clear water And the sand castle made by a very talented local man.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bertosalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    492
    167
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

the beach is very clean and you can find some shade. The sand is also very nice and the water is clear. The waves can get quite big. You have to take a tricycle to come here. You must come here during your stay at Boracay.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fishey1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love Puka Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Puka Beach is the place I often retreat to at the weekends with my colleagues and friends.

We go well prepared with water, snacks, books, scuba gear etc which allows us to walk a nice distance away from the entrance and the small groups which arrive on Banca's and Paraw's as part of their island hopping tours.

It is with sadness that my favourite restaurant has closed and demolished to make way for a new resort but there is still one restaurant at the main entrance and they thankfully haven't hiked their prices now that they have no competition.

There's also a couple of little spots further up the beach where you can buy food straight off the grill and there are usually one or two ice cream sellers walking up and down the beach

Puka has some great little scuba spots but it's easy to get disorientated when swimming from one reef to the next, and I would encourage anyone to make sure that their friends are keeping an eye on them, as the current can be strong and some of the banca's can sail close to the shoreline.

Puka's sand is not powdery white like White Beach, but is made up of lots of shells and coral pieces, which is great for hunting with kids. Just remember that you should not remove these from the beach; take only photos, leave only footprints!

Puka, for me, is my escape beach - especially in high season when White Beach is crowded with travellers, hawkers and boats

My One Tip - when leaving (1. take all your rubbish with you please) is to walk up the road a way from the Trike Parking area. It should cost around 100PHP to get back to D'Mall but if you pick up a trike at the beach entrance they'll charge you a lot more and they'll all quote the same price. Walk up the road and you'll either reach agreement with a trike driver just dropping people off or one of those waiting at the entrance will drive after you and you can reach a reasonable fare for your return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stunning and secluded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Probably the most amazing beach I have ever been to. It was beautiful and unspoilt. Only a few stalls and bars near the entrance. We managed to find a spot which was completely to ourselves. A must visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank cstone12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a looooot of puka shells!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Not much to do here. This was one of our stops when we had our island hopping. We just bought some accessories from the locals there. It was a little difficult to walk because the sand was too soft, and there were a lot of shells (not comfy for you feet).
But if you want quiet and less people, this is definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank clodin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach) also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing