We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alternative to the bustle”
Review of Diniwid Beach

Diniwid Beach
Ranked #4 of 71 things to do in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cliffside footpath connects this small, serene beach with its louder and larger cousin, White Beach. A great place for a quiet picnic.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“alternative to the bustle”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Diniwid is quieter, calmer, still with the excellent Mama's Fish Bar cocktails and the Artista Villas happy hour deals (40 pesos a beer or 50 per G&T with a balcony sea view! ) .. but without the constant noise.. great place for the daytime, then walk round the rocks to the Mall etc for fun and excitement.. and walk back to Diniwid for restful sleep.. it's a winner!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaye87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    253
    82
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sumptous buffet”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we had our buffet lunch here..as we walk along the beach shore i noticed mostly the guest are foreigners..its a secluded place so i guess people who wanted a serene place should try to go here and have themselves checked in at their hotel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank there1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“Quiet escape from White Beach”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First Impressions: Going north along Boracay's western shores, past Friday's and Station 1, Diniwid Beach is a short strip of sandy beach secluded by a small cove, shared by a few resorts such as Boracay West Cove, Nami Resort, Spider House and The Strand Boracay. It may be accessed on land through the Diniwid Beach Road or by a motorized outrigger boat. Cut into and clinging around a rocky cliff, there's also a narrow, unmarked footpath that the locals use to walk between Diniwid and White Beach.

PROS: Quieter, cleaner, less crowded than White Beach. Much closer to White Beach than, say, Puca Shell Beach. The water is also shallow for snorkeling.

CONS: Can still be affected by the seasonal green algae slime as White Beach. The sea life is too spotty.The site could use a few more eateries, otherwise you'd have to eat in any of the resorts in the vicinity. A certain section of the beach is privately owned by Boracay West Cove. The narrow, unsecured footpath is an accident just waiting to happen, which makes the 10-min walk to the beach an unnerving experience in itself. No fear... as there's a small shrine along the footpath to keep you safe.

Scuba tip: Just offshore from Diniwid Beach is a good-sized reef with a nice coral cover on top and then slopes steeply from 10 to 18m in depth. Somewhat between Balinghai and Friday's Reef, this reef is known only to a handful of diving shops as there are no mooring buoys or diving markers at the site.

Verdict: Worth a visit, especially if you feel claustrophobic in White Beach. Grade A.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little beach to chill”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fantastic, hidden away jewel, especially for a nice sunset drink at the Spider House. Very laid back and quiet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“You can walk a mile into the sea and still see what is under your feet!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As my title clearly points out, this is an amazingly clear and shallow beach. I can understand why some people who have been to Boracay a few times or a long time ago might complain about so many tourists.. however this was my first and probably lats time I ever visit this island and on first impressions this is easily the best beach I have ever swam in. The reason is, like i already stated, it was very clean, clear and shallow which makes it an enjoyable swim. There is a beautiful reef that stretches all the way to White Beach so make sure you bring a snorkeling kit with you.

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the spider house resort that is off the cliff on Diniwid Beach so had an amazing 4 nights at what I can only describe as a paradise location. On the beach itself you can view amazing sunset at the end of the day at a bar with seriously cheap and amazing cocktails made by fun and funny female bar tenders. The bar is near the cliff although i can't remember the name.. it looked like a boat.

I can write a review for hours explaining why this beach was amazing and how much fun i had there and memories but you should go and see for yourself. I went there around mid of January so apparently according to my brothers wife it is low season and I must admit I did not see as many tourists as some reviewers claim. Even if there were, they weren't as much as a problem as lets say tourists in London who disrupt a Londoners normal life (I am sure you know what I am talking about).

I must admit though, I felt that the sand in White beach was softer and better but the sand in Diniwid Beach is not too shabby either to be fair.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank norman_bates_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diniwid Beach also viewed

 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Diniwid Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing