We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious resort with spacious family room but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spacious resort with spacious family room but a bit dated”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights and had a great time in Boracay. Hotel location was great - easy access and walking distance to everything. We had a family room which was great with 2 tweens but was a bit dated. Breakfast buffet was okay but I agree with other reviews that trying to get a cup of coffee each morning was a slow process and then getting a refill into the tiny coffee cups was even slower. We booked the transfer from the airport to the hotel and it was easy as they escort you the whole way. Just watch what time they take you back as we had a super long wait at the airport for our flight home when another party on our transfer back had a 5 minute wait for their flight - made for a long travel day home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank familyNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    699
    230
    87
    79
See reviews for
579
554
59
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the main beach strip. Their are plenty of restaurants along the sand walkway in front of the hotel. The facilities are good but breakfast is very busy. In the evening the chefs at the buffets on the beach perform a singing/dance routine at the end of service - this was great to see. You can go for beach walks in the lovely clean sand and pristine clear water. Would recommend going for a sailing boat ride. There is a guy who waits outside the hotel entrance that can organise beach buggy rides up to the tallest mountain which gives you great views over the island - this is a fun half day away from the beach. Overall the hotel is very good but don't stay in the front rooms if you enjoy your sleep as it is party central every night in the early hours of the morning!!!

Room Tip: Loud music every night along the beach bars - choose a room not near the beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Rooms were OK and functional overall. We were initially placed in a room where renovations were being done outside. Why we're placed there was beyond me but we complained and got moved to a more quiet location. Some rooms are newer than the others. Rooms near the beach/restaurants are older and dated and this is where we stayed. It was still OK but one can notice the age of the room. Comfy bed and big washroom is what I like. A/C is old and doesn't smell funky.

Breakfast buffet can be chaotic. Dishes vary slightly every morning. Extras like coffee can be pricey.

WIFI access is limited.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are under renovation. Don't hesitate to ask them to move you into another room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTP630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Some friends and I booked to stay here for one week over the Christmas period and were very excited due to all of the rave reviews, however I'm sad to say that in general it wasn't as good as we were hoping. Don't get me wrong it's ok, rooms were comfortable enough and it's in a nice spot but i think you can probably get much better elsewhere for the money.

Good points first - great location, right on the beach not too far from Boat Station 2. Comes with sunloungers reserved for guests and complimentary beach towels. Choice of two restaurants for the breakfast which was included (food was ok, nothing special). The restaurant staff and guys down at the beach were really helpful.

Bad points - Rooms were very dark with poor lighting and quite small, the finishing was getting a bit dated too with peeling paint etc. There is nowhere to swim in the pools due to design and general crowding (not an issue for most people probably but just note you won't be able to do laps!), also tried out the jacuzzi but it was cold! The breakfast buffet was pandemonium, often with queues for a table and food. Since the hotel was so big it lacked atmosphere and didn't really come across in person as it had on their website. The staff on the front desk were pretty unhelpful mostly, with the odd exception. Free wi-fi is only available in the lobby and even then it is very intermittent, extremely slow and constantly cuts out. If you want proper internet or wi-fi in your room then you have to pay 500 pesos per day and that is also per device! So on Christmas Day when we all wanted to Skype family and friends we had to purchase 3 lots of internet access, which to me is a rip off. At this type of resort i would expect internet to come as standard. When we did purchase the internet however it didn't even work! After days of complianing they finally agreed to take it off the bill, however that was the result of many phone calls, repeated failed promises of it being fixed and visits in person to the desk. All throughout this the service at the front desk was pretty poor.

In general I would say the hotel is fine, good for families with kids due to the facilities but I wouldn't say it is deserving of the fantastic reviews it has so far received. Could do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 862Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of station 2, with any of station 1 or 2 destinations just a short walk away. The hotel is one of the larger resort establishments in Boracay, 3 pools and 3 restaurants with alternate cuisine options. Rooms are optioned with all the normal mod cons. Hotel staff are all genuinely very pleasant and helpful. Front desk also assisted with organising an island hopping day trip. Spa/massage setup at the hotel is top class.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in December 2013. They pick you up in the airport and take you direct to the hotel, the same when you are leaving. The people is very friendly. Our room was nice and clean, the air condition worked perfect, had hot water in the bathroom, cable tv, it was in front of the pool and just some steps away from the beach. They have plenty of space in front of the beach with chairs and umbrellas and waiter service from their cafe. Four restaurants within the hotel with good options and lots of other options to eat close by. The location is perfect because you have everything you need just some minutes away on a walking distance, restaurants, bars, shops, diving places, and other water activities. The only thing bad in my opinion is that they only have free wi-fi access in the lobby and if you want wi-fi you have to pay 500 PHP (11$) a day per device that you want to connect, a little bit excessive I think. Despite that only detail, for the price of the room I think is a very good option in a great location with a very good service. I truly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_18M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

it was after much research that our traveling party decided to book the superior room at Boracay Regency, despite it being the lowest tier rooms. We had initially planned to stay at 357 Boracay which was located at Station 3. However the rooms did not appeal to me and we decided a basic room at a better establishment might be a better choice. And we definitely nailed it with Boracay Regency.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Station 2, and is one of the biggest establishments around. The thing about white beach is that you could literally walk from one end to the other in an hour, so from the hotel, everything was easily 15mins walk away, be it D'Mall or Talipapa. So we had no complaints with the location.
It boasts 3 swimming pools, 3 restaurants and a beach side bar. The buffet dinner in the night also features a renowned 'dancing chefs' performance that attracts crowds from other resorts along the beach. however, the food was average in my opinion, with the free-flow tenderloin steak being the saving dish that made my dinner.
The Superior room that we stayed in was nicely furnished, with a flat screen TV, mini bar fridge, kettle for boiling water, and the usual hotel amenities (toiletries, towels, room service, complimentary mineral water, umbrellas, safety deposit box). Despite the power outage that still affected some of the establishments in the aftermath of the typhoon, the hotel was well-supplied throughout our 6 nights stay with no interruptions to the power supply. Only thing was that they required us to inform housekeeping prior to showering so that they could turn on the heaters, in a bid to conserve electricity from the generators.
Housekeeping was done twice daily, once in the morning, and once in the evening so that you would always have a clean room to rest for the night.
There are 3 pools at the resort and guests could use any of them regardless of which wing they stayed. Only the main pool had a poolside bar, but you could still order drinks from the waiter when at the other two pools. Towels were provided at the pool, and you could also bring the towels to the beach.

The beach was definitely one of the highlights of our stay. Its Boracay after all, famed for its pristine beaches and amazing sunsets. The most pleasant part of the stay was realizing that the resort had its own private beachfront, with beach beds reserved only for the hotel guests. And from what I could see, it was the longest stretch belonging to a single establishment. There was never a shortage of beds. There was also guards who would look after your belongings, beach boys who would lay your towels for you and adjust the umbrellas so that you were under the shade, and also take your orders for drinks. All these just made for a very good experience as we were out to relax and enjoy a stress free holiday. What's more, the guards would shoo away hawkers trying to sell you stuff while you were relaxing.
Note: by beachfront I mean a short 3 min walk from your hotel room door to the beach. Just about every hotel along white beach is situated on the side of the road (called white beach path cos its only a 2m wide sand path) away from the beach and you definitely have to cross it to get to the beach. Can't imagine why some would argue that the Regency is not a beachfront establishment...couldn't possibly have all the hotel rooms facing the beach!

If staying here, do try out the local cuisine restaurant 'Mesa'. The food is pretty darn good and we ate there twice. Try the boneless fried tilapia, and the coconut fried rice.
Breakfast has a good selection of food, and there's the ala-carte and buffet option, depending on the package you choose. The ala-carte was preferred after 2 days at the buffet section.

All in all, a pretty awesome stay. 6 nights was definitely insufficient.
Would stay at the Boracay Regency again if we revisit the island in the future.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are literally as described - no balcony, no view. The windows open up to a bamboo wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 146 in Boracay
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#12 of 146 in Boracay
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
0.3 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 146 in Boracay
733 reviews
1.1 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henann Regency Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henann Regency Resort & Spa

Property: Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Address: | Station 2, Beachfront, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#12 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Henann Regency Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Henann Regency Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Regency Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing