We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tonglen Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice choice of hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Service - very hospitable people, kind, accommodating, nice. Everyday room cleaning and also you can use their facilities for various activities.
Sleep quality/rooms - quiet inside and outside the rooms, no loud noise from bars, nice airconditioning, cable tv is good, free wifi accessible in the rooms, comfy bed, pillows and blankets, well maintained and clean rooms and toilets, however they are not well lit and they look old
Cleanliness - generally clean. The staff clean every now and then and i love that the naturey feel of the hotel because of the grass/trees
Location - back gate you can already ride a tricycle to go around Boracay, front gate is to the white beach for 7 to 10 mins walk
Swimming pool- they clean it everyday. Very comforting to go to the pool after a spending a day and swimming in the beach. They also mix hot water in the pool that makes it more relaxing.
Restaurant - normal food and quite expensive
Fitness center - n/a
Value - worth your penny

Room Tip: Anu room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
47
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having stayed for three weeks at the Tonglen I was very pleased with my choice of Hotel.The service is fantastic with helpul,happy smiling staff which created a nice atmosphere.I dined most evenings at the hotel and found the food very nice,freshly cooked meals which take around 30 minutes to serve.Breakfast a nice choice of Philippino or English dishes again very tasty.The hotel is fairly old and so the rooms I found a little dated,the aircon rather loud but immaculately cleaned every day.The location is around a 10 minute walk to White Beach along a narrow pathway which I found no problems at all.White Beach is absolutely stunning.All in all I had a wonderful relaxing time at the Tonglen with no complaints what so ever,a two star hotel with five star service and a nice quiet location, Anthony Ward

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Had an 8 day break with our family at the relaxed 'Tonglen Beach Resort' off the beach from the hectic whitesands boat station 3 area. The price for this part of the island was superb, especially at this time of the year. The rooms are basic, but very comfortable and more than enough for a family to relax in. The pool was an added bonus, one that we took advantage of often. Don't come to Tonglen expecting anything fancy, as it makes no claims to be anything more than a good value resort in a super area. Nice grounds and plenty for the kids to do. It's biggest plus is the distance from the hive of activity on the main beach and yet still only a short walk from everything. A great find!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolum_macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3days and 2 nights. Nice location near the main road and 2-5 mins walk to the beach. The room is great. It has a veranda. The room service clean our room on the 2nd day, changed our towels and gave us another set of soap. The hotel has a pool, mini playground and garden.

We encountered a problem with our bathroom because it flooded on the 1st and 2nd night but they immediately repaired it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bachoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunne, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a valuble and good resort. We are a family two Adults and two daughters 14 and 11 years old. We hade a family room with comfortble beds and a spacious room according to the price.

Serviceminded personell and a good, and not a small pool as some reviews said earlier.

The area has small gardenfurniture for rest and peace or early morning breakfast. The wifi was ok, and the gardengroups had electricity for devices. Skype call to europe was not a problem.
5 Minutes walk to the beach. The " dark" alley as we read earlier was not as dark as we thought, and security gards outside the diffrent hotels didnt make us alone walking there.

We can truly reccomend this to all kind of travelers. Quiet allthought it is close to the beach bar district, but have you ever stayed some where in Phuket or Pattaya, then this would feel like heaven.

The breakfast was good, and enough.

We will for sure stay here again, because of price, location, and the friendly staff.

Clean nice rooms.

The management could maybe order some moore sunchairs to the pool area.

Room Tip: Take room if possible on upper floor if you have small kids, because there is some mosqitos. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great place to stay for travellers on a budget! The service is really great here, the receptionist was lovely and welcoming. The place is beautiful with a pool, lots of activities and grass area. WiFi available at the communal huts. The room is great but the bathroom got a bit flooded after showers. We were here during Chinese New Year. Nice location, not on the beach but a short walk to it. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiluscami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at Tonglen for 3 nights with a girlfriend during the chinese new year season. Boracay was, so I was told, was really busy during this time with a influx of Chinese tourists, families, locals and couples everywhere.

The location of this hotel is at station 3 but does not sit on the beach front. You have to walk through an alleyway and side street to get to the water. Although only about a five minute walk, it's quite dark at night, walking back to the hotel. I wish the street would put up few street lamps.

The hotel was adequate for our stay. It was quiet, and secluded. Rooms were of decent size and we had a nice veranda to sit and hang our clothes. Wifi was available but the signal waa weak in our room. The washroom wasn't in the best condition, but we managed with it. (Tip: bug spray the room! Mosquitos ans other pests are inevitable)

Safery deposit box is only at reception, so it was a little hassle trying to access it from time to time.

Reception was friendly, and staff and security were helpful when needed.

Considering it was Chinese New Year, the prices were increased so I thought it was a tad expensive.

Next time, I would look for something near station 2, which is where all the bars and restaurants are.

All in all, a satisfactory experience.

PS: beware of all the terminal fees when coming in and out of airports/ferrys. They're not much...but it adds up! (175Php coming into boracay and 100php leaving the island). Many of the water activities will charge you terminal fees too (20php). Im assuming these are similar to environmental fees!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#52 of 145 in Boracay
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
0.5 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#11 of 145 in Boracay
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#90 of 145 in Boracay
1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#48 of 145 in Boracay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonglen Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonglen Beach Resort

Property: Tonglen Beach Resort
Address: Boat Station 3 | Manggayad, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tonglen Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Tonglen Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonglen Beach Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing