We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The District Boracay
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent 4 nights here in May 2014 & 3 nights in August 2013, really like the hotel, staff, service, location & experience. A couple of minor gripes, the breakfast area is small and fairly limited choices but an awesome view on the terrace! The hotel doesnt really have any facilities to keep guests occupied which I feel for the cost it should have but, I'll be back next year to stay there cos its a great place to relax & the staff are excellent!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MarkMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, Marketing & PR Supervisor at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear MarkMiddleton,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

Thank you so much for the nice words, it’s nice to hear from you again Sir! As we’ve always endeavored to listen to guests’ feedback, rest assured that we’re continuously improving our F&B selections to suit our guests’ preferences.

The resort is currently undergoing some modifications to add more facilities. There’s always something new happening at the resort – and we can’t wait to share these to you, hopefully in your next visit.

Thanks again, and looking forward to having you back next year!

Sincerely,
Vina Mataganas
Marketing and PR Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 765 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel staff greeted us at the airport and transported us to the accommodation. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome and provided with hot towels and drinks. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and the views are amazing.
A varied breakfast was available each morning and the staff ere helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim1_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, Marketing & PR Supervisor at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Sim 1_G,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! Glad to hear that the resort’s location, the view and our service were to your liking. The warm welcome is just one thing, as what makes a holiday a stand out is when guests leave the resort feeling satisfied. And we feel more than amazing now, thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

Hope to have you back again next time!

Sincerely,
Vina Mataganas
Marketing and PR Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

During my last year visit to Boracay, i have spend my 2 days stay in this hotel. Location is superb, just 5 minute walking distance to Dmall. Hotel staff is friendly, room is clean and spacious with modern decor. You can have a room with beatiful view of Boracay. I really enjoy my comfort stay at this hotel with the good service provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khorbt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, Marketing & PR Supervisor at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Khorbt77,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

Many thanks for your positive comments! We couldn’t have asked for a better location, especially when our guests come to us and tell us how convenient it was for them to move around the island from the resort. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we certainly hope to have you back again next time!

Sincerely,
Vina Mataganas
Marketing and PR Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice hotel, w/ great (albeit busy, which certainly isn't bad, just worth noting depending on what one might be looking for) location, super breakfast, a very good staff for the most part.

The best rooms are in the back and are NOT the two story suites.

The breakfast is very good and all the restaurant staff is great, friendly and welcoming.

The evenings on the rooftop terrace having snacks and a cocktail are great and the staff there is superb.

The beach and the daytime staff is also great. Edgar is the greatest!!!

OK, so here is the problem... The front desk staff is the worst EVER! It's clear that it's their training and not the employees because no one would want to treat the guests that poorly, at least I hope not. After many times staying there, because the hotel is so nice and everyone else is so welcoming, it was finally time for a change. Every time dealing with the bill there was a problem with billing going in their favor and when I brought it up it was always met with arguments like I was stupid. They were undertrained how to deal with guests, dismissive and sometimes rude. Once they called on the way to the airport to argue a charge that was incorrect. Luckily it didn't end their as they later added yet another charge to my Amex so I got to think about it again a couple of weeks later.

It's really a bummer because the District is super and I've referred friends their. As I was booking the next Boracay stay recently I tried to give them another chance and when I contacted them via email, they acted like I've haven't statue there 6 times in the past 15 months. I couldn't even believe it. So when cruising out of the Caticlan airport this week, the District Driver looked stunned as he waived to us in a van from another hotel, which by the way is fantastic. Check out DS

I wish them luck as the District is great, just need to really fix that problem.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Millard112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, General Manager at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear MillardEMJ,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

First, allow me to thank you for making The District Boracay your preferred resort in Boracay and sharing all the positive feedback about the resort particularly with our F&B team and Mr. Edgar Bangayan of our Internal Security. We value returning guests so much, and your patronage is of great importance to us that is why we felt bad when we learned about your concern.

From what I understand, the front office incident mentioned in your most recent TripAdvisor review was during your visit last year. We have already addressed this incident by continuously training staff and hiring more competitive people to ensure that our valued guests are given the highest standard of service. We will appreciate, however, if you can give us more information about any other incidents that might have triggered your second review so we can address these immediately.

It is also unfortunate that your preferred room was no longer available last time you inquired with our Reservations Team. We tried to look for ways to free up a Premier Room for you, but to no avail since the resort was full during the local summer months. We hope you understand.

Nevertheless, please accept our sincerest gratitude for the feedback and support you have given The District Boracay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your future visits!

Sincerely,
Naomi Soriano
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was the best hotel experience I have ever had. I spent hours and hours reviewing hotels on tripadvisor, and even though the price was high for us I am so glad we decided to stay here. As other reviewers note, they arranged our transportation from the airport and hotel staff personally escorted us through each leg of the trip. They greeted us at the door with drinks and cold towels and invited us to sit and relax while they got us registered - which was much appreciated after hours of travel from Manila. The staff were lovely and happy and helpful throughout our entire stay.

As travelers from the states, we are not used to the heat in the Philippines. One of the reasons our trip was so enjoyable was that it was convenient for us to pop back to our wonderfully air conditioned room whenever we needed to cool down. This luxurious hotel is literally only minutes away from restaurants, bars, shops, D'Mall, Starbucks, ATMs, and only steps from crystal blue water and private beach loungers and umbrellas.

Besides the location being perfect, we found the staff so polite, thoughtful and helpful. They arranged all of the activities for us that week and even had staff walk us down the beach to get checked in for things. Edgar spotted us waiting for our trip to Ariel's Point and asked if we had towels - when we told him we did not, he ran off to fetch them for us and insisted we take them with us. It was very thoughtful - and just one example of their hospitality.

Our goal for our week in Boracay was to relax and have fun. Sometimes we felt like lazing on the beach and eating at the hotel restaurant Caruso - which had excellent pizza, pasta and salad. Other times we felt like exploring the beach and drinking local beer while listening to live music with our feet in the sand - and we could do this less than 2 minutes away. And some times, we needed to go for a dip in the hotel pool and then hide from the heat in our room while watching tv for a few hours.

We spent nearly every evening watching the sunset at the hotel rooftop bar. The view of the beach and the water was unbeatable - and the cocktails were delicious and cheap! Which brings me to my final argument of why you should stay at The District - food, drinks, souvenirs, activities in Boracay are so inexpensive (at least coming from the states). I am so glad that we spent as much as we did on our hotel, because the rest of our expenses were so low.

Since the moment we checked in we've been telling friends and family across the world that they HAVE to stay at The District if they visit Boracay, and we can't wait to return ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, Marketing & PR Supervisor at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Sara B,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

Thank you so much for the very kind words! We are always delighted to receive guest feedback, especially whenever guests share pleasant experiences at the resort. It’s great to hear that you had a satisfying stay – just as we hoped you’d have. We owe it to you, and it should be us thanking you for choosing us as your home in Boracay. The resort could really look intimidating at first glance – but thanks for pointing out that we sure give our guests their money’s worth.

We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort again, hopefully with your friends too, sometime in the future!

Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Vina Mataganas
Marketing and PR Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A lovely beach front modern hotel in the middle of the action. It's packed with restaurants and bars left and right. The rooms are well kept & very clean. Aircon is new and cold to beat the heat of summer. Bed is heavenly. You just want to snooze off every time you lie down. Staff are well trained, courteous and very attentive.

For their in house restaurant, Chef Mike was awesome whipping up our requested dinner of steak & crabs which we bought from the market. Our server Beth & Felix was alert and helpful with all our needs and super friendly too. Edgar, who was tasked to look after guest at the beach beds as well as out stuff when we go for a swim is commendable.

No spa yet, but they allow masseuse to go to your room which is very convenient. You can sleep right after.

Except for poor wifi connection, everything's just perfect! Definitely would recommend this to people who likes the action of Boracay as well as enjoy the white sand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, Marketing & PR Supervisor at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Jolochan,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

Thank you so much for the very positive feedback! We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at the resort, and that the location, the room, and service you received were all to your liking. We are glad to hear that you loved the steak and crab that we prepared for you – it was the least that we can do for a valued guest like you. We’re here to assist you in all your needs.

We are currently offering “Bandwidth-on-Demand” service where guests have the option to upgrade the speed of their WiFi connection from the regular 1mbps to their desired speed for a minimal fee. We are also upgrading our routers to address the intermittent Wi-Fi connection at the resort.

Once again, thank you so much and we are all looking forward to having you back at the resort soon!

Sincerely,
Vina Mataganas
Marketing and PR Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Beach front, one of the newer properties, centrally located so in terms of location it is great - near the parties, the mall, the "where to see and be seen"

F&B offer is also good - great rooftop bar and good cocktails. Breakfast is also good

The only thing that needs to improve is Front Desk - they charged my card twice - big mistake to charge US$2,000 twice to my card - even though I warned them not to do it - it still happened - the Front Desk service is very shaky and needs to be improved. Front desk also called me in the afternoon & woke me up from an afternoon nap and it was a call for another room - my brother's room - they did not check the first names - needs more re training in the Front Desk area.

Room Tip: If you want a room in the ground floor overlooking the pool - get the room at the end so that guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonnyAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch1020, Marketing & PR Supervisor at The District Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear SonnyAng,

Warm greetings from The District Boracay, your contemporary boutique beachfront resort in Boracay!

Thank you so much for the kind words! We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our F&B offers. We, are however, sorry to hear about your experience with our Front Office department. We’ve already addressed this concern by training our frontliners to ensure that all our valued guests are given the highest standard of service.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and another thank you for your continued patronage to The District Boracay. Looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Vina Mataganas
Marketing and PR Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
0.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 151 in Boracay
741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
1.3 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#23 of 151 in Boracay
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The District Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The District Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $181 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The District Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The District Boracay is a boutique beachfront resort located at the center of Boracay island’s Station 2 that offers 48 rooms, a Filipino-Asian restaurant, a lap pool, a conference room, a bar and events roof deck, gym, spa, beach loungers, and its own brand of personalized service. It is the only resort in the island that offers guests the option to enjoy either breakfast or brunch buffet – as part of the standard rates. It is a consistent recipient of (TripAdvisor) Traveller's Choice Award, a recognition it first received on its second year (2014) of operation up to the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your The District Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing