We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fridays on decline… Go look for another hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friday's Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friday's Boracay
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Olongapo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fridays on decline… Go look for another hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was the second time I stayed at Fridays. This time I came here to get married, which we did. I could write a full page of what was wrong but is limited to 50 characters. We only flew in from Subic where we live, but we had friends from Philippines and countries around Philippines and all the way from Norway staying with us.
Fridays location is great, nothing can take that away from them.

We decided to have our wedding at an established hotel near the beach and Boracay was our best bet. With a rate around USD 300 a night one should expect something great, even for Boracay at peak season. And we were so very close to have a great time, but the staff and service just didn’t live up to our expectations. As a part of our wedding package we were promised a few things as complimentary. To mention some of the disappointments here I can mention:

Complimentary Bathrobe – This turned out to be a set of washed out and stained bathrobes that didn’t even have the hotels name on them.

Complimentary Massage set – We found a couple of 15 ml bottles with some kind of oil in our room on day 2 and this turned out to be our massage set.

Breakfast in bed – I have no idea what happened here but we never heard or saw anything about any breakfast in bed. Maybe that was because it was too far for the staff to walk as we were given a room up the stairs and far away from beach and restaurant.

Fruit basket – Well, this one is more of a humorous remark. What do you picture when you open a door and look for a fruit basket? For Fridays that is 3 mangoes in a tray. Try google images of a fruit basket and see what you get…….

The first night was Friday night and BBQ buffet was on the menu. Food was great, but this was kind of hampered when one of the staff made a mistake in his drink order and then tried to lie about it telling me that my future wife had ordered wrong.
After dinner we were catching up with friends and time went by. To our surprise were we told well before midnight that the bar would be closing soon and that we had to place our last order. We were a group of 4 – 6 people sitting at a table talking and drinking, yet Fridays could not entertain us with at least one person keeping the bar open until 1 – 2 am on a Friday night at peak season?

I am not going to dwell on the wedding arrangements that went wrong, but there was more than a few issues and someone not as tough as my wife might have reacted very different then what she did when we discovered that the colours were all wrong, our lechon was never presented and the wedding cake was a farce.

On the day we checked out we had some disputes over the billing, nothing unusual about that. As someone who travel a lot in my job I know how staff should be with customers and that even a dispute can be pleasant. But the reception staff was not forthcoming at all and it was like talking to someone who only had a few lines memories and no knowledge on how to handle this. I don’t blame the poor girl, but the management for not giving proper training.

The rooms are starting to get a bit tired too and some of our friends did some complaints of their own.
I sent an email to the hotel where I made comments about our experience but have yet to receive any reply.
I noticed some newer and very nice hotels just down the beach from Fridays.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TorandEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    172
    41
    30
    18
See reviews for
135
257
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Friday's is great, do not hesitate to book your nights here if you want to splash out. We stayed for 9 nights and had a hard time to leave. Boracay itself is nice, especially compared to our subsequent trip to Panglao (and disappointing accomodation there @ Amorita). No sand flies, no mosquitos.

Friday's is literally at the beach and we walked 9 days in just shorts and t-shirts without shoes or even flipflops. Activities are focussed around the water: parasailing, boating, diving, etc. There is not a great deal to see or do, but just perfect to unwind and relax. The restaurant is very nice. We only went to other restaurants once or twice given the great 3-/4-couse menu at Friday's. Interestingly enough the signature Friday BBQ buffet was much less than the other days.

The only con is probably the diving, which is OK, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple_from_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Fridays is situated in an ideal location on Station 1 in Boracay, meaning out of the carnival atmosphere of Station 2 but close enough to take a 15 minute stroll on the beautiful white sand beach to reach all sorts of shops, restaurant and night clubs if this is your thing.
The hotel is patterned against Friday of Robinson Crusoe fame, 40 authentic style spacious rooms which are on two levels for the most part, very well equipped with kettle, safe, hammock on a veranda/porch, with a lot of attention to detail. Staff is very friendly and efficient, the restaurant is managed by a Canadian chef and the food is excellent. This has not always been my experience in Filipino resorts so it was a welcome change at Fridays. The Friday nite buffet draws people from hotels all along the beach and is very popular. Beach is excellent and perfect for children, having a very gradual drop off, the facility has a pool but in fact, everyone prefers to lounge under umbrellas at the beach front, which is set back perfectly for privacy from the passing pedestrian beach traffic. Altogether a very enjoyable stay, not cheap but then as usual in these sorts of properties you get what you pay for, if you pay cheap you get cheap.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

This resort has been around for a long time and I can understand why! It's has a great touch that makes you feel like your on an island. And the staff are super helpful and always pleasant! I really enjoyed my stay with Friday's although it rained most of the time. The only con is that the rooms can be creaky and you can hear people above you moving around if you're on the first floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dichowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Just came back from a 3 day weekend to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. Fridays was a dream. The service was impeccable, they seem to go out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable possible. The restaurant, activity center and beach boys went the extra mile. So was the transport to and from the Caticlan airport. - painless and smooth.
The beach front was the best in white sand. We walked all over and found that Fridays had a quiet slice of the otherwise busy Boracay beach.

We stayed in a premier room with a partial view of the beach. The rooms were very clean. Everything works. Perhaps Fridays could use a spruce up of the rooms to modernize the interiors. Still overall, it was a pleasure to go back to the room and it was very comfortable. If you want a large modern minimalist resort, don't come to Fridays. But if you want a laid back, natural - rustic resort that makes you feel like you are in the tropics then this place can't be beat - an understated tropical paradise.
I want to commend Ariel, a waiter in the resort, who gave us extra good service and also looked after my sick wife (slight fever for one day) because Ariel was also a nursing student.

Would love to go back to Fridays.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilippineTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We really enjoyed our 3 days at Fridays Boracay. The location was excellent, as the beach is wider at Fridays, and it is on the calmer part of the beach. We had a very relaxing time at the resort and enoyed the facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkfa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Wow is all I can say about this hotel! My husband is from the Philippines and we wanted to do something unique for our wedding day... so why not get married on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world?! It was the best decision I have ever made! Everyone at Friday's was a pleasure to work with and our wedding day far surpassed anything I could've ever imagined! If you're thinking about a destination wedding...this should be at the top of your list! The rooms were amazing, and extremely clean...service was excellent! I just can't say enough good things about this place, and we CANNOT wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megmillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
1.1 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday's Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday's Boracay

Property: Friday's Boracay
Address: Station 1, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Friday's Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise, home to Fridays Boracay, a resort with boundless opportunities for family adventure, productive meetings and memorable special events.Perfectly positioned on Boracay's eye-catching White Beach, Fridays Boracay is a 48 room AAA resort nestled amid meticulously groomed tropical gardens and shady coconut trees. The resort offers the convenience of modern amenities combined with the natural charm of a beachfront setting making it one of the Philippines most sought after vacation spot. Its magnificent beach front, delectable food, pleasant and inviting rooms, and its warm & friendly employees make it the ultimate choice in Boracay. Since 1982, it has been the favorite vacation place and home to all its various guests. Welcome to our little piece of paradise... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Friday's Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Fridays Resort Boracay
Fridays Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing